We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We unfortunately own one of the time shares here at Los Abrigados, and since Diamond Resorts has taken over nothing has changed except for our yearly maintenance fees. We called to book a reservation about two months ago and of course they were full, unless we wanted to “PAY” for a room.
Well after much discussion we finally were able to get our reservation for a “DELUXE” room that would include a fireplace and hot tub. How nice, when we arrived in our room we found the fireplace, an insert in the wall with a light bulb that made it flicker – no heat on those cold November nights. The hot tub was outside on the porch dirty and in direct line on site from the main access driveway. Both never used. Our one “MAID” service they replaced the towels and bathroom amenities, didn’t wash out the tub witch never drained properly even after they “FIXED” it. They didn’t even sweep the floors. My wife even doubts that they even changed the sheets. When we arrived we were called by the concierge to make sure we came down to her desk for out discount coupons and free gift, I did and the nice young lady told me that to receive them we had to go either to a Time Share sales session. Thanks but no thanks. Sedona is absolutely wonderful but there are far nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JBMCLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. Reservations booked through your ownership are made available on a first come, first serve basis. Our management company reserves the right to offer their own inventory for rent to offset their maintenance fee costs. In contrast to your comments about nothing being changed here, we have made numerous strides in refurbishing both our accommodations and common areas here at the resort. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over management, we have replaced furniture and flooring, installed new Wi-Fi equipment, painted the exterior, repaired sidewalks and the main pool, and installed new blue ray DVD players in each unit. In addition, for 2014, our Homeowner’s Association (HOA) has approved a Refurbishment project, starting in 2014, in which we will be repairing the tennis courts, improving the lighting in the accommodations, and replacing amenities such as kitchen items. You can find out more by visiting the HOA website from Diamond Resort’s main website. For safety considerations and costs, our HOA made a decision to change the fireplaces for display purposes only. Our guests can still control the temperature via their unit’s thermostat. We are truly sorry that your midweek cleaning was not performed to your expectations. This will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We are truly confident that, should you choose to stay here again, you will be pleased with the progress that has been made with improving the quality of our accommodations and common areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Unfortunately this resort was a big disappointment. Not only was the room decor in desperate need of an makeover two of the staff were rude
to us. The bartender at resort ignored us for a while then when we finally asked if we should just sit anywhere he barely acknowledged us; we walked out without ordering.
We should have known this was going to be a bust when we checked in a the front desk person barely acknowledged us and quickly told us that the place was 30 years old so don't expect much including housekeeping. No housekeeping unless you are there for 4 days. I will not go back and will tell my friends and anyone else to skip it. Sedona has too many beautiful options so pass on this and try Amara resort instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aliyah1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations, nor our services, did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, mid-stay housekeeping services, which include changing towels, are only provided for those stays that are 5 days in length or longer. This information can be found directly on our management company’s, (Diamond Resorts) website. In addition, we try and relay this information about housekeeping services to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. We regret hearing that you may not have been made aware of this resort policy before your arrival, and we are truly sorry if this had a negative impact on your stay. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant improvement to our rooms and reception area. Nevertheless, we do realize that some of our rooms and grounds area need further refurbishment. A significant refurbishment project is currently ongoing to update all of our rooms and grounds; however, we cannot provide any specifics as to when this will be completed. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The resort is stunning, location is beyond compare and our room is gorgeous. Complete with ambiance fireplace, large outdoor jacuzzi tub, and beautifully appointed rooms.
We were greeted at the door with bottled water and a very pleasant staff. Shortly after getting situated there was a knock at the door and we were delivered a Devine offering of chocolate covered strawberries.
Thrilled beyond words with everything.

Room Tip: We were in room 169 a deluxe suite, at the back of the resort by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

We are very pleased to read your lovely review and we are thrilled to learn that we have met, if not exceeded, your expectations. We do hope that this is just one of your many future visits to our resort and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Pros: The location is great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants and nice views from various points in the grounds. The pools looked beautiful and well maintained and the gym is great. The on resort restaurant is very handy and the food and service was decent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One young woman at the front desk was great for pointing out local and hikes and was very helpful in general. Wifi was good. unit was dated but clean.
Our unit had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. the furniture was a little stiff and uncomfortable. our only real problem was no fault of the resorts but good to know if you are planning on going. we were four adults and were only staying for a short time. we were unable to get a two bedroom so we were all in a one bedroom with a pull out couch. the pull out couch was not comfortable at all. The only bathroom is in the one bedroom so in order to access it you have to walk through the bedroom. Not a problem for one couple or a couple with children but definitely not convenient for two couples.
location is about 2 hours from the Grand Canyon with a very pretty drive on 89A to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review, as you may know we are undergoing a refurbishment program and hopefully issues mentioned will not be an issue for much longer. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay and hope to see you coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I just spent six nights at Los Abrigados Resort in Sedona, Arizona. We had a wonderful time. Their location is second to none for walking to restaurants and shops. The staff is extremely helpful with any request that you have. They have a beautiful area on the property down by the creek where you can take a book or a picnic lunch. It was very entertaining to watch the ducks swim and play around there. We played miniature golf on their 18-hole course on the property, which is free for their guests. They also have on property horseshoes, bocce ball and a huge chess game. I did not make use of their spa but did enjoy their pool and hot tub. They also have a restaurant there on the property.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view of the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 688SusanG688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our forth trip to Sedona, Az but our first stay at Los Abrigados, we reserved a 1 bedroom for a weeks stay months in advance but upon arrival were told due to some maintenance on the room it would be 2-3 hour wait but they did allow us to store our perishables in the fridge & freezer since we had stopped at the grocery store on our way thru town, a gentleman was painting some apparent wall repairs and told us he would be 10-min tops seemed to be some communication issues... When we returned after leaving for a few hours there was NO parking spots even remotely close to our building being handicapped this was an issue! after talking to a maintenance man he gave us permission to park in a "no parking" area close to our building but every night if you stayed out past dark you had to cross your fingers and circle.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner building/room the bar b que, ice machines and self service laundry are dotted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromnwmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We traded a 3-bed Marriott for 1-bed at this resort simply because we wanted to stay in Sedona and In terval classed this resort as a 'Premier Resort'. Upon arrival we were TOLD that there would be a $15 per day charge for facilities and that we would have been informed by Interval on our accomodation document. There wasn't any advice of this - only a mention that some resorts might charge.

To say the accomodation is in need of a face-lift is the understatement of the year. The Carpets were dirty, well trodden, stained, the kitchen area a joke. Why they provide table & chairs I don't know because you can't cook anything - unless you warm something up in microwave. The Sofa was a sofa bed - so upright and uncomrtable. The balcony had concrete floor, and massive concrete pillars as balustrade. The balconny chairs were metal bistro type - not suitable for lounging and relaxing. We had just come from a Marriott and weren't expewcting the same quality but we were expecting at least 4-star accomodation as that is what we led to believe by Interval. No Wi-Fi, only in reception area and that was slow. Very disapointing - will never go back

Room Tip: Choose another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your review, we are very sorry to read that you found our resort lacking in some areas. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret the displeasure you had on your recent stay and that we did not meet your expectations. The resort fee we charge is posted on our website and includes access to our Spa and Fitness Center, mini golf and tennis court, DVD’s exchange and Wi-Fi in our lobby that many guests have found useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
As you may not be aware, I’d like to add that a significant interior and exterior refurbishment project is underway at the resort which will include upgrading furnishings and flooring in units. We regret to know, however that this appears to have marred your stay. We hope that we will have another opportunity to host you and impress you with our refurbished premises in the future. Until then we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.3 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#29 of 48 in Sedona
592 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Ln, Sedona, AZ 86336-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £83 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa
Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing