We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs in my bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bugs in my bed”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My first night felt refreshing. Nice room, nice bed, 2 TVs etc... I returned the next night after work and there was a dead bug on my bed. The bed was made but there was a clearly a dead bug at the foot of my bed. I wiped it away and thought nothing of it and even told myself "This must be the season" I tried falling asleep but had trouble falling asleep. I got out of bed and as I uncovered the blanket to get out of bed, there was a live bug crawling near my waist. I called the front desk to ask to be switched to another room but the male voice that answered the phone told me in the exact words "We are all booked up tonight. I'm sorry about the bug problem but there is not much we can do. Maybe I can send up some bug spray and you could use it to solve the problem. The woman next to your room had the same problem and we moved her to the room next to her but she still had the same problem." While he was suggesting the bug spray he chuckled a bit... not sure how to take that but I didn't find that very nice. I have no intention to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Sierra Vista, AZ anymore. Attached to my review is a pictur eof the bug I found near the air conditioning system. After swatting away the other bugs I could not find them anymore.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanmao858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
First of all my sincere apologies for the upset to your stay. Be assured this is not something that is standard to our operation. We do employ a local exterminator on contract and are diligent in our prophylatics regarding pests.
You were correct when you assumed that these bugs (commonly referred to as 'water bugs'), were part of a season known as the Monsoon season. here in Southern Arizona. Since this visit we have taken extra care to ensure that no more of these 'visitors' joined our guests during their stays.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. These reviews help us in our endeavor's toward excellence in every guest's experience.
We hope you'll come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    68
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
61
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

After spending the day in Tombstone, AZ we headed south on our way to Bisbee, AZ. We checked with TripAdvisor and decided to stay in Sierra Vista, AZ for the night! My daughter read the reviews and picked a good one. Rooms were standard size but very nice. Price was under $100 using AAA card. Breakfast was nice The only issue we had was that there wasn't "wireless internet" access, however, they will loan you a wire to connect. Still a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our Express here in Sierra Vista. I'm glad that overall you had a good experience and enjoyed our local shopping.
The good news is we now offer wireless internet!! We hope you'll return to enjoy our lovely city, the shopping and take advantage of our new wireless convenience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Traveled to Sierra Vista on Business. Stayed at Holiday Inn Express. Great Hotel, Delicious Breakfast and attentive staff. Worthy of a repeat visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wulimaster115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I wouldn't give this hotel one star. I complained several times to the front desk regarding the noise from the children in the suite above me. On my last night I was told if the noise was bothering me that I had to move rooms, after I had already been there for 2 nights. When the front desk and manager could not come up with a better solution, I contacted Customer Relations from my room. They informed me that the guest above me were being moved.

About 30 minutes later, my ACTIVE DUTY husband and I decided to run and get some food. On our way out we were stopped by the manager who informed us that the police were on their way. The manager claims, that I asked for the police to come. I never did. After explaining the situation in front of the police officers, I was informed by the manager, that she no longer wanted me as a guest in "her" hotel, and asked me to leave at 10:00pm. I asked why, and she explained that this was private property, and that I have to go. I was then escorted to my room by the officers, like I was a criminal. They stood there and waited on us to pack up. My husband had clothes in the wash. With a police escort he got his wet clothes put them in a plastic bag and we were escorted out. They even took our info to place a Do Not Trespass against us.

Every hotel in the surrounding area was sold out. We ended up driving to Tucson, at 11pm to check into a different hotel, paid twice the stay, and still had to get up and drive to Phoenix for a 5am flight.

All in all this hotel is NOT MILITARY friendly, and as a black woman, I felt that they would have never kicked a white family out in the middle of the night. Did I mention I had a dog with me? I wouldn't stay here if my life depended on it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank armysweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

we were in town for a funeral and all of our out of town family stayed there. it was nice. we enjoyed our stay

Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebelle307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The Holiday Inn Express was (is) an acceptable property, and I would stay there again if (and that's a big IF) I ever go back to Sierra Vista. The night manager was exceptional; on-the-ball she provided me with my Priority Club points and two (2) bottles of water. The rooms are adequate, but remind me of a Super 8--thin walls, cheap looking fixtures, and my bedside lights were inoperable. In-room internet must be accessed through a Cat-5 cable, but there is supposedly free internet in common areas. Breakfast was hot and adequate. Coffee urns were available in breezeway near lobby. Unfortunately, I left my Sonicare toothbrush behind in the room. Despite contacting the hotel, and they promised to send the brush to me, I have yet to receive it. That's nothing more than a small irritant. I would be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLYMOUTH, VA
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

What a nice place! In town, but not in the middle of town. Close to the movies and you can walk to a few good restaurants and the shopping mall. Great patio with a grill and a fantastic view of the nearby mountains.
Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast ladies really made me forget I wasn't at home!

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TRW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sierra Vista hotels
2.6 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
561 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sierra Vista
Hampton Inn Sierra Vista
#5 of 22 in Sierra Vista
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sierra Vista
Candlewood Suites Sierra Vista
#12 of 22 in Sierra Vista
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Address: 1902 S Highway 92, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-4619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sierra Vista, Arizona This quality Sierra Vista, AZ hotel is surrounded by four picturesque mountain ranges & is convenient to Fort Huachuca Army post, the University of Arizona South and other southeastern Arizona attractions. Our hotel in Sierra Vista offers nature lovers easy access to many spectacular locations including the Ramsey Canyon Preserve, the Gray Hawk Nature Center, Coronado National Memorial & Kartchner Caverns State Park. You can explore the Old West when you visit nearby attractions like the famous OK Corral in historic Tombstone, Fort Huachuca Museums & the historic mining town of Bisbee, now a thriving artistic community. Located in the heart of Sierra Vista, our hotel is just minutes from major companies such as Lockheed Martin, L3 Communications & General Dynamics. Business travelers staying in our Sierra Vista accommodations can utilize the free high-speed Internet access, four meeting rooms with space for up to 130 and with audio/visual equipment as well as a 24-hour Business Center that offers copy and fax services. While staying in our pet-friendly Sierra Vista hotel rooms, you can stay connected with the free high-speed Internet access. There is a complimentary hot breakfast bar every morning. For relaxation, try the taking a dip in the outdoor pool with cabana, spa & barbecue grills. We also have a 24-hour Fitness Center. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista Hotel Sierra Vista
Holiday Inn Sierra Vista
Sierra Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing