We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All we can say is we had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poco Diablo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poco Diablo Resort
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All we can say is we had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

OK, some may find problems with the slightest things but we arrived with an open mind.

After being in San Francisco for 4 nights we looked forward to Sedona with some good weather and great veiws and were not disappointed. The drive up to the Radisson is fantastic though there is a lot of road development work going on in Oak Creek which apparently will last until 2009.

On arriving we found we were upgraded to a suite (room 635) which we were allowed to check out before agreeing. Needless to say we accepted.

Room was great with 6' sleepmaster bed, big double bed settee for our son and nice furnishings. Fair enough, some staff are inexperienced and there were a few dropped plates and mistakes when we were there but cut them some slack, if it's your vacation, why let the odd thing get you down. We found the staff great and friendly, willing to do their best and special mention must go to Jan who works on the bar. If you're reading this Jack is still wearing the Diamondbacks hat you gave him and we loved chatting with you in the evenings. We were even give transport free of charge to local restaurants.

Pools were fine and if getting drinks from the vendors, these are only $1 ($2.50 in the waterpark in Tempe!!).

We ate 2-3 times in the hotel during our 6 night stay and enjoyed the meals though there was a few bugs when dining outside. Then again what would you expect!!! It's all part of the experience and can provide some great comedy moments.

Overall a great stay before our trip to Scottsdale and we will be going back to the Radisson. Anyone else going, make a request for room 635 and you will not be disappointed.

We will add some photos soon.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank judyteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    346
    122
    55
    36
See reviews for
249
473
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Arrived late evening so used hotel restaurant. The most disappointing meal of our 3 week stay in the States. Room no problems, well furnished etc., Hotel lacked character with staff unwelcoming. Pool was ok and fitness suite well equipped. Sedona was wonderful. Would try somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — BED
  • Disliked — LOBBY AND ATMOSPHERE
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sam2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

The hotel staff is very inexperienced and know NOTHING about customer service. It's totally obvious that for most all of them it's most likely their first hotel job! The furniture is nice as are the beds BUT I stayed for 3 days (Fri,Sat & Sun) and was given a different room each day because of problems such as: 2 leaking A/C units that soaked the carpet and had molded / mildew (A/C wall units were atleast 10+ years old), defective electrical switches and plug outlets and plumbing. Trash in waste baskets from previous guests. Carpet and bathrooms poorly cleaned. Restaurant service very slow and servers inexperienced as well.
Server messed up my bill (overcharge) and didn't know how to correct it. I waited 15 minutes for her to get help from a supervisor. As a Pilot, I travel the world and have stayed in hundreds of Radissons among many other "fine hotels" over the past 20+ yrs and this one is "off" the list and will not receive any positive reccommendations from me. By reading the reviews, it seems you have a 50/50 chance of satisfaction. My recommendation is that you take a little extra time researching the other hotels in Sedona because there are quite a few that are nicer and even less expense. Avoid this one!
Sedona is spectacular. You will love it!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the hotel and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank usskyking2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

We just returned from a three night stay at Poco Diablo and after reading several reviews, feared the worst. We paid $199 per night for the oversized king room with fireplace and jetted tub (Room 625). The view, with private porch, looking onto the golf course with red rocks in the distance was nice! We had the sliding glass closet door fall off the track right away and had several small ants in the kitchen - bathroom area. The property is a little run down, but Radisson seems to be addressing the issues. Our room had new carpet and was decent, but not spotless. Many of the fountains had so much algea they were clogged and some of the flower beds had weeds taller than the flowers... All that said - we still had a great time. The area is secluded and out of town, which is nice. The folks working at the hotel were friendly and gracious. The golf course was a welcome stretch of green for this midwest boy in Arizona. The ducks on the grounds were a delight and were friendly without being pushy, in their quest for handouts! Poco D. could use two or three full-time folks who do nothing but improvements on the grounds - be it spot painting in the rooms, weeding or other general improvements. I wonder if Radisson recently bought this property and is trying to generate revenue during renovations? We walked around Los Abrigados and it was very nice but heard from a couple the rooms were only average. For the price, seclusion, privacy, views, and value - the Poco Diablo was a solid hit. With some more attention to details, Poco D. could be a solid three-four star property.

We took the Pink Jeep Tour to Broken Arrow and it was worth it ($75 @). Don't miss this one: Eat at The Barking Frog. It was some of the best food I have ever had. I ordered the Carne Asada and my wife had the Vegetable Quesadia and both were superb. Total bill with booze, appetizer, salad, entrees and desert was $67 - Wow. We ate at Picazzo's and the salads and pizza were outstanding, but a bit pricey, and we ate at the Cowboy Club, which was OK, but nothing special. We had brunch at Enchantment and it was fabulous. Unbelieveable selections (chilled jumbo shrimp, crab legs, lamb chops, breakfast fare, mussels, salads, desserts almost too pretty to eat, unlimited champagne, juice and coffee, to name a few - all for $40 each person). The views are the best in Sedona and it was a great way to see a place they will turn you away from at the gate without reservations.

Hope this helps and sorry for the spelling...!

  • Liked — The views and seclusion
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of the rooms and groundskeeping
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KCJamesBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

We stayed here three nights in late June. Our room was unexpectedly beautiful - it was huge with a very comfortable king sleep number bed, contemporary new furnishings, large jacuzzi bathroom, terry bathrobes, wireless, a private balcony and view of the small golf course and red rocks... it had a big wow factor.
The location is nicely away from the traffic of Sedona but close enough to get to downtown quickly.
The staff was wonderfully helpful - from a quick check-in to the great bartender who introduced us to an excellent sipping tequila, to the concierge who always had a smile for the guests. We could not have felt more invited by the friendly and helpful staff.
Sure, there was some remodeling going on but we never heard it nor were inconvenienced by it and we never saw a bug on the property.
We would definitely stay here again. Good location, excellent price for the Sedona area, super friendly staff, and updated rooms are all good reasons to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

My wife and I have had a hard time coming up with an overall feeling of this hotel. In the end, I think we settled on the notion that this hotel is a middle-of-the-road motel that is masquerading as a resort.

The location is nice, just outside of all that is Sedona. We were just a few minutes drive to all the restaurants, shopping and outdoor activities.

The "resort" is currently undergoing some renovations which I took as a sign that the management is working to improve the hotel. New sidewalks are going in.

The lobby is nice with a small business center and a very helpful and friendly staff. There is a concierge willing to help you make plans.

The set-up is more like a motel with all rooms opening to the outside. The rooms do lack some lighting but are overall well-furnished. I thought the room was rather large for a standard room. Refrigerator, bath robes and free wireless internet were nice. The beds are "Sleep Number" which are nice if you know what your number is (unfortunately, we did not and never figured it out).

There is a $5 resort fee if you want to take advantage of the tennis courts and other offerings. The tennis courts and massage rooms are across the street from the hotel and I did not venture over there. The bathrooms are a nice size with a good shower. There is a restaurant on the grounds but we heeded the advice of previous reviewers and went elsewhere.

I do agree with the other reviewers that there is a COCKROACH problem. Thankfully we only saw one as it crawled across our bathroom floor. Hopefully management will get an exterminator soon!

The grounds are nice but outdated. I would recommend a golf course view room. At night there is an illuminated gazebo as well as an illuminated fountain in the pond on the golf course. The pool was average and we did not go in the fitness room since there was some construction taking place. The hot tub was a joke (ice cold water) and was closed after our first day there.

Overall, minus the bug, I was pleased with our stay due to the location, pleasant view and mostly because I booked the hotel at a discount rate (summer, mid-week). I would recommend this hotel but not at the full rate.

  • Liked — Proximity to Sedona attractions
  • Disliked — Cockroach in our bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

This was an adequate place. Maybe if they didn't put "resort" in the name, it wouldn't disappoint. It's nicer than a 2-star hotel, but there are things that prevent it from being really deluxe---- the architecture for example is that of a typical 2-star hotel. Two levels, long corridor facing the parking lot. You pull into the spot near your door and lug the suitcases in. Lobby is like a day's inn lobby. When we were there, a number of bus tours unloaded right outside our room...buses idling, etc. Yuck.

It's nicer than a Day's Inn or Econolodge though...like they're trying. There's a little golf course in the middle and two pools, tennis courts, etc.

They're facing a tricky proposition: people who want a real resort won't like this place because of the two-star feel of the buildings and people who are content with a two-star hotel won't want to pay resort prices for add-ons like select-comfort beds and tennis courts.

On the positive side, it's very convenient to the "Y" (intersection) of downtown Sedona and to Red Rock park and all the views.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Overpriced for what it was
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoCoSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.6 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Diablo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Diablo Resort

Property: Poco Diablo Resort
Address: 1752 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sedona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#6 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#17 Family Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poco Diablo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Sedona's lush landscaping and Red Rock views, Poco Diablo Resort offers affordable hotel accommodations and onsite resort amenities including an outdoor heated swimming pool(pool hrs 6AM-10PM), 4 professional USTA approved lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole family friendly golf course and fully equipped fitness center. The SPA at Poco Diablo brings a whole new meaning to relaxation, rejuvenation and wellness using sustainable products that originate from the land and the people of Arizona. Guests will also enjoy guest rooms featuring premium BeautyRest Beds, Free Wi-Fi, T. Carl's onsite restaurant and our 10th Hole Lounge with stunning views of our golf course, Massage Services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Poco Diablo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poco Diablo Hotel Sedona
Radisson Poco Diablo Hotel
Radisson Poco Diablo Resort
Radisson Sedona
Sedona Radisson
Poco Diablo Resort Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing