We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet, reasonably priced inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Inn on Oak Creek has been nicely remodeled, and it is reasonably priced for the lovely accommodations.. It is within walking distance of Uptown Sedona and many lovely shops and good restaurants. We had a room facing Oak Creek that was very quiet, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was enjoyable having a continental breakfast out on the large deck facing Oak Creek and a lot of trees.

I would have given the Inn an excellent rating, except for the continental breakfast, which was full of carbohydrates, unvaried, and unexceptional.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Creek are priced a little higher, but they are also quieter, as they do not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a party of 10 people, so we had 5 rooms including the suite. Rooms are nice and comparatively cheap. Location is great. The wifi is a little spotty depending on your room but generally OK. I was able to get full signal on a laptop but Ipad had a hard time in the suite. The hospitality from Chris and Spence was excellent. Bagels and muffins, coffee and juice are available for breakfast around 7:30am. There is a binder in the lobby with maps of popular hiking routes, and they have a few Red Rock passes (parking passes for national forest trail heads) available for you to borrow. The suite is impressive, with all Viking kitchen appliances and a massive master bathroom.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

First time at Inn on Oak Creek. First, the rates are much lower than other local hotels.

Host greeted us at the door and gave us a quick walk around. Nice lodge-looking place. Room #2 was quaint, with balcony overhanging Oak Creek which was brimming with ducks. At one point we counted 60 ducks. The view from the balcony was gorgeous. There are red rocks in the distance, aspen and sycamore trees shading the area, bunnies and swifts during the day and bats at night.

The room featured a queen bed, fireplace, jacuzzi bathtub and a table/chair set. The ceiling fan had a remote control. The TV went ignored but was available.

Although they didn't serve breakfast, there was an assortment of bagels and pastries, plus fruit. There was a kuereg and OJ as well.

The location was key for us. Right on state route 179, close enough to Tlacapaque, Upper Sedona and a couple of restaurants was perfect for us.

Although we never got the host's name, he was helpful in recommending sights, restaurants and shopping. When we went hiking, he provided us with a monthly pass which saved us $10 - nice touch.

The next time we are in Sedona, we will be sure to stay at the Inn on Oak Creek.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay at the Inn on Oak Creek really could not have been any better. We had suite # 12 which has amazing creek and mountain views. The bed was comfortable with high quality linens. The bathroom had a HUGE tub. The lobby area is very nice (great space to enjoy the continental breakfast). Spence, the owner, gave us great restaurant recommendations. The location is great and you can't beat the value. We loved everything about our stay at The Inn!

Room Tip: Suite # 12 has amazing views and a comfortable king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Came for our honeymoon and glad we did. The inn is being updated and is coming along nicely. Our bathroom was kind of grimey (like the shower head, curtains, etc.) not in terms of dirty... Bathrooms were overall clean just in need of updating and heavy scrubbing. I think they are focused on the rooms then bathrooms during their updates at the time. However the location is perfect and very private and peaceful. Plus the breakfast is a plus!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Akayj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at the Inn on Oak Creek and could not be happier with our choice. Kudos to owner Spence and manager Chris and their staff for creating and maintaining such a lovely inn and environment. The inn is truly centrally located for everything that Sedona has to offer. For us, that included "free" admission to the Blue Grass Festival that occurred just across the creek from the inn. We enjoyed great music with a glass of wine in the comfort of the Inn's property! Do not hesitate to book your reservation at the Inn on Oak Creek!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have you ever been to a place that you feel you will always remember? This is it! The rooms are beautiful, well-appointed, and very comfortable. The views from the balconies and patio are great. The owner and the manager are very accommodating; giving advice, answering questions, and anything you could ask for. There were 6 of us traveling, and it was so nice to have several common areas to be together, relax, and share a glass or two. We loved the fact that you can help yourself to coffee, ice, and a nice continental breakfast. It really felt like home. You can also walk to many nice restaurants and shops that are close by. After exploring all of Sedona for 4 days, I can say that this is the best area to stay and the best choice of accommodation. We will definitely be recommending the Inn on Oak Creek to our friends and we hope to be back. Thank you so much to Spence, Chris, and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: A creek-side room is definitely the best, if you can get one. Also, the rooms that are further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hinda880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.9 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Oak Creek

Address: 556 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: £111 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Above Oak Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include: Continental breakfast, fireplaces, whirlpool bathtub and remote-control TV. Some include balcony over Oak Creek!Initially built in 1972 as an art gallery, then totally refurbished and transformed in 1995,The Inn On Oak Creek perches on a bluff overlooking Oak Creek, Arizona's premier year-round spring-fed stream.Within easy walking distance are Sedona's best art galleries, boutique shops, several fine restaurants, and Tlaquepaque shopping village. Almost as close are National Forest trails that will take you to the heart of Red Rock Country. While Sedona offers many choices with accommodations, you will not find one with a better location, stunning views, and a quaintness like the Inn On Oak Creek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn Above Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Oak Creek Hotel Sedona
The Inn Above Oak Creek Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing