We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* B and B”
Review of Lazy Dog Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy Dog Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Sierra Vista B&B and Inns
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5* B and B”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had 3 wonderful nights here and could not recommend it more highly. Cathy and Michael really goes out of their way to make you feel at home. I had chosen-to stay here because of the cats, who were very pretty, but it was the 3 very friendly dogs that made our stay even more enjoyable. Saturday night around the fire pit with Irish coffees was very special too!
Michael recommended 'cafe Roca' in Bisbee, which was just perfect. If you are thinking of going to the lovely Sierra Vista area Lazy Dog Ranch is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Lazy Dog Ranch May 21,22 and 23rd and are we ever glad we did. Found this gem on Trip Advisor, as we were looking for a place to stay around the Tombstone area.
When I called to make our reservation Michael recommended the Casita which was perfect for us. Cathy and Michael made us feel exceptionally welcome but the highlight for me were the three beautiful dogs. I had been missing my Golden when I arrived and it was wonderful to have a “dog fix” mid vacation. They are beautifully mannered and I’m sure Cathy was biting her tongue as I would invite Zorra into our room. Apparently she isn’t allowed into the guest’s rooms but she was much too hard to resist.
I should also mention that our breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh warm baking every morning along with a great selection of other morning fare. It was the best breakfast we had in our our entire Arizona road trip.
Lastly I’d like to say the Irish coffee and conversation around the firepit on our last night were also a very nice treat.
Thank you Cathy and Michael for a lovely place to stay and give Zorra, Mack and Thor a big hug from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gldret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spectacular setting with the San Pedro River a step away and available for exploring. Birders will be rewarded at every turn and dogs are welcomed as family.My dog Bobby was right at home with the gentle resident dogs. Charming hosts and great hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere. Accommodations are spacious and comfortable. Fresh baked goodies each morning and the evening around the firepit was a cozy end to the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my overnight stay at the Lazy Dog Ranch. The casita was equipped with everything you could need. Ours had a small kitchen , two bedrooms, bath and laundry room. We enjoyed the resident dogs, horse, donkeys and goat as well as the many varieties of birds. There's a cup of Irish coffee around the fire pit at night and a delicious breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdargusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I picked this BnB from TripAdvisor, making this decision based on the reviews and the accommodation’s website. My husband and I made a reservation at Lazy Dog Ranch for 2 nights in late March. Within an hour after we arrived, we extended our stay for 2 nights because what more would we hope for in moving on to some other accommodation?

We stayed in the Casita which is a separate unit that is spacious and comfortably furnished. It has an outside sitting area for the casita in the front that is part of the larger patio and pool area. We greatly enjoyed visiting with the hosts and other guests every evening around the fire pit.

I thought Cathy did a perfect job on the fabulous breakfasts. She had a fresh baked thing every morning, along with yogurt, fruit salad, eggs, an extensive array of breads and cereals, fresh juice and plentiful coffee. (I’m sure I’m missing a few other food items.) The breakfast is served in a sunny and fascinating breakfast room decorated with things from all over the world.

Although the Lazy Dog is a bit away from the nearest town of Sierra Vista, it is an easy and quick drive into town. There are many things to do in the larger area to fill up the day with activities.

The Lazy Dog comes with 3 large and friendly dogs, as well as an assortment of other farm and ranch animals. The hosts, Cathy and Michael, could not be better suited to being BnB proprietors. It was such a pleasure to meet them and spend time talking.

If you are looking for a place to stay in this part of Arizona, you couldn’t find a more amenable place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

If you want a quiet retreat along side a southwestern river with fantastic birding- this is a place for you. They are very pet friendly and their dogs are friendly. The owners are great people. The bed in the casita was way too soft for us. Also, the breakfast was so-so: cereal, chopped fruit, instant oatmeal. You will have to drive into Sierra Vista to grab dinner- about a 15-20 minute drive but their are mostly chain restaurants.

Room Tip: The casita had a soft king bed along with a firmer single bed. don't know what the other room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy and Micha... M, Owner at Lazy Dog Ranch, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your perspective, however we were disappointed as well as surprised by your comments regarding breakfast. Perhaps you simply forgot that in addition to cereal and fruit, your breakfast included homemade banana bread, eggs from the neighbor's chickens, assorted bagels, muffins and toast, fresh squeezed orange juice and yogurt. Instant oatmeal was at your request. We regret that you felt let down by your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Lazy Dog Bed and Breakfast is truly an Arizona treasure and worth the visit. I planned a 2-day getaway to Southern Arizona for my husband’s birthday and when looking for lodging, I wanted to find a hotel or guesthouse that was pet friendly, and off the beaten path. (When possible, we like to travel with our 10-year-old greyhound, and 2-year-old lab-mix.) The Lazy Dog was the perfect, pet-friendly choice for our trip.

I booked the Casita room two-weeks before the date we were to arrive. Cathy was wonderful in helping explain the area and what to bring for the trip. Since it was my husband’s birthday, I noticed that there was a gift basket option available for purchase. Cathy asked what he enjoys, and created a wonderful gift with locally-grown/baked/brewed goodies for my husband to enjoy during our trip. She even had candles ready to place in the cupcakes. It was a nice surprise for him in addition to the trip.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Cathy and her gorgeous dogs, Thor, Zora and Mack. While her dogs became acquainted with our pups, Cathy showed us around the ranch and introduced us to her horse, 2 donkeys and pygmy goat (the horse and donkeys were really friendly.) The ranch sits along the bank of the San Pedro Riparian Conservation Area. It is beautiful and quaint, a perfect spot for nature-lovers. There is a hiking trail that runs along the river, and a chair swing attached to an old cottonwood tree. During our stay, we took our lab-mix on two long hikes and enjoyed watching her frolic through the vegetation and water. We even saw a few white tail deer and blue heron during the hike.

The Casita has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in--there is an additional twin bed, and two chairs that pull out into beds. It would easily sleep a family of 5. Just outside the casita sits a large hand-made fire pit and a pool that we definitely would have used if it had been summer or late spring. There was a fireplace in the room that kept everyone warm, and Cathy brought in a space heater that we were able to set up near the dog beds to keep the girls warm.

Not only is the ranch pet-friendly, but Cathy and Michael also offered to feed and let our dogs out while we were exploring Kartchner Caverns and Bisbee. Since our dogs got along well with their dogs, the horse, the donkeys and goat, we were at ease knowing our girls were in good hands and we would not have to rearrange our plans to come back and feed them. The next day, Cathy and Michael took our greyhound on a walk with their dogs while we hiked with our lab-mix. Our senior girl was happy to walk with dogs who were more her pace. Our dogs loved the Lazy Dog Ranch so much that they did not want to leave!

Lastly, the breakfasts were wonderful! From fresh-squeezed orange juice, to fresh-baked blueberry crisp, banana chocolate bread, and fresh egg tarts, Cathy’s hearty meals helped us start our days off on the right foot. They know the area well and had many suggestions about places we could explore. Many thanks to Cathy and Michael for making us and our girls feel so welcome at their home. We look forward to telling our friends and booking our next trip!

Room Tip: If you are planning a longer visit, or have older children, the Casa Room is a good choice since it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra Vista
9.2 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.9 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
9.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dog Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dog Ranch

Property: Lazy Dog Ranch
Address: 3123 N Thistle Rd, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-8628
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Dog Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lazy Dog Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing