We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Quail Inn - lovely”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Desert Quail Inn - lovely”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Desert Quail Inn in late February of this year. A great experience and cost worthy. Be advised it isn't in main Sedona, which we didn't mind at all. Closer to hiking where we wanted to go. Staff friendly, clean rooms and ample parking. We definitely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedBauer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    412
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
270
689
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights here, and were very pleased. The motel property as well as the rooms were very clean and quite. It is a good value.

You deal directly with the owner here, which is very refreshing after some of my experiences with other motels, where the front desk is manned by a teenager who doesn't know anything, and doesn't care. The owner was very helpful with his suggestions of places to eat, and things to do in the area.

The Village of Oak Creek is much quiter than Sedona while being only a few miles away, and surrounded by very beautiful senery. On the north end of town is a hiking/biking trail thru some spectacular scenery! I hiked there most everyday, and loved it!

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cropduster2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The desert quail was a bargain for the price. We had two huge connecting rooms, with satellite tv. It was so open and clean with incredible views. Nick was helpful and took great care despite our late arrival. We will recommend this find for sure!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VALCARON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We believed the good reviews about the Desert Quail Inn and booked our Sedona stay here, wondering if we should spend a bit more to have a comfortable and pleasant stay. We were NOT disappointed. We found the Desert Quail lodging, staff and context to be excellent. Our room (and the property in general) was clean, well appointed, quiet and near an excellent breakfast restaurant. The owner was gracious and informative. We would gladly stay here next time we’re in the Sedona area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We planned a day trip to Sedona and wanted a reasonably priced hotel room in the area. We found the Desert Quail Inn that seemed to fit our needs. We were pleasantly surprised to find the inn located so close to Sedona but even more surprised at the beautiful setting of Oak Creek. The inn is older but extremely well maintained. The room had everything we needed and more. The king bed was wonderful and the room was very large. Cleanliness is very important to us and our room did not disappoint. Every aspect of the room was clean. Nilesh was more than helpful in recommending local restaurants for breakfast and dinner and also is very informative about activities in the surrounding areas. We will definitely choose the Desert Quail Inn for our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here based on a trip advisor rating and a great advance booking rate. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect, but we were very pleased with every aspect of our stay.

The inn is an older motel that has outside entrances. This originally concerned me mildly upon arrival. However, our stay ended up being quiet and peaceful and largely uneventful.

The inn has clearly been carefully remodeled and updated with great care. From inside the room you wouldn't know it wasn't a new building.

Additionally, we discovered that being just outside the chaos and congestion of traffic in downtown sedona was ideal. The traffic was easier to manage we had easy access to the red rocks and the people in town are extremely friendly.

This one is a gem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jacknmichaelsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I read some mixed reviews on the Desert Quail Inn, but most were good. I agree with most.
When we drove up it was not real impressive on the outside and we started thinking that maybe we made a mistake making reservations here. But, the person at the counter was friendly and and helpful as we got our key to a room on the second (top) floor away from stairs, ice, and vending as I had requested when I made the reservation over the phone with the owner over a month earlier.
When we walked in the room we were MORE than pleasantly surprised as everything seemed new and clean and the room was good sized. We had a nice flat screen TV, microwave and fridge. Of all the places we stayed on our 19 day 5600 mile road trip, it was the only place that did not offer any kind of breakfast, but there was in-room coffee. Seeing as the price was quite reasonable compared to most other nice motels in the area, that was a minor inconvenience, especially when you consider there's so many neat cafes, restaurants, and other eateries to sample in the town and on the 'strip'.

Since or April 3rd stay was a little early in the season, there was no noise from the pool area.

Based on this experience and the friendly attitude of the staff and owner, we would consider staying here again when we're in the area.

Room Tip: Top floor middle will have you away from stairs and between the pool and the street to help cut down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel
Desert Quail Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing