We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK but not a fun experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just OK but not a fun experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed only one night on a trip around Arizona. Good location, had rooms in the garden. However the pool and spa were out of action finally had the resort fee refunded after we complained. Staff seemed miserable and unhelpful. The lady on the concierge desk didn't really want to bother with my enquiries and just wanted to get back to her computer screen. I requested a wake up call for 0700 (spoke to a real person) no call. On check out I asked at the front desk why I hadn't had the call the girl said that all calls were routed through Las Vegas and they were on daylight savings to Sedona! Surely not good enough for an international chain of Hotels or is it a time share resort.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden with parking immediately outside of room was useful for luggage etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We regret to read that you have not been impressed by the service offered by our team; excellent customer care is a part of our ethos and we apologise if you were under an impression that our team was being unhelpful as this is not the standard of care we promote at Los Abrigados and as a company in general. We would like to assure you that we would do our best to offer you a fantastic stay should you decide to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    335
    192
    116
    103
See reviews for
257
408
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel with hotels.com. I looked at photos and thought we'd be fine in a standard room. But, there standard rooms are smaller than an average hotel room. We HATED our room. The standard room with a King bed had no dresser drawers. All we had was an armoir. The sink is in the room. They had a small refridge and microwave and small table with two chairs. No place to sit to watch TV. So, we called and explained our disappointment with the room. Luckily, they were kind enough to move use after our first night to a 1 bedroom suite. Wow! What an improvement. We had a large living room/dining room combo with a small kitchen, seperate bedroom with a King bed and a bathroom. The balcony was large too. Then to top it off, thet actually moved our stuff from room to room. We just had to have our bags at the door to the first room and they picked them up and moved them to our new room. My husband went over to thank management for the free upgrade and mentioned that it was our anniversary. Next thing I have a knock at the door....they delivered a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We loved the grounds, activities and once the main pool is open this place will be great for families. Stay here, but reserve a suite. All I can say is they made our week so much better with the upgrade! Thanks Los Abrigados managers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a couple of days off mid-week and so trekked off to Los Abrigados. Our daughter got there first and checked in. Just as we were driving up to the check-in building, she came out and told us to park in the Winners Circle Suite. At first, we didn't believe her, but she said she wouldn't trick us. There are 2 Winners Circle Suites. These suites used to be a bar that was attached to the restaurant (that isn't there anymore) next door, 'Joey's'. The suites are located where 'On The Rocks' lounge used to be. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, and it was nicely appointed. There were dishes for 8, although I' not sure 8 people would fit. The living and dining areas were a little small. The cooking area of the kitchen was small as well, but there was an island where 3 could sit. The back door opened onto a courtyard, which has access to the back of where the restaurant used to be. A stacked washer/dryer combo was included. The master bedroom was a nice size, and the master bath was huge, so I think they could have made it spa-like instead of the standard shower/tub combo.

The internet was accessible only in the main building; luckily, we were very close. They were working on it, but it states in their information that internet service is limited in the rooms. Some people were very upset because they had to wait to use the 2 computers available, but really? In Sedona?

The main pool and jacuzzi were closed for remodeling. We used the jacuzzi that was near the cottage, but it was similar to a home spa, nothing special, and thank goodness there was only us, because I don't think more than 4 people could fit in it comfortably. The grounds are beautiful, but we didn't thoroughly check them out. However, we did come upon the mini-golf course, and it could use some additions, but either way, if your kids want to play, it's free for guests.

We mainly wanted to go into Cottonwood and the surrounding areas for some wine tasting. We have a couple of favorites: Alcantara Vineyards, off of 89A, and Page Springs Cellars, which has a relatively new deck that overlooks Oak Creek. Jerome has some tasting rooms (Caduceus is a good one), and Cottonwood has Arizona Stronghold and Burning Bush.

It was great couple of days, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I used some timeshare points for a recent weekend trip to Sedona, settling on Los Abrigados for our stay. Neither of us had previously stayed at this resort, which is now owned by Diamond Resorts International.

This resort, located on the "main drag" of town, is well-appointed externally, with adequate parking and nicely kept grounds. Many activities are offered at the hotel, including miniature golf, tennis, full spa and exercise facilities, and most of the amenities one would expect at such a property. We were greeted warmly by the desk clerk, who fully explained all the features of the resort.

Before leaving to go to our room, we were gently accosted by a "concierge", who was obviously a salesperson for the company and who invited us to an "owner's meeting" the following day. As our timeshare mortgage is fully paid, we are not in need of any further purchases from Diamond. But the salesperson was low-pressure, and I quickly disengaged.

Sadly, our room was not what we would expect from a Diamond property. A "suite" with one bedroom (king bed) was barely larger than a standard hotel room, with a kitchen smaller than many walk-in closets. As this was a weekend trip, and we weren't planning on cooking, this was a minor concern, but still a disappointment. Frankly, the "kitchenette" could be eliminated from a room this size for greater spaciousness.

One feature particularly attractive to Mrs. Advisor was the offering of a hot tub on the patio. Unfortunately, this jacuzzi is barely larger than an oversized bathtub, and barely accommodates two average sized people. And as the resort's "public" spa was closed for repairs, we weren't able to indulge in this amenity at all. However, the pool and hot tub looked quite adequate for a property of this size.

One negative to this property, and one we've seen in other hotels, is the lack of WiFi service. Here, the option is not offered in the guest rooms, either on a free or pay basis. I'm continually surprised, in 2013, with the number of business travelers as well as a general dependence on the Internet in daily living, that more hotels do not offer free W-Fi as a standard amenity. And as Sedona is not the best area for cellular service, even our portable "hot spot" was ineffective. Offering WiFi should be standard in this day and age. However, we had no ill effects from cyber-withdrawal, I'm happy to report.

The room was clean, the shower worked, and the bed was comfortable. Televisions are located in the "sitting area" as well as the bedroom, and

The property's restaurant, Stakes and Sticks, was a pleasant surprise. A well-decorated restaurant and sports bar, S&S features good service, friendly bartenders, and one of the better pizzas we've had while traveling. My wife and I were interested in watching college basketball (this is March, naturally), and there are plenty of television screens for sports fans. We spent portions of two evenings in the bar and weren't disappointed.

All in all, an average stay, with some room for improvement. Perhaps, as Diamond only recently completed the purchase of Los Abrigados (according to the aforementioned salesperson), there hasn't been time to bring the rooms up to snuff. I'll give them a pass on that. But in-room WiFi and renovation of the "suites" may be in order.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildcatMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
690 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this property as part of a timeshare exchange. We called the property in advance to ensure they had Internet access in the rooms and to ensure they had ample parking. (We had read that these were issues for prior guests and I needed Internet access to conduct work during our trip.) We got into the property late for our check-in so right away there was no parking to be found. (Parking in the area of the rooms is extremely limited.) The property has a spanish influence and there were stairs to our room. When we entered the room the chemical smell was so overwhelming that we nearly fainted. (It smelled like they had dumped pool chemicals all over the room.) Our main TV and BluRay player were also inoperative (they had been disconnected) and there was no power in the room. (Maintenance finally showed up to fix the situation.) After leaving the outside door open for over an hour, the smell still would not dissipate so we had to call for housekeeping to come and spray something to cut the odor. The Internet stalled and crashed repeatedly throughout our week stay and the staff were never able to do anything about the issue except to reboot their router and suggest we use their lobby wireless access. the resort is centrally located to all of the things to do/see in Sedona. The accomodations were ok but due to many hassles we experienced and the largely indifferent attitude of many staff members, I cannot recommend this location any higher than average.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Providing excellent customer care is our priority and therefore reading that you have found the service received from our team average is very disappointing to us. We regret to learn that you had some issues with parking and your accommodations. We would like to kindly note that although we always try to ensure that our guests can conveniently park their vehicles, the number of spaces is, regretfully, limited. We apologise for any disappointment this may have caused.
As for the smell in your apartment, we can only suspect it was the residual odour of cleaning products used by the housekeeping prior to your check in. We are sorry if this has inconvenienced you in any way. We sincerely hope, however that this has not marred your stay or caused you any inconvenience and that you spent an otherwise enjoyable time here with us. We hope you will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel staff is very helpful and provide excellent customer service. The lobby is very nice, the grounds are well kept, and the location is absolutely perfect (heart of Sedona). Some rooms have a great view of the rocks.

The resort is owned by a loyalty program (Diamond Resorts or something) so it appears to be mainly used by time-share-type owners, but is open to regular hotel bookings as well. We were able to book through RCI (another time-share-type deal that we have a trial program with). After paying RCI and booking the hotel, we were surprised to find a $15/day "amenity fee" when we arrived. Oh, and there's sales tax on that fee.

Even still, however, the resort was a good value. We essentially booked the room for a little over half the normal booking fee, but I would not recommend RCI (and probably not Diamond Resorts).

Our room was semi-updated: There was granite counters in the kitchen, and 2 large HDTVs (we have a 1 bedroom suite). The bed, however, was old and sagged where people have obviously been laying for decades. Housekeeping comes 1 time a week unless otherwise requested (probably a fee with that too).

Overall, a good stay, a great view, but an old room and hidden fees. I would have given this resort 4 stars if not for the hidden fees.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, and one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adoniram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We regret to read that you have not been fully satisfied with your recent stay here at Los Abrigados and would like to address some of the issues mentioned by you in your review.
Firstly, we would like to refer to the charges - we would kindly note that Los Abrigados has a nightly resort fee of $15 plus applicable taxes for hotel guest reservations. This is advised in the Facts Sheet on our website; nevertheless we apologise if this has not been clarified at the point of booking. As for the housekeeping, following our eco-friendly policy we have agreed to reduce the cleaning rota in an attempt to lessen the impact we could potentially have on the local environment by decreasing the usage of water and detergents. We sincerely hope, however that this has not marred your stay or caused you any inconvenience and that you spent an otherwise enjoyable time here with us. We hope you will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Diamond is in the process of updating this aged resort. Location is wonderful. Spa is fantastic - both facilities and classess. Suite was nothing fancy but clean, well maintained and roomy with new applicances and flat screen TV's. Kitchenette is very small with no oven and a tiny stovetop. That was clear in the information but somewhat limiting if you want to do much cooking. Outdoor grills are available. New bed was very comfortable and linens are top quality. Staff was great, resolving a couple of issues in a timely and friendly manner. Resort was quiet and peaceful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Asked for a 2nd floor room. Downside was having to carry everything up steps, as there are no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and spa services with us at the Los Abrigados Resort and Spa. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for noticing the extensive upgrades and improvements we are making to modernize the resort and optimize guest satisfaction. Our commitment to providing you premium accommodations and amenities began in 2011 with the addition of flat screen televisions in the bedrooms and living areas. Several in room amenities including pillow top mattresses, luxurious bed linens, and soft thick towels in the bathrooms have been added. In the kitchen, upgrades to large name brand appliances have been made as needed. This year, we will be continuing the effort with many more enhancements to our property such as installation of wireless internet and Blue Ray DVD players. Our friendly staff thanks you for your compliments and looks forward to your next stay with us at Los Abrigodos, Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Property: Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa
Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing