We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for area”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good price for area”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First, you need to know this is in the Village of Oak Creek, which is south of Sedona but locals consider this Sedona area. Its a straight shot up 179 to the heart of Sedona, thru the traffic circles, but this a great place to acess Bell Rock or Cathedral Rock hiking sites. No doubt this is a "bucket list" worthy area to visit.

The web site and on phone, the hotel doesn't give off warm fuzzzies but in person they were great.

The room was a bit worn but clean & comfortable. Basic, no frills, but fine. In double queen, the room was large, but could have used more furniture. Had 2 chairs & table. Would have been nice to have a more comfortable chair.

No Breakfast included, but ok with us. Back of property is a walk thru to a nice breakfast place, The Red Rock Cafe.

Folks are friendly and welcoming but a bit strong in their policy. However, they refunded us, unasked, $ as the room requested was not what we had. And that was because we asked for something else at check-in. Good ethics!

Pool is outside, so closed in winter.

Would we stay again? Yep! Good value in an area that thinks YOU should be glad they are there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    415
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
271
695
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Classic motel, few amenities, but let's face it, unless you're here for a spa vacation you're not going to spend much time in your room. It's a great base of operation for hiking, near Bell rock and courthouse loop. The rooms are clean and comfortable, in the red rock café next door offers outstanding breakfast choices. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tx10sGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The outside of the hotel looks like a run-of-the-mill type place, but don't let that fool you. Room was amazing. Plenty of room, nice decor and very comfortable bed. Location was just what we were looking for. Away from all the major shopping and touristy stuff, yet a small shopping area across the street. Close enough to get to Red Rocks within 15 minutes. Price was definitely excellent - especially for this pricy area. Even though the hotel is on a main road, we didn't hear the road noise. Stayed here only 1 night as our schedule to keep moving north only 1 night. Would definitely stay here again & for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Close enough to balloon rides so that they pick you up at your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sedona accommodation tends toward the high cost end but after reading the great reviews on tripadvisor we booked two rooms at the Inn and were not disappointed, The rooms have everything necessary, including wifi access and a fridge, were well appointed for the price and very clean.
The location is excellent, with some superb views of the red rocks and we particularly enjoyed the 10 minutes drive into and from Sedona, along the scenic route.
There's a tourist information booth in the mall opposite, which provided us with some useful recommendations for trips and dining, including discounts. The excellent Cucina Rustica restaurant is only a block and a half away, within easy walking distance - try the chocolatini if you fancy a cocktail. There's also a great cafe (very friendly staff) for breakfast nearby (cut through just past the swimming pool) where you can obtain 10% discount if you say that you're staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have been driving through the Southwest and found our way to this fine motel on the edge of Sedona Arizona. It is by no means a luxury or even high end establishment, but it is a really great value, a low price with rooms which have been refurbished with the important things in mind: a good bed, good linens, very, very clean. It is also within a hundred yards of a full service supermarket. As the owner said when we arrived, there are no views but you will get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the spot to stay for your visit to Sedona AZ. The view of the Red Rocks as you drive from Oak Canyon into the heart of downtown Sedona is magnificent. The Inn has been newly renovated and the rooms are clean, comfortable with lots of storage for clothes and all your stuff. We had a king bed with a fireplace. What more can I say? Nick, the owner, is very nice and knows the surrounding area and can guide you on what to see and do in Sedona as well as nearby towns. Inn is directly across from Factory Outlets, 30 second walk to the grocery store,bank,post office and a great breakfast cafe. There are many other nearby restaurants and cafes for food.Less than a 10 minute drive into uptown Sedona which again offers you breathtaking views as you drive the winding road. You cannot go wrong by staying at the Desert Quail Inn.

Room Tip: Room 407, King bed with a fireplace and laundry room 2 doors down. We stayed a week and that was a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place is really classy! We were given A very comfortable King size bed on the top floor.
Francine on the front desk was delightful and gave us all kinds of suggestions for our 3 day stay.
It's great to stay in oak creek away from the touristy area of uptown Sedona. To us this area offers some of the most beautiful scenic sights right here.

Val and Ron from Vancouver Island Canada

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel
Desert Quail Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing