We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in expensive area”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I read some mixed reviews on the Desert Quail Inn, but most were good. I agree with most.
When we drove up it was not real impressive on the outside and we started thinking that maybe we made a mistake making reservations here. But, the person at the counter was friendly and and helpful as we got our key to a room on the second (top) floor away from stairs, ice, and vending as I had requested when I made the reservation over the phone with the owner over a month earlier.
When we walked in the room we were MORE than pleasantly surprised as everything seemed new and clean and the room was good sized. We had a nice flat screen TV, microwave and fridge. Of all the places we stayed on our 19 day 5600 mile road trip, it was the only place that did not offer any kind of breakfast, but there was in-room coffee. Seeing as the price was quite reasonable compared to most other nice motels in the area, that was a minor inconvenience, especially when you consider there's so many neat cafes, restaurants, and other eateries to sample in the town and on the 'strip'.

Since or April 3rd stay was a little early in the season, there was no noise from the pool area.

Based on this experience and the friendly attitude of the staff and owner, we would consider staying here again when we're in the area.

Room Tip: Top floor middle will have you away from stairs and between the pool and the street to help cut down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Do not let the outside fool you. Yes, it looks like a Motel 6. Maybe it was, originally. Inside, the rooms are lovely. Incredibly comfortable King size beds, large flat screen tv's, comfy robes, new flooring, and quiet.

There is a pool and hot tub on premises. This Inn is NOT in Sedona. It is in Oak Creek Canyon, about six miles and seven roundabouts (VERY backed up traffic in season) from downtown Sedona. It may be worth it to you for the savings and the great room.

Behind the Inn, is a good breakfast/lunch place you can walk to. All in all, a wonderful find.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view of Bell Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had two nights in Sedona . We booked at the Desert Quail Inn not realizing it is in Oak Village south of Uptown Sedona. This was serendipity as far as I was concerned. The hotel is well kept, well appointed and run by very pleasant staff. It is located conveniently near several great eateries and coffee cafes we walked to. The drive to Uptown and West Sedona is short and scenic. Considering how touristy and busy Sedona can get this was a great , economic choice .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okoshi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Desert Quail Inn back in September and were very pleased. Our stay this time was just as satisfying. Beds are so comfortable, room very clean and microwave and small refrigerator are a plus. Thank you Nick for accommodating us on short notice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhi6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were in Sedona for only 2 nights. We were very pleased with the Desert Quail Inn. At about $89-99 per night, the rate was less than most failities in Sedona. The rooms were much larger than average and immaculate. Very nice, simple decor. Smelled fresh. Comfy beds. Fridge and microwave. Great water pressure. Good location. We asked for a room back off the highway and never heard traffic. Easy parking. Warning... no elevator to second floor. If you can't spend $150-400 per night, we highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HowdyfromEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed last sunday, if you want to be out of the busiest area and looking for reasonable rate and clean rooms this is great choice. My mom loved the mattress she inquired with owner; his father actually custom made them before retiring from the proffession. Thanks for clean comfy stay! Will stay again if we are lucky enough to visit this beautiful area again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank bluefishy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Even though the reviews state beautiful views, the person checking me in stated there were only rooms with partial views and none were available (even though I booked two months in advance with a view request). No big deal as the beautiful cliffs in the Sedona area are in view as soon as you step out the door. It is conveniently located right next to a grocery store. Cleanliness could have been better. There was some shoddy caulking in the bathroom with mold growth. I put a blanket on the floor for my infant son to crawl on. When he rolled over and brushed his head on the base of the bed, I was horrified when his face became marked in black dirt/filth from the dust ruffle! Gross!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1germophobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 49 in Sedona
905 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 49 in Sedona
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £69 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel
Desert Quail Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing