We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sierra Suites Fan”
Review of Sierra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Suites
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sierra Suites Fan”
Reviewed 26 January 2008

This was our third stay at Sierra Suites and another great one. I've always been pleased with the rooms and service.
This time we had a double queen..the room was big! The beds were comfortable, plus we discovered they'd provided eight pillows. My biggest pet peeve with hotels is having to ask for extra pillows. Very thoughtful of Sierra Suites to have them in the room without asking. We had plenty of towels too!
Overall every staff member we came across was smiling, friendly and efficient. The breakfast was good..they have a very nice area for this. Their guest computer was also very welcome. My only regret was not bringing our swimsuits..the hot tub looked so inviting!
We're sure to be back at the hotel next time we're in town.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable in a nice setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZonaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    155
    33
    14
    15
See reviews for
201
146
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

I booked rooms at Sierra Suites after reading the reviews. Unfortunatly my experience was very poor and want others to know. The second night there I placed my request for a wake up call, and the next morning, non came. After calling the front desk and hearing lots of "sorry ", I was assured the bill would be adjusted (I missed morning meetings). It has been three weeks and all I have received are excuses and reasons that "they are not responsible". The management was of little help. I will not stay there again. I value my wake up calls, and good service.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tripforwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, on behalf of General Manager, Gaylene Wendle at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2008
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from the other reviews, we do work very hard to provide excellent service.
We've reviewed our records on your behalf and we show connecting rooms being booked and a wake-up call for one of the rooms being placed on the 2nd day of your stay. Our automated wake-up system shows that it tried to place the call 3 times - but the phone line was busy (or off the hook). That being said, I'm sure that there is a margin for technical (and operational error) with an automated system. For that reason we also provide in-room alarm clocks as a second option to the automated wake-up call.
We certainly empathize with how disappointing and frustrating it is to wakeup late and miss meetings. It can definitely have a negative one's stay, and we certainly apologize that this occurred.
We do hope that you'll reconsider staying with us on your next visit and allowing us to prove our dedication to excellent guest service.
Warm regards,
Gaylene Wendle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Based on reviews here, we chose this hotel. After driving around town, we decided we had the best place in the area.

Everything about our experience was pleasant. The staff were very friendly. The continental breakfast was plenty filling, and the set-up of the dining area was conducive to being social or spending some time with the morning paper.

Our room was very clean, and the bed was fairly comfortable. I'm always picky about the bed, and this one was fine. The air conditioner unit didn't have a bad smell (as we've experienced in many hotels), which was a big plus.

I hope never to return to Sierra Vista, the city, because I really can't think of anything worth going there for (our son was at Ft. Huachuca, the only reason we were there). But if, God forbid, I have to... at least I know I'll have a decent place to stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness; Proximity to Ft. Huachuca
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We traveled to Sierra Vista for a wedding. The staff was friendly . We enjoyed the free breakfast every morning and then were off for the day. The beds were not the most comfortable, but for our 4 night stay , the price and location worked well for us. We had a room in the back and it was quiet and uneventful.
The continental breakfast is in a separate area from the lobby which is nice. Rooms were good size , but we didn't spend much time in them.
Hope this is helpful.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank MistyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbruckler, on behalf of General Manager, Gaylene Wendle at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2008
Misty from Wisconsin -
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to provide outstanding service to all guests who visit. You had noted an issue with the beds. We are assuming you stayed ina double queen room, as all of our other beds are new within the last year. We are, however, replacing the remainder of the double queen beds next month - ensuring that every bed in the hotel is new and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

I can't wait to return to this hotel. Our stay did start on a bad note when we were told that they did not have the room we had booked with two beds (disadvantage to online booking), but the front desk person was very apologetic, and tried everything she could to find us another room. The atmosphere at this hotel is wonderful, being from the northeast we really appreciated the southwest feel in the open courtyards and the welcoming lobby. We were on a budget and feel like this hotel was well worth the affordable price, it deserves at least a three star rating. The rooms were clean, had all amenities, they had a nice continental breakfast, and the staff was extremely friendly. Biggest plus is the delicious mexican restaurant next door ( walking distance is a plus after a few margaritas!) I would defintely stay here again!

  • Liked — friendly staff, southwest atmosphere
  • Disliked — not getting the room we reserved
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mruddyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Some years ago, I had an extended stay at this hotel and was looking forward to another extended stay. However, the hotel is now under new management.

Here is the problem I experienced with them:

The stay was originally reserved for several months. I contacted the hotel directly by phone to inquire about their payment policies and was told that they like to put an authorization on a card for a period of time at the start of the stay and later charge it at the end of the week. I explained to them that this would be a problem since I was using a debit card, and they agreed to charge on a day-by-day basis and told me that they would note this in the reservation. I emphasized that if this couldn't be done, it would be necessary to simply cancel the extended reservation. They agreed.

Upon arrival this point was repeated an explicitly confirmed by the desk clerk. The next morning we confirmed it with both the guest service manager and the general manager--just to be certain.

Of course, they went ahead and took out an authorization on the debit card for a whole week in addition to two weekend days--about $700. When I discovered this, I brought the problem to the attention of the desk clerk who referred me to the guest manager who denied that the day before we had explicitly agreed to the day-by-day charge and who then obfuscated and dissembled. The general manager also adopted the same tactic--and this was after they were paid for the two days up to that time. In fact, even when I checked out at that time with a paid bill, they refused even to drop the authorization with my bank when requested (and after dodging calls and not responding to messages left on their answering machine.)

Management's actions went well beyond failing to correct a mistake, they seemed to go out of their way to aggravate the situation. Never did they apologize for their actions.

Additionally, the room was dank, smelly, and the light was broken.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank armyOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraVistaSuites, General Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 27 September 2007
Dear 'Bad Management' - as the General Manager of the Sierra Suites, I would like to sincerely apologize again for the problem that you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that we were not 'ignoring' your phone calls and we apologize if it seemed so.

In regards to the authorization, please allow me to explain that it is the hotel industry policy to receive an authorization for the length of each guest's stay at check-in. For our long term guests we do the authorization for one week at a time and ask that they in turn pay on their account each week and we then do another authorization. Guests using debit cards for payment will occasionally do a cash deposit to avoid the authorization/hold on their account. Either way, we do request monies, as a standard, to be authorized/held to ensure payment at check out.

OUr property management system automatically increases authorized dollar amounts for the balance of each guests stay during the night audit-- this is an automated process. Unfortunatly, in this case, the reservation had been changed to 7 days (as opposed to daily -- to ensure room availability during a very busy time) -- the authorization got increased for the additional days in error. I did contact the bank after we spoke and we were told that the 'lift' of the authorization would take 2-3 days.. unfortunately there was nothing we could do to persuade them to release the hold earlier.

We attempted to explain this during your stay and apologize, but we realize how frustrating this can be, and we were certainly frustrated as well -- with ourselves for the automated error and with the banks for not working with us to release the funds earlier.
Please know that we try to address all guest concerns when they are brought to our attention, prior to departure. Know that you can always contact me, the General Manager, to ensure that you are happy with your accommodations and level of service.

Warm regards,
Gaylene Wendle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

Excellent value. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly. It was in a back section away from the main street and hence very quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ejmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra Vista
0.6 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#14 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Suites

Property: Sierra Suites
Address: 391 E Fry Blvd, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-1818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sierra Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sierra Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Sierra Vista
#6 Business Hotel in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sierra Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sierra Vista Hotel located down the street from Ft. Huachuca, Sierra Suites is minutes from Southern Arizona attractions like Tombstone, Bisbee, Kartchner Caverns, ghost towns and bird-watching areas. Comfortable spacious guestrooms including free wi-fi and hardwired internet, flatscren TVs, refrigerator and microwave. Visitors are delighted by the upgraded gym as well as our inviting lobby and hotel staff. Guests enjoy free breakfast including a variety of hot and cold items, served in our unique patio room overlooking the pool. All New: get your favorite BBQ fixins and use our outdoor grill -- stay IN for dinner at Sierra Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Sierra Vista
Sierra Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing