We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff Helped A Disappointing Check In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We arrived at Southwest in after a long day of traveling only to be informed that somehow we had been changed from the double queen room I had requested to a king room. I was exceptionally disappointed as I had booked over 6 months in advance in order to get one of the two queen rooms they have on the second floor so we could have the view and balcony. However, Robert, the young man working at the front desk was so helpful and was willing to do whatever he could to help. Unfortunately they just did not have a queen room available any longer.

Once we got to the room we were very pleased with the king room we did get, although we would have rather had the same room with 2 queen beds as we had requested, we were overall happy with what the rooms at southwest inn had to offer. The bathroom was large, the room had a wonderful fireplace and still had the balcony overlooking the red rocks that we had requested, and it was spotlessly clean. Miss Nancy the housekeeper did a wonderful job and the room was spotless everyday.

The daily breakfast was included in the room and was also a treat. The homemade breakfast burritos were yummy, as were the waffles, and the coffee was to die for. In fact we loved the coffee so much that when we asked if we could buy it around the area the nice young lady at the front desk gave us each a little bag of it for all the troubles we had with our room which we thought was very sweet.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and Robert and Erika at the front desk made it so much more pleasant by helping and understanding our frustration with our room and finding ways to compensate us.

When we next return to Sedona we will definitely be staying at the Southwest Inn.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have private balconies that look out over the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review!

I felt awful after the confusing of the rooms. But I am happy to hear that I made up for the mistake that I have made. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the great coffee that we have and also loved your room. We do have a great healthy breakfast to start your day off well! I am glad to hear that you still had a great time at the Inn and enjoyed the beauty of Sedona!

Once again I am truly sorry and can not wait to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Southwest Inn. It was everything we had hoped for. We had two requirements...a deck and free breakfast and both were great. We sat on the deck to read in the morning after breakfast since the sun was shining on it. The breakfast was plentiful and we especially welcomed the hard boiled eggs every morning before hiking. The hot tub was close to our room and wonderful after a long day. The room was clean and quiet with a great bed, sheets and pillows. We would definately go back and recomment it to friends.

Room Tip: Upstairs unit on an end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time and writing a great review!

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the patio and hot tub for a nice relaxing time at the Inn.
We have a great healthy breakfast to get you started for a nice time out in Sedona!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Southwest Inn at Sedona was a delightful and very nice surprise! We had a one bedroom unit which was very clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. They have DVDs that they lend to you for those quiet evenings in Sedona. We had a balcony that was great for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: It appeared that most rooms had stairs to enter so if you need an accessible room, I would call them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for your great review!

I am pleased to hear that you loved our Inn! Never judge an Inn by its looks, until you have stayed and experience the Southwest Inn. We have great touches in our rooms to make you feel comfortable. From our robes to the great fire places in the rooms. Our staff does a great job on details and cleanness of the rooms!

Thank You and hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and love this place. It is away from the crazy downtown "Y" area, but close enough if you want to go there. It is clean, very comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast area was always well stocked and just enough food to start the day. The hot tub was welcome after a long hike and the patio outside our front door was the perfect spot to share a glass of wine before heading out for dinner. The only trouble we had was a sketchy Internet connection probably because we were just too far from the office, but this didn't impact us enough to lower our rating. We'll be back!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ColoradoVisitor0135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for such a Great review!

It makes us happy to have guest like you coming back! We always try to make it "extra" special for our returning guest.

The hot tub being outside makes it nice for a nice relaxing afternoon and a great place to enjoy the Arizona stars! We do love being away from all the "craziness." And also being close to beautiful hiking trails.

Once again thank you for your review and can not wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My family stayed for 2 nights and we had a very pleasant experience. The inn is conveniently located near downtown for restaurants, shopping or hiking. Nice view from the balcony! Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and the bathrobes were a nice touch. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was good and eating area was clean and roomy. The Southwest Inn is an excellent value and I recommend it to anyone looking for good motel in Sedona.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about our Inn!

I am pleased to hear that you love our balcony! Its a great way to relax after a nice long day and enjoy the Beauty of Sedona!

Hopefully we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Southwest Inn and we could not have been more pleased. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was VERY clean and decorated beautify with close attention to detail and we had robes, fireplace and a great view (the hotel hot tub was great after a day of hiking). It is located about 5 minutes from the center of town; we are so glad we were away from all the traffic and commercialism, ask for a room away from the road. The hotel is convenient and close to the hiking trails. The hotel provided a very nice breakfast (complimentary). I don't usually write reviews, however, the Southwest Inn deserves the recognition for a job well done. If we return to Sedona we will stay here again (we have also recommended it to our friends).

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room if you want a balcony and a good view. Also, even though it did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasSunflower66215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We are well know for paying close attention to details of our rooms and cleanness. Our staff takes their time in making everything perfect for our guest. Our location is by far the best! We are away from the loudness of Uptown Sedona and down the road from Dry Creek Road, which is the entry way to some beautiful hiking trails!

Once again thank you for the nice review and hopefully we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for three nights at the end of February 2013. We found the accommodation to be very comfortable and clean, with the fire a great asset in the cold weather! All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful, they went out of their way to help me with the wifi as I am not a very computer literate person, thanks!! Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenwilliams4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for the great review!

Our great fire places do come in handy in the cold season! They give off such an amazing comfortable feeling! We always try to be helpful and help guest with any questions they have or If they need help with anything. From helping them with luggage to helping them with their computer. We try to make them happy.

Thank you for recommending us and hopefully we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,272 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.4 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#14 of 48 in Sedona
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £98 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona
Southwest Inn At Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing