We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is wrong with all the positive reviews???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Why all the positive reviews??? The hotel is at best a 3 star. I suspect review manipulation because I’ve never been so under-whelmed upon entering a hotel room in my life. We expected a fabulous Ritz Carlton-like staff to welcome us and found defensive, territorial, strange unwelcoming behavior. The desk clerk was training a new person and was absolutely demeaning to the woman she was training. What the heck was that about? You don’t talk down to a staff member in front of a guest. I hope the trainee doesn’t learn the non-service oriented habits of the person showing her the ropes.
The best way to describe the facility is comparable to a nice La Quinta or Hampden Inn. Location was no big deal, the room was decent, views terrible, A/C unit loud and the old style…located in the window, parking convenient, small pool area. I should add the room was clean and a bit larger than a standard Hampden Inn room. It was nice that the room had sufficient darkening curtains. I could hear our neighbor’s television through the wall. I don’t understand why other travelers are going on about the “Turkish towels”? They were towels, nothing special. There were also robes, which I liked but nothing to write home about.
There was no internet and when I complained I received convoluted sarcastic excuses. I can’t imagine traveling in the states without a solid internet connection.
If you call ahead for a rate check….don’t believe a word they tell you about being the best value. Check other hotels for their rates to compare. Embarrassingly, I paid too much at this place. We met another couple at dinner and compared notes on the local hotels.
I do not recommend the hotel and can’t help wondering who really wrote the 5 star reviews?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RecessionaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

As one of the owners of The Southwest Inn At Sedona, I would like to respond to the Trip Advisor Review dated Sept 23, 2010.
The Southwest Inn is known for its excellent Guest Services, so I am surprised that this guest was disappointed in out service at check in. We have received many awards for our service, including being selected for the 2009 Best of Sedona Award in hotels category and rated # 1 for guest services- by out guests. We purchased The Southwest Inn a little over three years ago. We have spent much time and energy turning The Southwest Inn into a place where we would like to stay. We have added 300 count cotton sheets and duvet covers, robes, organic cotton towels, custom furniture and paint with a southwest decor, custom amenities and David Stoecklein Western prints in each room.We offer a custom breakfast with our own Innkeepers Tarahumara Black Bean Burrito and our homemade organic oatmeal. You would not find these special touches at a chain hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

If the Southwest Inn had cheaper rates, we would've shrugged and said "well, you get what you pay for, so this is fine". But for the price, the Inn has a tired, aged decor that's tends toward gaudy. We were told we'd have a view; what we had was a view of the parking lot, traffic and other buildings with the gorgeous mountains in the distance. I think the room on the end is probably the only unit with a true, unobscured view. The "gourmet" breakfast was not gourmet, though it was adequate. Maybe the owners, who live in Idaho, need to come in and give their property some personal TLC and/or lower the rates. The beds, however, are VERY comfortable, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a second floor king suite with beautiful views of the red rocks! The room was always clean and very comfortable. The staff here is wonderful and so helpful. If you want to know any places to explore or eat just ask Jamie!!! She is awesome and so is the rest of the staff. You can't go wrong here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The room was nice but due to poor construction, the bathroom had issues as did the entrance. We stayed in Room 231, several bathroom tiles were broken and some grout was missing between the tiles. The bath tub was slightly off level, the bottom had play in it and most likely will crack in the near future. The second floor landing at the door felt weak. Again a construction issue it appears. The view from the room: you could see the red rock from over the parking lot & over stores. The flat screen TV was terrible--was not HD so the picture quality suffered---really suffered! When will Hotels learn this is not the correct way to handle the TV? As for any FREE breakfast, it was poor. we stayed away from the opened large bowl of yogurt--you never know what issues those before you had. Many persons fail to wash their hands before eating, so we didn't feel lucky that day. Tip: Don't try the orange juice!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The staff at SW Inn at Sedona was very helpful and friendly. The room we had on 2nd floor had a great view and was very quiet. Accomodations were roomy and clean. King size bed w soft bedding, turkish towels and robes. Electric fireplace and balcony was a nice touch.
The breakfast provided had a nice selection of choices. The only surprise was there was not a microwave in the room but you could use one in the breakfast area. The rooms did have a coffee pot and refrig.
We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Sedona.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FtnHillsSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I've stayed at Southwest Inn three times in the past, and every stay was thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. This is positively one of the most hospitable places I've ever stayed anywhere. It's about halfway to the Grand Canyon from Phoenix. There are several nice places to eat in the area, both fast food and sit down. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Our room was absolutely clean! The bed was so comfortable; the linens were luxurious; the towels were thick & fluffy; they were so clean!!! The bed has a beautiful, light duvet. The room was spacious; the bathroom was spacious. The shower/tub was clean & worked well. There is a fireplace (too warm for us to use it in July!), a frig, coffeemaker. We were celebrating our 40th Anniversary. The owner (Craig Phelan) & all his employees had signed a card & placed it in our room, along with a bottle of apple-cider! It was a great choice for me because I am allergic to alcohol of any kind. The towels were changed out for us for the next day...lots of towels/hand towels /washcloths. Breakfast is included...upstairs over their main office. Toast/waffles/hard boiled eggs/breakfast burritos/cereals/hot cereal/fruit & the usual drinks. A young lady kept all the food supplies current & fresh.Yes, we paid about $165.00@ night but it was well worth it!! The outside of the hotel is nice, but does not reveal the luxury of the room. I felt like a queen in the way we were treated by the staff. If you go to Sedona, and you should!!!, please stay at the Southwest Inn at Sedona. It is located close to great restaurants & the most beautiful scenery. (their number: 800-483-7422)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,280 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.4 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 49 in Sedona
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £92 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona
Southwest Inn At Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing