We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sedona
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed for two lovely days in Sedona in late February 2011. We'd gone back and forth on whether to stay at a B&B instead of a hotel, but in the end, decided we'd prefer the ease and privacy of a hotel.

The things that are most important to us in a hotel are (1) comfortable beds, (2) temperature that we can control, and (3) quiet. We are less concerned with or impressed by fancy lobbies, conference facilities, etc. We'll pay a little extra to face away from a highway or busy road to get that "quiet" that we value. "Views," on the other hand, are one of those things that we like to have if we can, but won't pay a ton of extra for, because we're not generally sitting around in our hotel room staring out the window. :-) We have gradually accumulated a list of hotels that we can generally depend upon to provide the three things we care most about, and Hampton is on that list.

With this in mind, the Sedona Hampton did not disappoint. The beds were comfortable for us, and the forced-air room heater actually had a THERMOSTAT (oh, joy!). We arrived at the hotel an hour before official check-in, and the very friendly receptionist was able to send us right to our room (thank you!). This made it possible for us to get settled and get our stuff out of the car in time to take a Pink Jeep Tour in the afternoon, and we were very grateful.

Breakfast was pretty standard for a Hampton. My husband loves the make-your-own-waffles. The omelettes were just okay. On the weekend, a Navajo flute player performed live music in the lobby while we ate, and it was really beautiful. (He brought his own flutes, which he had made himself out of Sedona bamboo.)

There were no terrific views of rocks from our room (though we enjoyed watching the snow pelting down all night in the parking lot and on the trees!), but as I said, we weren't there during the day, and it was dark at night, so this was no problem for us. Sedona is so beautiful, and we did so many glorious hikes and scenic drives during the day, that we didn't feel deprived in any way. Also, the hotel isn't located on the main shopping drag in Sedona, but is an extremely easy and short drive to all of these locations. I suspect this makes the hotel quieter. Proximity is excellent to a Safeway and to a number of marvelous restaurants ... Dahl & Diluca and The Barking Frog were two of our favorites.

The one real complaint I had was about the television (in room 216). It wasn't a flat-screen, which is fine ... but even for an older TV (I have several at home), the resolution and contrast were just terrible. Dark scenes were inpenetrable. I suspect this particular TV has neared the end of its service life and should just be replaced. By the time I noticed this (evening of our first day), we'd kind of spread out over the room and didn't really want to move, so I didn't bother to call the front desk about it ... otherwise, our room was perfect.

All in all, the Hampton was a great choice for us. Comfortable, convenient, and climate-controlled (by us!). A very nice hotel in a very beautiful little town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! Glad you enjoyed Jesse, the flute player. And we're glad you appreciated our location - we think it's just about perfect also. And I'm so glad you were among those who enjoyed one of our very rare heavy snowfalls - that morning, before it melted in the sunshine, was spectacularly beautiful, wasn't it! It sounds like you packed a lot of Sedona highlights into your stay - I wonder if it was the Sedona International Film Festival that inspired your visit at that time. We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again - there's always something wonderful going on here, and the Film Festival will be at the end of February again next year, of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    289
    152
    64
    24
See reviews for
285
360
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Old motel, small outdated rooms...old CRT TV...noisy heater...
Would be acceptable if price were $50, not the $191.52 we paid for one night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanya1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Often visitors to our resort area expect hotel rates to be comparable to those at the same branded hotels in urban or highway areas and are surprised to find this is not so. I dare say there is not a $50.00 per night hotel within 90 miles of Sedona at any time of the year. We are currently in the process of replacing our TVs with the larger flat-screen models we have all come to expect; I'm sorry the heater in your room was noisy - if you told us it was bothersome, I hope we sent someone to repair or replace it or offered to move you to a different room. This is an unusual complaint for us and we would certainly like to have taken care of it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

For our anniversary trip, we decided to return to the Hampton Inn of Sedona as our expectations were exceeded the first time we stayed there 5 years ago. Nothing has changed as the customer service is still outstanding. We were warmly welcomed back and given a large, well appointed room. Awaiting for us on the night stand was a basket of fruit and chocolates with a hand written card from the General Manager, Deborah Ford, wishing us a happy anniversary. This attention to detail clearly indicates that this Hampton cares very much about individually making a customer's stay enjoyable - which can be a rarity even at the best of hotels. I really give the staff here a lot of credit for their level of professionalism and attention to detail.

The room was nice with a refrigerator and microwave. It was very, very clean and odor free, which is important to us (and actually, the whole hotel is extremely clean). The location is great as well - it's close to downtown yet far enough away to experience some great Sedona offerings (i.e., restaurants, shops, hiking trails, scenery, etc.). Also noteworthy: parking and internet are free and there was live flutist during breakfast to add to the relaxed Sedona experience. Very nice.

We will continue to recommend the Hampton Inn of Sedona as a great place to stay. It's a great value and they really do take care of their customers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeingWhatsNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Sedona in January of 2011 for 1 night. The room was average, bedding was comfortable and clean; however, the TV and microwave were very outdated. The breakfast was tasty, and there was a gentleman playing flute in the lobby, creating a nice ambiance. At checkout the front desk staff was extremely rude, and gave me dirty looks when I stated that the rate they were trying to charge me was a $50 difference than what I was quoted over the phone. They did honor the rate I had been quoted, but seemed very cold through the whole ordeal, I even thanked them but received no acknowledgement.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 928CDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our flute player and breakfast. And I'm glad we were able finally to get the rate fixed for you. I certainly apologize for the whatever sense you left with that the desk agent was disagreeable about changing to what was quoted. We usually get messages, via guest surveys, comment cards, or letters written to me about how fabulous our front desk team is - I'm sure any other attitude you perceived was entirely unintentional, and we will be using your comments as a coaching opportunity at the next team meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Our stay at Hampton Inn in Sedona was fabulous. Life on the road can get tedious and we were so happy to get to a Hampton Inn as we have decided they are the motels for us. Gabby and Chris were especially friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean (essential for us), breakfast was delicious, wait staff was very accomodating, the music in the lobby was very enjoyable, I could go on and on. Thank you to everyone at this motel. We will definitiely recommend this great location and wonderful accomodation to our friends. Terry and Ron Erlandsen

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryerlandsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us! I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We all really enjoy being in Sedona and love the opportunities to share our knowledge of the area and dining and tour suggestions with interested guests. That's all fun for us - nice to know that it shows! We hope to see you here again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The building itself is not something you are used to! When you visit sedona youll see that the buildings are made to look like rock. So i thought it was a nice touch. This one has a really nice lobby and friendly staff. It also has a really good location. Visiting the area I was given a map and found everything I was looking for from food to scenic areas for photos. Also if you are interested in taking a pink jeep tour, they pick you up and drop you off from this hotel.

All in all I can't say I can complain about this hotel. It's nothing fancy (as most Hamptons aren't) but it's one of the better ones I've stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toastymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at our Hampton Inn! No, we're not fancy, but, as you discovered, we are friendly and clean and definitely, consistently Hampton. Many of our guests are loyal Hampton fans, and we are very pleased to offer the quality and comfort you are expecting when you choose us for your lodging needs while in Sedona. And we are very glad to have met that expectation for you! We hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you're in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They came across as they REALLY wanted you to be satisfied at their hotel. Very welcoming. Our room was very nice & clean. Good location to Sedona and surrounding areas. Also close to many restaurants. Added bonus was the flutest playing in the dining room during breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_Inn_Sedona, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sedona, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you! I couldn't agree with you more! We certainly do have the best staff! And what more need we say about Jesse, starting our days, or ending our evenings, with his very beautiful native flute music. We are so pleased to have him with us - I'm glad you were here when he was playing, and I appreciate the feedback. Many of our guests are here for relaxation and leisure activities rather than business - we expected those guests might appreciate a little diversion from the usual morning news to start their days in Sedona ( and of course, the daily paper is always available). Good to hear that we were correct in your case - we sincerely hope you will join us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.5 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
809 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sedona

Property: Hampton Inn Sedona
Address: 1800 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sedona
#25 Family Hotel in Sedona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sedona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodations and amenities; southwestern decor and ambience.Outdoor enthusiasts will find nearby state parks, national rainforests, swimming areas, and exceptional fishing opportunities. Explore the Red Rocks of Sedona, reserve a Jeep tour, or experience an exciting biplane tour. Other adventures include trail riding, cowboy cookouts, hot air balloon rides, and natural water slides.Enjoy a delicious start to your day with our Sedona hotel’s free hot breakfast, or grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag on the go. Work out in our fitness center, cool off in our refreshing outdoor pool, or retire to a comfortable guest room – complete with a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi, and a signature clean and fresh Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sedona Hotel Sedona
Sedona Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing