We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location in beautiful Sedona,AZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect location in beautiful Sedona,AZ”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife I had a weekend getaway at The Inn on Oak Creek, I recommend this to couples and families as the rooms sit above Oak Creek with private access to the water. The location is ideal with great food and shopping all in within walking distance. The breakfast room/lobby has continental breakfast with a beatiful deck to enjoy sunny Sedona. The room was very comfortable and clean. Its the perfect getaway place!

Room Tip: The top floor balcony view is Spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at The Inn Above Oak Creek, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your review, Brad. So glad you enjoyed the views and the peacefulness that our little Inn provides!
Hope to see you and your wife again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    79
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
878
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

In town with my mother for a mother daughter get away and this place could not have been more perfect. Chris who checked us in was very welcoming and took his time showing us around. Our room was newly renovated in soft calming colors. We loved the special touches of wine glasses, bottle opener and Bath & Body Works for toiletries. We spent the day out hiking and it was so nice to come home to this lush spot slightly off the main hustle and bustle of town. Got to meet the owner as we checked out and I really appreciated his and the staffs pride, investment and attention to detail you just don't get in the chains anyone. My mom and I would both stay here again in a second and hope we get the chance again someday! If were in Sedona this is our new home away from home.

Room Tip: Might want to avoid the main floor room next to the lobby area. It's lovely but maybe a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsandalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Since our last stay at the Inn on Oak Creek, the Inn had been tastefully redecorated. Our creek-side room was comfortable with a nice deck from which we could watch the creek, including 2 families with baby mallard ducks, and the red rocks of Sedona. It was such a nice setting to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening or the early morning light and wildlife. If you can't get a creek-side room, the shared deck off the living/dining area is wonderful with the same view. The continental breakfast was very good, with toast-your-own bagels so that the cream cheese softened just right, and fruit juice, coffee and an assortment of teas. Parking is in the adjacent lot - with a bridge over part of the nicely landscaped creekside area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We highly recommend The Inn at Oak Creek. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. It is obvious they enjoy taking care of their guests. Spence was very welcoming and went out of way to recommend some good hiking trails, restaurants etcetera. Each morning they provide muffins, bagels, coffee and juice. Try to get a creek side room if you can. We booked a non-creek side (freeway side) room but Spence was able to move us midway through our stay. Very quiet, relaxing and tranquil place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at The Inn Above Oak Creek, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words! I am so glad we could accommodate you in a Creekside Room...even if it meant moving halfway thru your trip! Thanks so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a long day of hiking and shopping and dining, it was nice to come back home to the Inn on Oak Creek and drink a glass of wine and check out the view of the creek/canyon from the balcony. The creek view is outstanding and relaxing and it almost looked like a set from a Hollywood movie. I expected Esther Williams to come zipping down the creek on water skis, it was just that beautiful. If you look down the creek, you will see some of the fabulous red rock.

The Inn is located in the Gallery section of town so you avoid some of the zombie tourists wandering around dazed and confused and overfed and underdressed. If you want to hang out at ice cream shops and t-shirt shops, you will have a short hike into the touristy part of Sedona. While the street is busy in front of the Inn, you can not hear any traffic noise once you are in the room. (All you hear are quacking ducks)
The rooms are well decorated with neutral colors and the bathroom has new fixtures, tile, etc. and with a whirlpool tub that we did not use. The major bonus was the gas fireplace which was nice to watch @ bedtime after a long day of activity.
Spence was a festive, outgoing and helpful owner and he was on site most of the time with good suggestions and interesting conversation. If I ever travel to Lake Tahoe or Anna Maria, Island, I would try to stay at his other properties.
The Inn provides coffee, juice, bagels, fresh fruit and sweet rolls for breakfast. There is a TV in the main lobby of the inn with comfortable couches and chairs and reading material. If you like to dine or sun yourself, they do have a nice deck. (It would be nice if Spence would add a chaise lounge or two)
Down on "Creek level" Spence has thoughtfully provided a hammock, tables and chairs if you want some quiet and peaceful time. (I took a quick nap on the hammock)
I'm happy to provide a positive recommendation for the Inn on Oak Creek and I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms with the exception of one have a great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetBoyIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this property last spring when it was a bed and breakfast. It was wonderful and expensive. It is no longer a bed and breakfast which makes the rates a little more affordable.
It has a continental breakfast. The rooms are newly decorated. The view of Oak Creek is wonderful. I could stay on the little balcony nearly all day.
I recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable and restful stay.

Room Tip: Choose a creekside room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenwearleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I researched many places in Sedona before booking here for 4 nights, making the choice mostly on value and other reviews (and availability for 4 nights around Easter!) After our stay, I can say that there are so many other reasons to book here. The location was perfect for us. It's quieter than Uptown or West Sedona, but within easy walking distance of several great restaurants, in our opinion. Had we been interested in shopping, Hillside Sedona is just across the street, and Tlaquepaque is around the corner.
The inn is nicely decorated, the bagels, fruit and pastries for breakfast were tasty, and the beds were so comfortable. I say beds, because Chris and the staff noticed that our first room was warmer than they thought it should be, and asked if we wanted to move to another room. How often does your innkeeper act on a potential problem before you even notice it? We wish we could have stayed longer and had a chance to enjoy the creekside patio and the gas grill available for guest use. Our other regret: that we didn't see the javelinas that Chris said will occasionally wander into the grounds and parking lot!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you don't get a creekside room. The other rooms ( 8 and 10 in our case) are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.9 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
2.9 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Oak Creek

Property: The Inn Above Oak Creek
Address: 556 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Above Oak Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include: Continental breakfast, fireplaces, whirlpool bathtub and remote-control TV. Some include balcony over Oak Creek!Initially built in 1972 as an art gallery, then totally refurbished and transformed in 1995,The Inn On Oak Creek perches on a bluff overlooking Oak Creek, Arizona's premier year-round spring-fed stream.Within easy walking distance are Sedona's best art galleries, boutique shops, several fine restaurants, and Tlaquepaque shopping village. Almost as close are National Forest trails that will take you to the heart of Red Rock Country. While Sedona offers many choices with accommodations, you will not find one with a better location, stunning views, and a quaintness like the Inn On Oak Creek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn Above Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Oak Creek Hotel Sedona
The Inn Above Oak Creek Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing