We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Bonita - CLOSED

Plaza Bonita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We asked locals where to go for the best Mexican food and the response was always Plaza Bonita. And the advice was spot on. Excellent authentic food, large portions which we had the next day and it was just as good. Very unique and authentic Margueritas. The restaurant may be in a plaza but inside you feel like you are in an authentic Mexican establishment. Service was excellent although we were there during late afternoon hours.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    76
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No view...just excellent Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This gem of a Mexican restaurant sits in a shopping plaza off the main highway in Sedona. It serves up high quality Mexican cuisine that is far better than several restaurants that specialize in great red rock views. I ordered the pork carnitas and was presented with a plate overflowing with delicious pork and a salsa verde with just the right bite. I was very pleased (I had ordered the same dish at another locale and wound up with something like chile verde...not the same). My companion ordered a burrito with chorizo, which was also excellent. We finished the meal with an order of churros...freshly made. Top notch. When the bill came it was at least 20% less than places with "the view". Here's a recommendation...visit locales with the view and have a margarita. Take in the red rocks. But when you are ready to eat Mexican...this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We enjoyed our meal. You can tell it was authentic Mexican food.
The servers were very friendly and attentive.
You get a lot to eat and drink for your money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting inside- large portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place has beautiful tables and chairs. The food was really good and the portions were larger than we could eat. As we were hiking we were not able to get a to-go box and keep it cool which was unfortunate because we really liked the food and could have made another meal out of the left overs. There was plenty of seating when we visited and the service was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdsJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went here after looking for a quiet place that was not hit by the yuppy bug. I wanted good food in a normal place without feeling like I was taking a wine tour. We were greeted by a very nice host and shown to a booth as soon as we walked in. Within a few minutes we received water, chips and salsa. The waiter arrived and took our drink orders, then came back for our food selections. He was very polite and genuine. Our food arrived very quickly, and was hot and smelled wonderful. I had the spinach enchiladas in sour cream sauce, and my husband had chili verde. They were both amazing. I am still craving the sauce on the enchiladas. They should market it! The waiter was attentive and provided great service. The entire restaurant was clean and unique. I would definitely recommend going if you are looking for a quieter more family friendly place that will not break the bank. They also actually offer enough food for the price to not make you feel like you were conned.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing