We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homey little”
Review of Sun Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Canyon Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A homey little”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent three nights here while I was house hunting recently, and I loved every night. This is not a Marriott or anything fancy. The decor is aged southwestern style. I had room 216, and while it was small, it was cozy. I had everything I needed and I slept well. There was a large balcony/patio overlooking the pool, Ft. Huachuca, and the mountains beyond, which is a gorgeous view first thing in the morning.

This hotel is less than one minute to Ft. Huachuca, by the way.

The pool is heated and was very nice first thing in the morning. The breakfast is sufficient. Two of the three days, the bagels were hard. The exercise room is enough, but the equipment is only so-so. The employees are very, very friendly and personable. I felt safe here. I will definitely stay here with my family when we move out there soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama_Unicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    10
    3
    11
See reviews for
22
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county, ca
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean and spacious. Had a most comfortable bed and pillows. The continental breakfast was quite decent including bagels, waffles, fresh fruit, cereals and hard boiled eggs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I moved into to Sierra Vista from Texas. The staff at the Sun Canyon Inn was very helpful with directions to local attractions. They were in my room bring me what I requested in less than 10 min from my calling down stairs. Complimentary breakfast was filling. Room prices were comparable to other Inns, but the place is superbly decorated and as I mentioned earlier, the service is tops. I did not want to leave. I most definitely RECOMMEND Sun Canyon Inn. One last thing, it is right outside Ft. Huachuca.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyRN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I booked our stay here months ago, after checking the hotel website. Knowing we would be out hiking all day, I was pleased to see there was a complimentary happy hour and a restaurant on the property, as we'd just like to relax and not have to drive any more in the evenings. Arrived to find out no more restaurant or happy hour (eatery was shut down), and when I double-checked their website, the information had not been changed. This needs to be rectified so people know these amenities are no longer offered. Also, I booked a room that was supposed to include a separate kitchen area, but did not get this (although there was a microwave and fridge). We travel with lots of gear, so I really wanted that extra room

That said, the hosts were so friendly, breakfast was generous, the room was clean and comfy, and overall, we were satisfied. To reiterate, I appreciate how kind and friendly the front desk people were. Very nice pillows and beds. Just not what I expected when I booked (smaller room, no on-site food and drink). All the owners have to do is be sure that what's advertised is what the guest receives. No surprises.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our stay at this hotel was outstanding in every way. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, and our little dog was a welcome guest. The proprietors were kind, friendly, and helpful. We will return here on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiquita1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked this hotel because it had great reviews, convenient location, and offered full breakfast and cocktail hour, and restaurant. On, arrival, I was told that the owner had closed the restaurant 5 days before, so there was no breakfast, cocktails, or availability of dinner. The manager, Mark, was most apologetic, and unfortunately for him, had to bear the brunt of guest displeasure. He said he would try to have coffee in the morning, but that didn't happen for 2 days. because of this guests now had to drive to restaurants at the beginning and end of each day.
As a business person, who knows the importance of good PR, I find the owner's decision to close the restaurant with no prior warning to guest, indicates lack of consideration or caring. It shows not respect to his staff who have to then deal with unhappy guests.

On the plus side, the hotel was very clean and comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful..............The hotel is conveniently located to the army base and other attractions. I certainly would recommend it as long as people know the restaurant is closed. Kudos to Mark, the manager, for his ability to professionally deal with this and try to appease displeased guests

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This motel is close to Tombstone, about 30 min drive. Motel offers Happy Hour and free breakfast. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Overall stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wramses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sierra Vista hotels
0.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#13 of 22 in Sierra Vista
103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Sierra Vista
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Canyon Inn

Property: Sun Canyon Inn
Address: 260 N Garden Ave, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-3810
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Canyon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Canyon Hotel Sierra Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing