We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We highly recommend The Inn at Oak Creek. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. It is obvious they enjoy taking care of their guests. Spence was very welcoming and went out of way to recommend some good hiking trails, restaurants etcetera. Each morning they provide muffins, bagels, coffee and juice. Try to get a creek side room if you can. We booked a non-creek side (freeway side) room but Spence was able to move us midway through our stay. Very quiet, relaxing and tranquil place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaryC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at The Inn Above Oak Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind words! I am so glad we could accommodate you in a Creekside Room...even if it meant moving halfway thru your trip! Thanks so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a long day of hiking and shopping and dining, it was nice to come back home to the Inn on Oak Creek and drink a glass of wine and check out the view of the creek/canyon from the balcony. The creek view is outstanding and relaxing and it almost looked like a set from a Hollywood movie. I expected Esther Williams to come zipping down the creek on water skis, it was just that beautiful. If you look down the creek, you will see some of the fabulous red rock.

The Inn is located in the Gallery section of town so you avoid some of the zombie tourists wandering around dazed and confused and overfed and underdressed. If you want to hang out at ice cream shops and t-shirt shops, you will have a short hike into the touristy part of Sedona. While the street is busy in front of the Inn, you can not hear any traffic noise once you are in the room. (All you hear are quacking ducks)
The rooms are well decorated with neutral colors and the bathroom has new fixtures, tile, etc. and with a whirlpool tub that we did not use. The major bonus was the gas fireplace which was nice to watch @ bedtime after a long day of activity.
Spence was a festive, outgoing and helpful owner and he was on site most of the time with good suggestions and interesting conversation. If I ever travel to Lake Tahoe or Anna Maria, Island, I would try to stay at his other properties.
The Inn provides coffee, juice, bagels, fresh fruit and sweet rolls for breakfast. There is a TV in the main lobby of the inn with comfortable couches and chairs and reading material. If you like to dine or sun yourself, they do have a nice deck. (It would be nice if Spence would add a chaise lounge or two)
Down on "Creek level" Spence has thoughtfully provided a hammock, tables and chairs if you want some quiet and peaceful time. (I took a quick nap on the hammock)
I'm happy to provide a positive recommendation for the Inn on Oak Creek and I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms with the exception of one have a great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SweetBoyIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this property last spring when it was a bed and breakfast. It was wonderful and expensive. It is no longer a bed and breakfast which makes the rates a little more affordable.
It has a continental breakfast. The rooms are newly decorated. The view of Oak Creek is wonderful. I could stay on the little balcony nearly all day.
I recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable and restful stay.

Room Tip: Choose a creekside room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenwearleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I researched many places in Sedona before booking here for 4 nights, making the choice mostly on value and other reviews (and availability for 4 nights around Easter!) After our stay, I can say that there are so many other reasons to book here. The location was perfect for us. It's quieter than Uptown or West Sedona, but within easy walking distance of several great restaurants, in our opinion. Had we been interested in shopping, Hillside Sedona is just across the street, and Tlaquepaque is around the corner.
The inn is nicely decorated, the bagels, fruit and pastries for breakfast were tasty, and the beds were so comfortable. I say beds, because Chris and the staff noticed that our first room was warmer than they thought it should be, and asked if we wanted to move to another room. How often does your innkeeper act on a potential problem before you even notice it? We wish we could have stayed longer and had a chance to enjoy the creekside patio and the gas grill available for guest use. Our other regret: that we didn't see the javelinas that Chris said will occasionally wander into the grounds and parking lot!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you don't get a creekside room. The other rooms ( 8 and 10 in our case) are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Planned a weekend getaway for my spouse 50th birthday. This place was delightful! I booked a room for three nights and they provided and upgrade to a larger room. Loved the balcony, the view, the fireplace, and a comfortable bed. Nice decor. Loved the quiet, relaxed atmosphere. Fresh fruit, muffins/bagels, coffee provided for breakfast. It wasn't anything fancy, but it was nice to have coffee first thing in the morning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tregrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved the Inn on Oak Creek! Super friendly staff... beautiful view of the Oak Creek and Red Rocks... walking distance to great restaurants, shops and galleries... what more could you ask for?! The staff was super friendly and the decor is adorable; cute but not too kitschy! It's definitely worth booking a creek side room; those have the best views in the house. Absolutely stay at this wonderful little inn if you have the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsaysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After doing a LOT of research on accommodation in the area we found the Inn on Oak Creek. In comparison to other places it is remarkably inexpensive. The type of room that we wanted (creek view with a balcony) was unavailable for the days that we were staying. So we booked a different room (Red Rock King Room #7). When we checked in we met the owner, Spence. Seriously, it's like turning up at your best friends place where nothing is too much trouble. He gave us a number of restaurant recommendations (most of which we tried - and he was right) and was very knowledgeable on the hikes in the area. We mentioned while talking to him that we'd really wanted a creek view room. He asked us we liked 'a sweet deal' and told us that the Oak Creek Suite was available for the 2nd and 3rd nights or our 3 night stay and we could have it for an extra $50/night - and they'd move all our luggage for us while we were out the next day. This is a really big discount from the usual price. Of course, we couldn't say yes fast enough!! Room #7 is extremely comfortable, has a fireplace and a deep soaking bath and a small balcony (no creek view). If we'd been in this room for the 3 nights we would have had no complaints at all. However, the suite was AMAZING!! Just check the photos on their website and that's exactly what the suite is like. In our early years of marriage we lived in a house that was smaller!!!!!! The kitchen, not that we used it, was about twice the size of our kitchen at home. And the shower......!!!!!!!! The bathroom was bigger than the size of our 2.5 bathrooms at home put together! The bed is a bit high but extremely comfortable. The rooms are great, the staff are great, the danishes and bagels for breakfast are wonderful. Talking about breakfast, the options for a cup of tea are limited. No plain black tea (English or Irish breakfast tea would have been great, Earl Grey was available). It's important to point out here that we didn't mention this. If we had mentioned it, it wouldn't surprise us if Spence arranged for some to be provided!! Positives - the view, the location, the comfort and Spence. Negatives - there are SO many remotes in the Oak Creak Suite and almost everything is driven by remote, including the picture that comes down over the television in the lounge room, and we couldn't work some of them out. We're from Australia so the chances we'll be back are pretty minimal, but this is where we'll stay if we do.

Room Tip: If the room you really wanted wasn't available at the time of booking, just mention this when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamnic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.9 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Oak Creek

Address: 556 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: £110 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Above Oak Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include: Continental breakfast, fireplaces, whirlpool bathtub and remote-control TV. Some include balcony over Oak Creek!Initially built in 1972 as an art gallery, then totally refurbished and transformed in 1995,The Inn On Oak Creek perches on a bluff overlooking Oak Creek, Arizona's premier year-round spring-fed stream.Within easy walking distance are Sedona's best art galleries, boutique shops, several fine restaurants, and Tlaquepaque shopping village. Almost as close are National Forest trails that will take you to the heart of Red Rock Country. While Sedona offers many choices with accommodations, you will not find one with a better location, stunning views, and a quaintness like the Inn On Oak Creek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn Above Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Oak Creek Hotel Sedona
The Inn Above Oak Creek Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing