We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great for couples. Gas fireplace, cozy decor, a separate living room and bedroom; all makes for a nice little getaway. We stayed here during the winter so it was pretty cold outside - always nice to come back to a warm cozy room after a long day exploring. I recommend staying on the 2nd floor - better views of the rocks. Breakfast is pretty basic but it's included so it's something to get you started. If you want a more indulgent breakfast or brunch, go out. Nice staff, clean property, all the things you'd want in a quaint hotel. You should know that the location is not in the center of town -- it's a short drive off the "main" hub of activity, but it's not too far, only a few minutes.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor. (There's only 2 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    219
    75
    23
    16
See reviews for
198
426
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our third trip to Sedona and we stayed at the Southwest Inn every time. You can't beat the service, cleanliness, and value anywhere in Sedona. This year we planned a last second trip to escape the terrible NE winter. We stayed over Valentines Day weekend and unfortunately they were sold out for one of the days so we stayed elsewhere for one night. We paid $100 more than the Southwest Inn was and didn't have nearly the experience. We love the breakfast there and have recommended them to countless friends and family.

Jason and Tara from PA

Room Tip: We love the Mission King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed a week at this Inn and overall I was very happy with my visit. It is a small family run business and very personal. The rooms were well kept and the fireplace was an added bonus as well as the Jacuzzi. Bedding was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Needed a place to stay in Sedona that would take dogs. Not that easy to find. But Southwest Inn was very accommodating and the price was great as well. The morning continental breakfast was good - but like at most hotels, a bit lacking in the protein department. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftlphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I chose this hotel just because of some good reviews. Now i'm gonna tell you the real truth.
We arrived at 8:30pm, no staff around, lobby closed. We called the after hours number, no one answered, and they never called me back. We called back 15mins later, they picked up.
We were promised the room with red rock view, and got room on 1st floor, view of parking lot.
Room was tiny, dirty, very dated. My wife didnt even want to take a shower because it was so dirty. For some reason everything was unplugged, and when we did plugged the tv and radio into the scokets they were so worn out the plug would fall back out. Half of the lights worked and we could hear the neighbor in the next room when they used the toilet and shower. The bed was very hard and the pillows were even harder ( like a sack of cement) the pictures on the internet make this place look nice but its far from it. I was disgusted with this place and had a hard time sleeping, a motel 6 may be a better bet. Oh, i was also told when i booked this room that this was the last room, when we arrived i saw only four cars in the lot, and one of those cars was mine.
Breakfast was a joke, ie granny smith apples, stale cheerios, day old french bread chopped up,...
Had to go out for breakfast.
Never again Southwest Inn at sedona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bugman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times in the past two years. We always stay in the King suite with jetted tubs. The beds are oh so comfy with wonderful down pillows and bedding. The jetted tubs are exactly what you need to unwind after exploring beautiful red rock Sedona. (A little tip, the jetted tubs can take a bit to fill up so I would allow a good 20 mins), but after that they are totally worth the wait. The robes and fireplace are perfect to relax in front of after a soak in the tub. The breakfast is fabulous as well! All in all this is a clean and cozy place to stay and I would recommend it if you want to stay at a place about 5-10 mins out of all the excitement from uptown Sedona

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a motel, this place is fine. I was expecting more - nothing special at all about this motel. The lobby closes at 8, so I never saw an employee other than when we checked in. The breakfast was really disappointing. Cold cereal, oatmeal and a burrito you could microwave if you were brave enough. No other hot food, not even toast. We took a look and walked out. Ended up eating breakfast out every day. I'll try a different hotel next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CigarKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Although we try, unfortunately we cannot please everyone; however 96% of our guests have positive experiences with their stay at the Southwest Inn at Sedona; but that does leave the other 4%, of which you appear to be part of.

To be clear, we consider ourselves to be a Boutique Inn: we keep a low profile, for guest privacy, but we are always available to assist-in fact the owners personal cell phone number is freely given out to guests who might need after hour assistance; our rooms all have fireplaces, southwest decor, comfortable beds and bedding, bathrobes for lounging and admiring the native landscaping and Thunder Mt and Coffee Pot Rock, which are the two mountains behind us.

As for our breakfast-first off-it is complementary. Yes, we do not have a Las Vegas style breakfast, where you could feast on a hot food buffet, but we have answered our challenge with a very unique offering: we make our Taraumara Burritos from scratch; we offer either a hot porridge or a hot muselli, in addition to organic granola's (all from a small, private mill in Oregon) with fresh yogurt; we grind our coffee and mix our own orange juice; we have hard boiled eggs, english muffins and toast; and we offer a Belgian waffle.

As much as we would like to try to please everyone, we just cannot; however, we are excited that we meet the expectations of 96% of our guests.

Thank you, for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#23 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Property: Southwest Inn at Sedona
Address: 3250 State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona
Southwest Inn At Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing