We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have been going to Briar Patch for many years. It is the perfect location to take in all that Sedona has to offer. It is on quiet Oak Creek and doesn't have red rock views but the cabins are delightful (each with its own personality) and the breakfast by the creek is absolutely awesome. The staff is very friendly. The people who service the rooms always clean your room while you are eating breakfast. Each room has a wood burning fire place although during the hot summer months they are not necessary. They are, however, very cozy during the fall/ winter/ spring periods. The property is beautifully kept with friendly sheep to pet! If you are looking for a fancy resort this is not the place for you. However, if you want serenity and peaceful surroundings with no blaring TV's you have found paradise!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are lovely. It depends on your budget and needs. The large cabin on the creek is aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Owner at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

So pleased to know you have found our Oak Creek Canyon Paradise to be so enjoyable time and time again. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have been going to Briar patch for over 25 years. I started taking my children there when they were young. I was surprised when my son decided he wanted to spend his 30th Birthday there with Family and Friends. We had 11 Cabins of people to celebrate with. Laura, Polly and Steve were so very helpful in the cordination of cabins and changes along the way. The Enviroment could not have been more perfect. The only disappointment was the Ash and checmicles from the fires in the creek prevented us from swimming. We played yard games instead. The ten kids had a scaveger hunt, theAdults ate frank and were very merry. We will continue to come back over and over again. The Icing on the Cake was when my sons girlfriend came out with a huge smile and a new engagment ring! What a place for a proposal. Life is good!

Room Tip: All Cabins are great I have stayed in most. Heron is best for families. Kingfisher is my personal fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Owner at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Heidi, we are always happy to see you, and now knowing we will be able to welcome more of your family and friends is terrific. We are blessed to have so many loyal patrons such as yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It is hard to exaggerate the lush beauty of this arboreal paradise. Nineteen cabins scattered along the rushing waters of Oak Creek create a refreshing, restful retreat. However rustic, each lodging is beautifully filled with comfortable furnishings and Southwestern décor . But forget TV and leave your intrusive "smart" phone behind. Briar Patch is a setting to escape into a world apart from the noise and congestion and urgency of our lives. Delicious breakfasts which are served on creekside picnic tables, include fresh baked pastries, fruit, yogurt, eggs and Quiches. The owners are always gracious and anxious to please. Any concern. is taken seriously. On the day you leave, you'll be thinking of a day you could come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Owner at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are always happy to know when our guests depart that they can't wait to be able to return, so we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My two daughters and I came up for a long girls weekend... What a great place. The girls swam and explored the creek for hours every day- we ended up not hiking and just played on property. Coloring and crafts and reading in the hammocks filled our day after our romps in the creek... We only left BP for dinner. What a great four days. We will be back- trying to make it happen this summer!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Owner at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are so pleased to know that your first experience with us was so great! We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had planned to hike in the canyons and around the red rocks of Sedona, but I only left the Briar Patch at night for dinner. The host was exceptionally helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful. My room felt like my own sanctuary.

Room Tip: Room location really wasn't an issue as Oak Creek can be heard from anywhere on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

This is a common theme we often hear from our guests, so like others you will simply have to come for another visit, so you can attempt to finally get to those hikes!
Warm regards,
Rob Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I haven't gotten away by ourselves in years, so to celebrate our 20th anniversary we recently spent 2 nights in the Deck House cabin. I was thrilled when we walked in and the cabin was just as quaint as in the pictures. It was plenty spacious for the two of us. We mostly enjoyed the fact that it is situated right on Oak Creek. We could leave the patio door open and enjoy the nature sounds and view while inside the cabin. Our mornings were spent leisurely on the deck having our coffee and reading. The cabin was clean and nicely taken care of. Although there was a kitchenette, we did not use it much besides keeping drinks cool. The breakfasts were so large and were served until 10am so we just had a brunch both days and ate dinner out. The staff were friendly and very helpful in suggesting restaurants and also hiking trails. Would love to go back every year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you back for # 21!
Warm regards,
Rob Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Briar Patch in Sycamore cottage. Such a lovely setting. Four of us (two adults and two college-age children) and we all loved it there. Breakfast each day was slightly varied from the previous, but always delicious. Home baked breads (banana bread one morning, cranberry muffins the next), soft boiled eggs, whole grain breads with jam, oatmeal, different type of baked egg dish each day, juices, cereal, etc. Fill your tray and go sit by the creek and enjoy a luxurious breakfast in nature's splendor. Musicians come at about 8:30 each morning and play lovely classical music that really sets the scene. Our cabin was very close to the office, but felt quite secluded. The owners did a wonderful job planting greenery and flowers around the cabins to make each a little oasis. The cabin itself was very well designed with spacious sitting area and fully stocked kitchen. The bed was super cozy (great sheets) and everything was very clean! It was hot when we were there so we did have to resort to using the AC, which kept the entire cabin at a very comfortable temp. Loved the rustic look of the cabin with open beamed ceiling and big stone fireplace. The sofas in the living room were actually day beds, which were great for the kids at night. The bathroom had everything we needed, but was pretty basic with just a shower stall. Fine for the four of us (when you're touring the area with 2 adult kids, you don't have time for leisurely baths anyhow!).

The grounds have all kinds of hidden treasures, sculptures, totem poles, very well thought out and designed.

Close to Sedona and all the great hiking trails, town and wonderful places to eat. Steve was invaluable with his advice on what hikes to try and even prepared a great route for us to follow when we departed Sedona to move to our next stop, the Grand Canyon. We used all of the suggestions he gave us and they were great additions to our family trip (volcano crater, cool scenic vista with tower at Grand Canyon, a wonderful trading post with lots of authentic Navajo jewelry, etc.) We also did the Pink Jeep Broken Arrow tour one day in Sedona and found it thrilling and well worth the money (will review that separately).

The Briar Patch also has an adorable "mascot" named Henry who is the owner's pup. He is a combination Maltese and Chihuahua and trots around behind his "mom". He is an ambassador of cuteness!

The setting of Briar Patch, near oak creek is so lovely. As we walked the property and when we enjoyed down time at night or in the morning at breakfast, all I could think of was the Seinfeld episode and "Serenity Now". Great, great, place with truly exceptional people!

Thank you for a wonderful stay Briar Patch! We wished we lived closer than Boston so we could visit often!

Room Tip: We truly enjoyed Sycamore cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocoajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for providing such a thorough review of our property, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to experience more of the special "SERENITY" we offer our guests.
Warm regards,
Rob Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,164 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Address: 3190 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £154 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona
Briar Patch Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing