We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for $120/night”
Review of Poco Diablo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Poco Diablo Resort
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2009

For our last-minute trip to Arizona, we found this hotel via TripAdvisor. It had a great rate for the area and since we were booking for same day, we took it. The hotel property is one of the older ones in the area but is well-maintained. Our room was pretty dark (our entrance and only window were under a sheltered passageway) and the SleepNumber bed was a bit of disappointment. However, we had lots of room and free internet access. For a base to explore Sedona, it's one of the less-expensive options and if you don't care about a view or romantic location, then a good value!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2009

We only stayed one night. The place was ok. Not worth the 100+ we paid. Staff was very friendly though. We arrived late – 9PM. They served us food in spite of our late cravings- we ate about 10. They went out of their way to serve us. Hostess was nice, but the food, oh gosh, it was really bad and very expensive. Oh well. Location – not so cantered in Sedona city. Has internet access with a 5.00 surcharge. Had nice patio with view of red rock and gaolf course. Signal was good and reliable. I think 90.00 per night would be the MOST it is worth. Other than that it is just a motel isn’t it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorrisTrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I was married in Sedona this weekend and my friends and family stayed here. I was very impressed with the event coordinator Marian Leanord. She was kind and helpful in every way. The Hotel is beautiful and I was very happy with the room and the view. The Hotel staff was even kind enough to deliver gift bags to all of our guests rooms at no additional charge. We had some trouble with the hotel because our wedding crowd was fairly loud and rowdy, made a big mess to clean up, & disturbed several of the guests not affiliated with the wedding. They were charged additional amounts upon check out for cleaning due to the poor condition the rooms were left in. Instead of taking responsibility for their own behavior they chose to go on this site and write negative reviews out of frustration for being charged additional cleaning fees. The hotel did nothing wrong except have to police and parent a drunk wedding crowd that acted immaturely. As far as my friend's review regarding his meal at happy hour I have no argument with. He had a poor experience and it should be recognized. Thanks for reading, The Groom

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammertime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGM, General Manager at Poco Diablo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2009

I have been in hotel management, more years than I sometimes care to admit, and have always migrated towards the Internet, both for marketing and, especially, for feedback. In all that time, I do not remember any guest being as stand up a gentleman as this guest. We at Poco Diablo Resort certainly admit that we might not have handled everything as perfectly as we would have wished, who could have under the circumstances, but, we truly want the bride and groom, and all of their guests, to know we tried to do what we felt was right for the safety and comfort of all of our guests. I would like to thank this guest for myself, and for all of those Hoteliers out there who have had to handle similar challenges, and tell him how much a statement like he just made is appreciated by all of us - you do my heart good! Sir, you certainly have earned my respect and admiration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

First let me say this location shouldn't be called a "resort" because it's a motel wrapped up in a fancy package with a pitch and putt golf course and tennis courts attached. The room was dark, most of the lights did not work, and my friends were scattered around the resort instead of grouped together like we requested.

Secondly the hotel staff (specifically Asst. Manager Ramon Jones) treated us with a completely unprofessional demeanor and attitude, we have filed a formal complain with the hotel and will NEVER be visiting this "resort" again. There are so many better options in Sedona, so be sure to not go to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank az_rainking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGM, General Manager at Poco Diablo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2009

I am saddened to have to reply to this guest (you should read the groom's TripAdvisor posting above ). In the course of a year our property hosts about 40 weddings and in all the years we have been doing that we had never experienced a group quite like this one. I do not think it would be professional for me to go into great detail about what we were continually challenged with while these guests were staying with us - but suffice it to say, the police were called twice, we were compelled to refund full weekend charges to several guests and one family, that was to stay with us for two more days, checked out because they feared for the safety of their children. To then say that our management did not treat them properly is, frankly, just not fair. How does one treat guests that will not respond to our multiple requests, over two days, to keep it down, guests that are totally out of line, belligerent and frightening other guests? I am proud of our management team for their restraint and professionalism in light of such an incredibly difficult situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I could not believe how my wife and I were treated at this hotel. We went to the bar because a sign at the pool said there was happy hour. When we got our food, I had to return 2 of the dishes. When we got the bill, there was no discount and we were told there was no longer a happy hour. I told them they should honor it because there is a sign advertising happy hour. The restaurant manager got in my face and threw 10 dollars out of his wallet and told me to scram. I told the assistant GM and he did nothing about the situation. Now that I am home, I looked at my bank statement and the restaurant over charged me $40!!!

The second night we were there, we got back from a wedding. We had 3 other guests in our room and we were saying goodnight. The GM knocked on our door and told us to keep it down. That we received a noise complaint from our neighbor (who were friends of ours) We were not even loud. We were tired and saying goodnight.

Overall this hotel needs a staff make over. I don't think this hotel knows that the staff really makes or breaks an experience for a guest. I know that my wife and I were not the only ones who complained about this horrible staff. Everyone from the woman who checked us in to the managers treated us horribly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGM, General Manager at Poco Diablo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2009

I am saddened to have to reply to this guest, but this review is just not an accurate, or fair, representation of our property or what transpired. In the course of a year our property hosts about 40 weddings and in all the years we have been doing that we had never experienced a group quite like this one. I do not think it would be professional for me to go into great detail about what we were continually challenged with while these guests were staying with us - but suffice it to say, the police were called twice, we were compelled to refund full weekend charges to several guests and one family, that was to stay with us for two more days, checked out because they feared for the safety of their children. To then say that our management did not treat them properly is, frankly, outrageous. How does one treat guests that will not respond to our multiple requests, over two days, to keep it down, guests that are totally out of line, belligerent and frightening other guests? I, and many of our other guests that I spoke with, applaud our management team for their restraint and professionalism in light of such an incredibly difficult situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

When we checked in we were upgraded to a villa because AAA had booked us 2 queens instead of the kind I requested. The room was excellent; lots of space, couch, chair, flat screen, patio, nice shower, comfortable bed. Very, very clean & quiet! The staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk clerk to the janitor who helped us with ice when the ice machine was empty. The pool/spa was great; open late and not crowded with kids. The onsite restaurant had excellent food and the manager was very friendly and made sure we had everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdragovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We spent 2 nights initially in a standard room and then liked the hotel so much we upgraded to a Poco room for the another two nights. The hotel rooms are extremely large and the facilities,pool, golf course, gounds etc are really well looked after, however the best part is the staff. I have never come across a more genuinely friendly, aim to please group of staff who gave me a really good deal for the upgrade. It is a credit to you all. We, as a rule don't stay in hotels preferring the more friendly and personal atmosphere of b&b's but wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to all comers if you are looking for a good value hotel in a beautiful and relaxng setting. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 49 in Sedona
1,288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Diablo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Diablo Resort

Address: 1752 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sedona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#6 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#17 Family Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £128 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poco Diablo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Sedona's lush landscaping and Red Rock views, Poco Diablo Resort offers affordable hotel accommodations and onsite resort amenities including an outdoor heated swimming pool(pool hrs 6AM-10PM), 4 professional USTA approved lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole family friendly golf course and fully equipped fitness center. The SPA at Poco Diablo brings a whole new meaning to relaxation, rejuvenation and wellness using sustainable products that originate from the land and the people of Arizona. Guests will also enjoy guest rooms featuring premium BeautyRest Beds, Free Wi-Fi, T. Carl's onsite restaurant and our 10th Hole Lounge with stunning views of our golf course, Massage Services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Poco Diablo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poco Diablo Hotel Sedona
Radisson Poco Diablo Hotel
Radisson Poco Diablo Resort
Radisson Sedona
Sedona Radisson
Poco Diablo Resort Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing