We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and location”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Nestled away from downtown Sedona, this place was perfect for a family wanting great views. The small pool was perfect with a 3 foot deep shallow end for the 4 year old.

The rooms were clean and the owner and staff were friendly and helpful. When an excursion was canceled, he recommended the safari park for the kiddos. Spot on recommendation! By letting the hotel book our Pink Jeep tour, we saved 10%!

There are plenty of eateries within walking distance. A grocery store is also right behind the Inn.

We will definitely stay here on our next Sedona visit!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    409
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
266
681
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Not a resort but this motel has all the basics for a short stay. Room was clean. Pool was adequate but on the small side.

Staff was friendly.

They have adjoining rooms which made it nice as we were traveling with others.

Behind the hotel is a grocery store which was convenient to pickup a few things for our road trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 20rickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Hotel exceeded all my expectations. The accommodations were great, especially the size and cleanliness of the room. Additionally, the comfortable bed and other amenities made the room cozy throughout our stay. Last, the views from the Hotel were spectacular in all directions and the Hotel is in walking distance to restaurants and a grocery store.

Room Tip: A second floor end unit was very quiet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

More a Motel than an Inn, the Desert Quail Inn has large well appointed rooms, sufficiently off the road to be quiet from traffic noise.

A most comfortable stay, the management is really excellent and helpful.

The pool is small but very welcome in the hot temperatures we encountered, no breakfast provided but there is and excellent breakfast/lunch restaurant at the back of the property with a walking path through to it.

A much better stay that going to any of the well known "chains"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a great place for a very reasonable price. The hotel was in very good condition & the employees were all very kind. We checked in late & the front desk manager was excellent! When I travel back, I will book with them again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KtGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great base camp for traveling around Sedona, away from the tourist town itself in the village of Oak Creek. Rooms feel more like a hotel than a motel, there is a nice little pool, and everything is very well kept. The owner is very friendly, and helpful with recommendations for restaurants and other local spots. I would gladly stay again. Also, we were in motorcycles and appreciated the level, well -designed parking!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Basic motel but done very well. Much less congested than Sedona, easy to find and at a reasonable price. We did not require resort amenities since much of our time was spent exploring the area and were not bound to the room. A ground floor room would have been easier for hauling luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel
Desert Quail Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing