We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was clean and the management staff was nice and worked hard to find us a warm room. We went to this hotel in December 2013, and the weather was cold (30's at night). Our first room the heat was off when we got there and the room was low 50's. We turned the heat on and went to dinner to let the room warm up. When we got back it was still cold. The night clerk tried 2 other rooms to find one the heat was actually working before moving us to the warmer room. In the morning, the manger was kind enough to hold our luggage before we moved to the resort we had booked for the next week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LSM1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I suggest not staying here. There are many other places in Sedona for the same price or even just a my more that will make your stay far more comfortable. The rooms are below average, continental breakfast below average, the bedding is the worst. If you want a place to crash quick. Maybe but the super 8 and la Quinta are less and probably better.

Stayed: January 2014
9  Thank WVtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wurldtraveler09, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

First let me apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Second, I believe that your review does not represent the facts of our hotel. We only have 2 rooms that are smaller with one queen bed and economical that you reserved.
All our other rooms are extremely spacious. We offer 6 types of rooms including Patios, Jacuzzis, Fireplaces and much more.
All furnishings in each room in the entire hotel are brand new and hotel completely renovated in 2013. Our Guests generally love the Custom made furniture, Starbucks coffee, Multiple USB plugs and our clean rooms.
All our beds in all rooms have brand new Beauty rest Mattresses installed 2013.
Our Breakfast has Fresh Bagel, Muffins, several cereals, Waffles, biscuits, several Juices, Fresh Fruit, coffee, tea, meat and Eggs daily.
In addition to Quality and spacious rooms, we are located at the Dry creek road,nearest to Red Rock Crossing, the most photographed redrock in US and near the hiking trails.
Prices in Sedona are in general are higher during the Christmas Holiday season. Also, Hotels located out side proper Sedona (such as Village of Oak creek area) are cheaper. Also older hotels are cheaper. We are a newer hotel and located in Sedona across from the Thunder Mountain.

We invite you to please come and stay with us in one of our premium rooms with Jacuzzi, Fireplace and Patio,which you can see at arroyohotel dot com.

Once again we deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel left a lot to be desired for me. Location is at least off the main congested area of Sedona proper (hotel is in West Sedona). All rooms open to outdoors like a motel. No elevators so luggage must be hauled up a few flights of stairs. Parking is nice & close, the whole place is very small.

The bathroom vanity (one sink, small counter) is literally just inside the door to the room, which felt quite bizarre. There was hard flooring just inside the door which of course got quite cold underfoot, particularly since the weatherstripping under our door was broken & flapping, leaving a 1/2" gap under the door to blow cold air over your feet while brushing your teeth. The rest of the room was just typical motel quality, though I was pleasantly surprised to see a refrigerator & microwave.

Beds were reasonably comfortable, but with one sheet, a thin blanket, and a coverlet (very similar in looks and heft to a tablecloth), we were pretty cold. When I called the front desk to request a couple of extra blankets for our beds, the front desk staff told me they were out. Out of blankets?! I have literally never heard such a thing even at a very basic hotel...it was pretty bizarre. Wasn't much to do except turn up the heat (which did work well). We needed the blaring noise from the heater to drown out the incredibly loud noise from next door - walls so thin I could hear every word, every beat of their music.

Breakfast the next AM was standard but perfectly edible. Made me feel marginally better about spending nearly $200 on such a crummy room.

Sedona is well known for their hiking trails, which we wanted to enjoy the morning we checked out. Upon questioning the front desk staff & explaining what area we wanted to stay in, he delivered a flat no, no trails in that area. We went to the Visitors Center & the very helpful woman there whipped out a map & showed us several beautiful trails about a mile from our hotel. I couldn't quite figure out how the hotel guy had no idea they existed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bluejay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Paper thin walls. Our in-room coversation had to compete with those in the room next to us. We were at the top of a stairwell and could feel and hear people coming up and down the stairs.

Hot tub jets were not working.

We were traveling with a friend from Switzerland and therefor booked two rooms, on-line, through Hotel chain.

Wanting to look out for our guest from Europe (who spoke little English) we were surprised and disappointed when we discovered the rack rate (the young girl who checked us in opened up her book to show current rate) was actually $10. Less than what we had booked and she allowed us an additional AAA discount to reduce his rate by $20. No biggie - just didn't want our well travelled fried taken advantage of. The front desk person seemed to be put out at us for this, and booked us into two separate building units within the property.

From here things got quite sideways;
1. Our friend was booked into a room that already had a guest in it. Both he and the other guest were quite startled by this event, which was further complicated by the language barrier. FORTUNATELY, the other room guest was not packing a gun (this is Arizona) and he was able to explain, with the assistance of the other non-language challenged guest, to get a room that was unoccupied.

2. Our room phone did not work. Asked about it and was bluntly told it wouldn't be fixed. None of us had cell phones with us.

3. Upon check-out the next morning we asked about a potential reduction for the faux pas at check-in. I was told the room rate had been adjusted by $20. - but this was due to thenegotiated reductiin the night before. The very wise and young lady insisted I was wrong about this and I asked to talk to the manager. EVENTUALLY I did talk, on the phone, to the man in charge. It took SO LONG to get things settled that we simply left the CHAOS of this disorganized operation and none of us cared what this rip-off joint charged us.

Overall it was a VERY EMBARRASSING situation for us with a well healed international traveler; to have my integrity continually questioned by a desk clerk with an unbelieving smirk in her face, over what should of been graciously handled by staff that are trained to be in the HOSPITALITY BUSINESS....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

First, Allow me to deeply Apologize for your stay to be less than your expectations. Allow me to thank you for staying with us. And we certainly appreciate your comments.
We are all civilized people and happy to correct any errors, if so. There was no need for name calling to Nice Desk Clerk. And certainly no need for name calling "Rip-off Joint" in your review.
Then, please allow me to state all the facts rather than partial.

Just before checkout, You were thrilled and extremely happy after discussing the situation with the General Manager and resolving the little things. with rate and Points. Then you were really upset in minutes at checkout because you failed to provide the Choice Privilege (frequent flyer) Number, which we must have to process your points.
Even though, your request was unfair to receive any points for the second room (non-Choice privilege Guest), The manager was more than happy to extend it to you. However, we can not process the points without your Number, which you refused to provide and in front of many other guests, called a bad name to a pleasant Desk Clerk who has received nothing but best reviews always. I am ashamed to write that word here. We have never had that happen in the history of this hotel.
We checked the jets for Hot Tub and they worked fine. I am wondering if you checked them yourself or the non-english speaking guests did not see the sign to turn on the jets. As a routine, our pool and Hot Tub chemicals and equipment are checked daily so guests do not have any inconvenience. No mention to staff by you.
Our staff is friendly and accommodating at all times.
Airline prices fluctuate tremendously with time for the same seat. So, do the room rates depending upon the time of booking and Occupancy at the hotels. $10 or $20 fluctuation is very common. I am glad you agree that our staff was kind enough to go ahead and give the undeserved lower rate. Your friend was by no means taken advantage of. Booked on line and got even better rate.

I further like to apologize that the walls suddenly became thin, which you did not mention a word of it to the hotel staff. In the connecting rooms, with the connecting door between, 2 rooms there always is some sound travel.

With busy Christmas Holiday season and no request of 2 rooms to be together (2 separate reservations booked by 2 different people at different times), the staff provided you the closest 2 rooms possible. Our building length is just 7 rooms, not very long by the way. we are a boutique small hotel.

In regards to Faux Pass, our computer system is provided and supported by Choice Hotels. They were informed immediately of the glitch in the system. You were issued credit. The incorrect key you received was occupied by staff member (not another Guest).
As far as your phone, we were unable to get our phone vendor to come during the holiday season and you refused to move to another room.
My staff should have kept their cool regardless of your behavior. If you say they did not, I am apologizing to you once again.
The General Manager adjusted your rate and agreed to provide the Choice Privilege points too as you requested, but you failed to provide the Choice privilege Number (like frequent flyer number), without which we can not process it. So, please call us and provide us so we can credit it to your account correctly.

Whenever I have travelled overseas, I have appreciated the interpretation of language. Thanks for helping your friends (our other guests) with English.

Our Guests are generally thrilled as you see in all other reviews. It seems Murphy's law applied here. We can not even reach you on the provided phone number by you. We invite you to come and stay with us again and give us an opportunity to meet or exceed your expectations. Feel free to call us should you have any questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The facility was located in nice rustic part of Sedona. The personnel, Sarabeth was gracious and so helpful. Every question was answered to our satisfaction. The continental breakfast was pleasing and filling. I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are excellent in building A. Bottom rooms have nice patio and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

I can't thank you enough for your comments.
I greatly appreciate it. The staff was thrilled and wanted me to pass a Big Thank you Back to you.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and at a reasonable price. We stayed for one night after enjoying a great day of hiking and Christmas events in Sedona. It is close to west Sedona trails with good parking and breakfast. This will be my go to hotel for overnight stays in Sedona. AAA rates too.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank azhiker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your comments.
We look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I booked this room through a Groupon deal. The staff was friendly. The room was nice and clean. The continental breakfast was good as well. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers. At the time we were there the roses were still blooming below our room. Only negative thing was the view from the back was a construction site.

Room Tip: We were upstairs on right corner. Didn't hear much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us, We are glad you enjoyed your stay,
Thank you for your kind remarks about our friendly staff, clean rooms and nice breakfast.

Unfortunately, we were unable to get the 5 bubble review from you so, I would like to explain 2 things:
1. We have 4 separate Buildings. Behind one of the Buildings on the neighbors land there is some red rocks stored. It is not a construction site. Occasionally they pick up some rocks from there. Its only visible from 4 upper rooms and only if you look down to it. If you look straight ahead, a mile away there is hill with Red rocks and trees and on top of it is the Sedona Private small airport. Occasionally, you get lucky, watching the small planes take off and Land. Some people love that. These rooms are farthest away from the main Road too. And people love being it quieter too. I believe you were just disturbed seeing the rock piled there merely appearing like a construction site.We can not do anything on the neighbors land and last time we saw any activity there was more than a year ago.
2. Our Friendly staff is available 24 hours a day. We could have easily moved you to any of our other buildings. Just let us know next time, we can even help you with your bags to relocate you if you have already moved in or change your room immediately upon arrival.

Like yourself, Most people are delighted to stay with us as we go above and beyond our call of Duty.
Most Guests like staying farther away from the road to be quieter. People come to Sedona to see the Red Rocks so having red rocks stored on the neighbors lot does not bother people.

We ask that you forgive us for red rocks stored on our neighbors lot for which we don't have any control and we invite you to come and stay with us again. We will take great care of you and hopefully, you then be able to give us the full 5 bubble review.
Again,Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#27 of 49 in Sedona
851 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.8 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £87 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing