We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only reason they exist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
A TripAdvisor Member
“The only reason they exist”
Reviewed 21 July 2004

The ONLY reason The Windemere continues to exist is because of the military sending TDY and PCS personnel there and there is no temp housing readily available. Oh, and because they accept dogs. BIG dogs. Dogs that bark all night while their owner is down in the bar. Dogs that rip the ROOM apart. Rooms with moldy, mildewy SHOWERS. Showers that have such low water pressure.... well, you get the idea. On the up side, the cleaning staff is friendly. Not the front desk staff, but they have some very sweet housekeepers employed there. I think this is their only redeeming quality. If I had family coming to stay, I would put them up at Sierra Suites or the BW. This isn't even a good place for their 'free' breakfast that they charge you for it, and wait to see if you'll dispute it. If you don't, you lose alot of $$$ stick to other lodging if coming to visit beautiful Sierra Vista, Az.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    37
    25
    15
    21
See reviews for
21
32
1
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 June 2004

I have been to Sierra Vista on business, scores of times, in the past 20 years and although the Windemere is collectively...... not great...... it stands out above its contemporaries in this city where almost ZERO customer service in all areas and at every turn is the norm. Most domestic or minimum wage workers come from the South, with Mexico 28 miles down the road, guess where the South is! However, the attitude of.... "that is just the way it is"...... being stuck in the only civilized community south of Tucson, where you really don't have to bar your door and sleep armed, brings with it a very very low standard by the collective minimum wage earner. So what will you do if the price of gasoline is $2.35 a gallon in Sierra Vista, and only $2.02 a gallon in Tucson, .... drive 140 miles to fill up? That is the standard in Sierra Vista, so the Windemere basically exceeds the low Sierra Vista standard in that regard, anywhere else, except for Leavenworth Kansas or perhaps Texas border towns, this hotel would be closed, either through its lack of customers or the board of health. City corruption is rife, inspectors and related regulatory people are in someone's pocket. Don't go barefoot in this hotel...... Scorpions really hurt....

Art LeBlanc...

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2004

Windemere Hotel.....Our experience of 1 night... We checked in at the smelly lobby, walked down a hall that had...LEAVES scattered across the discolored carpet... with a bird cawing at us...the room had seen a better day. A "heater/air conditioner" that rattled. The refrigerator was noisy. When we checked out the next day and saw the same dishes we saw the previous afternoon in the hallway. Breakfast was the only high point.

Now Sierra Suites now there is a hotel!

I am fourteen.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sierra Vista hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2004

I arranged my travel with the Company Travel Office - have strongly advised them not to refer this hotel in the future. I stayed at this hotel because my son and daughter-in-law honeymooned there and said it was nice (but that was May 1995). Was quaranteed $69 per nite (tax included) - was charged $83.67. Arrived April 22nd at 12:20 pm and left very early April 25th. On check-in, was told about full COMPLIMENTARY breakfast. I was to tell the restaurant host/hostess that I was a lodger (I showed my rrom key unpon entry). Room was okay - but room service did not remove the same discarded dinner trays from 4 different rooms for 2 full days. Left hotel April 25th around 3 AM. Checked receipt and found I was charged $9.74 for the FREE breakfast on Apr 22nd (How did I have breakfast at their restaurant when I was IN FLIGHT on United?). Soooooo - from a guaranteed quote of $207 (tax included) to a bill of $260.75 is OUTRAGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!! I just know when I go out for another visit in December, I plan to stay at the Best Western across the street or the Fairmont. No matter what, pleeeeeeeeeeease make arrangements elsewhere!!!!!!!!!! You will not regret staying somewhere else - even the Motel 6 looked better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2004

I was in Sierra Vista on a business / vacation trip March 17 through the 19th. After going to 10 other hotels I finally found a room at this hotel.Other hotels just sent me on my way.The Windemere put me in a parlor room with a rollaway bed (better than sleeping in my car) at a very large discount. Than for the next two nights I had a regular room at a lower rate for me inconvenience.I wonder why the auther of the Worst Ever review continued his stay there instead staying at the fort in a barracks or in a tent. Was not fair to vacationers that the convention at the Fort used up all hotel spaces. The pool area is nice.
I would have used the pool if it was a heated pool as most hotels in that area have.On the morning I left there was a family in the pool, but the outside temp.of 84 degrees was not long enough this time of year to heat the pool and heating pools helps for evening swimming.Rooms and service was average.They did go out of their way to make room for me. Thank You

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2004

I recently visited the base at Fort Huachuca for work. I stayed at The Windemere hotel and it was by far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms we dirty, the bathrooms are old and run down and the cleaning staff stole from my room. I would severely advise against staying in this dump, or risk ruining your time at a substandard establishment.

Helpful?
3 Thank GoHokies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2004

Recently I visited my son in the Army and thought that I was renting in a first rate hotel to only find out I was in the biggest dump I ever saw! The bathroom floors are black and hair all over the place. How would you like personal hair from someone else on the tray that your cups are on? Do not rent at this hotel unless you are prepared to do a cleaning yourself!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sierra Vista hotels
2.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
563 reviews
3.4 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sierra Vista
Hampton Inn Sierra Vista
#6 of 22 in Sierra Vista
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windemere Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2047 S Highway 92, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-5831
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Windemere Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southeast Arizona's largest, full-service hotel, The Windemere Hotel and Conference Center will offer you a warm and welcome stay in the lovely city of Sierra Vista, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Windemere Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windemere Hotel Sierra Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing