We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable & personable tour guide!”
Review of Evening Sky Tours

Evening Sky Tours
Ranked #33 of 94 Tours in Sedona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional Astronomers host you for an evening of stargazing using giant telescopes and laser pointers. Chairs and blankets are provided. View Saturn, Mars, Jupiter, galaxies and more. Tours start at 8:30 p.m.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable & personable tour guide!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We went on this tour with our two teenagers. I probably would not take kids younger than 8. Matt was our tour guide and did a great job. He was personable, spoke clearly and had a wealth of information to share. The moon was out the night we went so it was hard to see the milky way but we got to see very clear images of the moon surface and many other things. Saturn through the telescope...wow! Our group was small...8 people so there was a lot of opportunities to ask questions. Matt was very patient with all questions and the fact that the tour provided chairs and blankets was a real plus. Would definitely do this again and I thought it was worth the money for this level of expertise in a tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LoudounHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    19
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice experience but overpriced”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to do the Evening Sky Tour on a whim last night after arriving in Sedona. This informational star gazing tour takes place on a grassy field near the Valley Verde School. We were greeted by our guide Niles who led us to the field where chairs and blankets were lined up, along with a telescope and binoculars. His passion for astronomy is evident, as he was very informative, friendly and helpful. However, the full moon last night made it difficult for us to see several stars/planets.

The entire tour took about an hour and a half. Make sure to dress warmly because it gets very cold on the field. I was freezing despite dressing in layers and gloves! They provide two blankets which was nice, but it was still very cold. Bathrooms aren't available, so also make sure you use the restroom before arriving. Overall it was a nice experience but I think the $60 fee is quite high. Make sure you choose the right night to visit, otherwise you may miss out on seeing several stars/planets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MaximusGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stary, stary night in Sedona”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We had a great star gazing experience this week. We had a beautiful clear night with Matt as our guide. He was very knowledgeable and easy going. We were able to see Jupiter and Saturn with four moons and the rings. Matt also pointed out many constellations with a laser pointer and told the Greek myths they are named after. The coyotes and pups also were very vocal and that was pretty cool too. It is a great way to spend an evening in Sedona!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2ndgradeteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“Night Sky littered with stars...ending with Saturn!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I was recommended to do this tour if I ever visit Sedona. Just recently moved to AZ from CA, and living in Glendale, the 1.5hr drive wasn't bad. Getting to Sedona and seeing the majestic Red Rocks during the day is amazing.

Seeing the celestial night sky via the tourguide of Evening Sky Tours was great. I came with a date during Easter weekend. Temps at night where in the low 50s. They provide blankets, and chairs. Turn off all cell phones as you want your eyes to adjust to the night, and then you look up and you'll see that famous astronomer Carl Sagan was right when he said "There are more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand in all the beaches of the world".

We started off with Jupiter, and then the guide progressed with his powerful laser pointer pointing out the other stars, including the two dippers (Little and Big), and all the other galaxies. And then the finally was Saturn and all her majestical rings.

The weather was partly cloudy during the day so we were nervous as was the tour guide but in the end, the sky cleared up and it was amazing. Highly recommend doing this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Star Power”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The guide was very good, pointing out the binary star in Cassiopeia and showing them through the light filter. On this night we were able to see the Comet Pannstars, two shooting stars, several satellites, the background light from the Milky Way Galaxy, Jupiters rings and a host of constellations. Our guide was very knowledgable and it was a fantastic tour of the sky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evening Sky Tours also viewed

 

Been to Evening Sky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing