We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a relief!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having never stayed at los abrigados ,i read many trip advisor reviews after i booked and was worried i made the wrong choice.However i do not agree with the downers and found it to be a wonderful resort great location and friendly staff.the pool had just been remodeled,and the 15 dollars fee for use of the facilities was well worth it. my wife took several yoga classes, my daughter used the sauna and steam room,and i also .the location is perfect and tlaquepaque village next door is one of the best,beautiful places i have seen.the only thing that could have been better was the sofa bed,but we are seasoned travelers and brought an air mattress which we put on top of the fold out bed.we ordered pizza and dessert from stakes and sticks,and got a very good meal delivered to our door,at the same price you would find around sedona.usually hotels room service is ridiculously high, but this was not the case.if i return or know of anyone going to sedona,there is only one choice-los abrigados.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhodylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I don't know where "tchrtravlr" got his story or why he had that experience but we are Diamond owners and have been for a number of years. I just returned from 4 days there and it was very nice! The resort has a "quaint" feeling....maybe from the Spanish era. We had a one bedroom deluxe and had a hot tub on our patio. The bed and bedding was awesome. Like most resorts, the dvd player is only in the living room and we always wish we had one in the bedroom so we can lay in bed and watch a movie. Check in and out was very simple. We only had an issue with one person at the front desk who was very rude and her name was ROSE. Concierge was very helpful in setting up a jeep tour for us, even after hours. Until next year, the only computer usage is from the lobby but next year they will have it in all the rooms. The pool is new and is salt water. Navigating and parking is a little confusing until you get it all figured out. It is nice to be able to walk to the surrounding shops, boutiques, and restaurants. The unit was clean and we will surely go back...soon......

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues, ask for handicapped room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomKat2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Two girlfriends and I spent 5 nights at Los Abrigados from from 9/26 through 10/1. The resort is very nice and spacious. The salt water pool and hot tub were fantastic. The fitness center is excellent, with good equipment and a large room for classes, including yoga, pilates and other classes. We all went to the spa for facials and it was fantastic. We rented a two bedroom/2 bath suite with living area and small kitchen. It was clean and spacious. There was some minor landscaping construction going on, but it in no way interfered with our good time. The help was very friendly. The location is perfect a it is set back off the road and quiet, but close enough to walk into town. There are 2 restaurants on the property. Both were very good.
I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a place to stay in Sedona.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan5552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our Los Abrigados Resort & Spa. We are extremely excited and pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our Sedona Spa offerings, incredible views and spacious open floor plans are some of the reasons why our guests have chosen to stay here year after year. We’re glad you enjoyed them! Our staff will be delighted to hear that you thought that they were friendly, and accommodating. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we thank you for it! We look forward to being able to accommodate you and your friends again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Purchased a suite online; when I arrived they took the deposit from my account but told me the room wasn't ready and they would call me when it was ready. They never called. When we went to verify if everything was ready the front desk rep went to the back for about 40 minutes. She finally told me that they over book but they got me another room at Los Abrigados Resort And Spa. They told me the room was better, closer to downtown Sedona and had more amenities. When we checked in at the other Hotel we found out that the room was a major down grade from a suite to a studio. It was the only room available so we had no choice but to except. The room reek of vomit! It was the only room available in Sedona so my wife and I had to tough it out. Travelocity refused to give me a refund along with the Resort company. Horrible experience; worst thing when we left the front desk at both Resorts they were still checking in people that just arrived. At checkout the Hotel tried to charge me again for the Studio room. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re sorry that there were aspects of your recent stay at Los Abrigados Resort & Spa that caused you dissatisfaction. We apologize that it was necessary to move you to a resort other than the one you had booked. As you’re aware, the resort was inadvertently overbooked during the period of your stay – we make every effort to minimize disruption caused to guests when situations of this nature arise, and we are truly sorry that it wasn’t possible to provide you with alternative accommodation in a more timely fashion. It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy the room. We hope you notified the front desk regarding the smell, as we are more than willing to move our guests to more suitable rooms when an issue arises, subject to availability on property.
Our team is dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay. We regret that you had a negative experience with the front desk and can assure you that we will forward your concerns to our management team. We genuinely regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion. The circumstances you describe are in no way reflective of the standards of service we strive to uphold, and we are very sorry for the impression of the resort that you have been given. We really hope that you’ll give the Los Abrigados Resort & Spa another try. We’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is another update for Los Abrigados. We are former ILX owners and have not upgraded to a Diamond membership. We've been going to this resort for over 7 years and have witnessed first hand the transition from a bankrupt resort to its current state as a Diamond Resort.

This resort is in transition, The rooms are have been upgraded in bits and pieces, The complete renovation of rooms has not started yet. We have been told each year now since Diamond ownership that NEXT year it will some units are going out for complete renovation.

Upon arrival I requested an old ILX upgraded room. We were put in building O. Which I was told was a nice building. We had 2 flat screen TV's, granite counter tops, new beds and living room furniture that was old , worn and that you could not even sit on. The rooms manager, Chris, was able to change our room to build U. Building U, T, Q, have the new Diamond couch, Flat screens, old ILX Kitchens, old carpet, old sinks and other old furniture. The piece meal of renovations makes no logical sense. The new couch was fine. I did not mind the old kitchen as the couch was more important.

The staff tries. We changed rooms and received a fruit basket for our troubles with sparkling cider. Nice touch.
It was my husband's birthday and he got another basket of fruit sent to our room.

There are 50 units apparently going out for complete renovation in January.
The pool area is new and looks nice. Though the bar menu is very limited. And there is NO Expresso machine anywhere on the resort. So, if you want a Latte- go to Secret Garden across the way.

The spa area is worn, thought the services are excellent. My spa robe was torn. Jonas, the spa manager tries very hard to please her guests. She also gave my husband a little goody bag for his birthday Very nice.. Apparently new robes are ordered.

Mark is excellent for a massage and Mary Ann or Lee for a facial.

Steaks and Sticks at the resort is fair. No breakfast. Nothing special.

No internet in the rooms- though in Building U we were able to get a slight signal.

This is not a 4 or 5 star resort. The Diamond soaps and lotions are cheap. No cotton balls, q-tips, or shower cap. No spa robes in the room, though they are in the spa. The rooms used to have nice soaps and lotions from the spa. They should bring those back.

The location is great- and we are hopeful that next year we will see some of the much needed upgrades.

Room Tip: Buildings U, T. Q, second floor. Make sure you ask for Diamond new couch, flat screen TV's. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mychel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for this detailed review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa! As you’re aware, we’re currently in the middle of an ongoing program of refurbishment – owing to the popularity of the resort, it unfortunately isn’t currently feasible for us to take apartments offline to fully refurbish them, so the apartments are undergoing partial refurbishment on a year-by-year basis.

We strive to provide excellent service to all our owners, members and guests, and we hope that our team here were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay.

We really hope that you’ll appreciate the changes we’re making when you next return here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An out of town friend and I stayed here overnight the second week of September. When we checked in it was pouring out, so we made use of the fantastic amenities of the resort. We used the indoor Jacuzzi and then booked wonderful massages.My friend then took a Pilates class . The room had a hugh living area with a kitchenette which included a stovetop, toaster oven, microwave, coffeepot, refrigerator AND glasses, dishes, utensils etc. We wanted for nothing. In addition, this only cost 99.00/night! Definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We’re delighted that you chose to stay at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, and that you had a great time here! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Los Abrigados is located near the center of everything in Sedona. It is an older resort, but very comfortable and has a nice workout facility on site. Located on the grounds of Telepaque, you can walk to many boutiques and restaurants. Good choice while staying in beautifu Sedona.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LACASAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £87 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa
Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing