We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless hotel at city's edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Flawless hotel at city's edge”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Top notch hotel. Luxurious bed linens, healthy and delicious free breakfast. Very good restaurants walking distance. Both Red Rock State Park and uptown Sedona are a five-minute drive away. The inn could be just a bit further from the main road for my taste, but I'm being picky. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    227
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
208
439
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you want an early start to hike, don't stay here! Breakfast and coffee not available until 7:30. AIr conditioning unit very noisy. Maid service did not replace water and toiletries. Balcony was enjoyable but overall not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 806Leanleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to post your review.

Yes, we do not open for breakfast until 7:30 because, we are not the normal hotel (you can read more about our Boutique status at http://www.swinn.com/Sedona-AZ-Hotel-Blog/bid/59120/What-makes-the-Southwest-Inn-at-Sedona-a-Boutique-Hotel).

Our breakfast is not the typical hotel continental breakfast: we make our Tarahumara Burritos from scratch, which takes extra time; we do not have a juice machine--we stir and pour our OJ into crystal pitchers, which takes time; our Museli is a recipe from an Austrian Chef, (who visits us often for the world class mountain biking), which is custom made for us in a small mill in Oregon, and it takes extra time to simmer (sorry no packets of oatmeal here); and we grind our own coffee beans every morning for a fresh brew, which takes time; and we mix our waffle batter fresh every morning, which takes time; and by the time it takes to put out the silverware (no plastic), the Fiesta China (no paper plates), the organic granola, the hard boiled eggs, the 7 grain toast, english muffins, and display the USA Today Newspapers (New York Times on Sunday!!), well it all takes time. By the way we arrive at a little after 6 to pull all of this off.

Our water bottles in the rooms are a GIFT from the front desk. At one time, we offered them as a welcome token upon checkin, but then we realized that our guests already were loaded down with "stuff", so now we put the "welcome bottles of Arizona Spring Water" in the rooms, and we offer them for sale at the front desk at 1/3 the price you would expect to pay in Las Vegas. But on that note, did you taste our tap water? We have a 4 inch commercial grade water purifier installed on our main water line, which is why your teeth are so clean,why your hair is so beautiful, and why your skin glows, and why our Native Arizona Landscaping thrives on our property.

Oh, did you enjoy the view of the full moon, above the Red Rocks and Arizona Cyprus of Sedona, from our private patios and balconies?

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Extremely clean, quiet and comfortable. Loved the room decor and private balcony. Loved coming back here to relax after a day in the great outdoors. Breakfast good. the hot cereal was yummy! Love having in room coffee for coffee on the balcony first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myersj125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review!

I am very pleased that you took full advantage of what the Inn has to offer! Home away from home is a great feeling! Makes your vacation more relaxing and enjoyable. Nothing beats like the beautiful sunrise in the morning from our balcony to start a great day!

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the decor reflects the local heritage,
the hospitality is gracious, and the continental breakfast is tasty. After a day of shopping, hiking and touring its like coming home. The rooms do face the parking lot, but there are views from the second floor and you are away from the bustle of downtown. A nice place to stay for a few days while you indulge in the what Sedona has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchoJourneyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review!

I am pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us. After a long day, its nice to come back to a place that feels like home. I am glad that you didn't let the parking lot distract you from the amazing views that we do have!

Once again thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallinford Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A bit removed from the center. The staff is friendly, very clean rooms, adequite continental breakfast. Downside is that fitness room is small, has limited equipment, and short hours. thepool also closes at nite, as does the outdoor hot tub

Room Tip: ask for the end room next to the pool..It has both a shower and jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your stay with us.

Our staff do take the time and pay attention to cleanliness of the rooms.

Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was our second stay at the SWI and to be perfectly honest we did think about staying "in town" to be able to walk to the shops and restaurants. That idea lasted for about 5 minutes or until we remembered how "at home" we felt in the beautiful Navajo Suite. We decided it was well worth it to jump in the car when we wanted to go into the main area of Sedona. Is it the best view - no, there are more beautiful views, but the view is lovely in the morning with your coffee on the little balcony. Is it the fanciest furniture - no, it's comfy, cozy, homey. The bed is so comfy, with lots of pillows and you can pull up the blinds and see the lovely view right from your bed. There is everything you need and lots of wonderful, friendly staff and guests. Breakfast is a treat, with real Fiesta Ware and flatware. The landscaping is lovely - the Juniper tree in the back walkway smells of forests - the fountains and beautiful pots are an added touch.

I really could go on about how much we enjoy staying here, but I'll just say this - try it for yourself. You'll become return guests like we are. We will be back next year! Thank you SWI.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Great review about the Inn!

We love it when our guest come back! We always try to make our return guest feel even more special then they already do. We are pleased to hear that you love our " home " feeling to our room. We do have the best beds. After a long day out exploring Sedona, you just want to sink into a nice comfortable bed. Its also nice to hear that our guest appreciate our great costumer service.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a fantastic option in Sedona. The rooms are cozy: nicely decorated, the beds are ultra comfortable and the gas fireplace wonderful. Each room have a patio or balcony with a great view. The staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast includes delicious vegetarian burritos. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about the Inn.

I am pleased to hear that you loved our rooms and tried our amazing bean burritos!

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
919 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#17 of 48 in Sedona
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Property: Southwest Inn at Sedona
Address: 3250 State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona
Southwest Inn At Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing