We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sierra Suites
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
163 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2006

The Sierra Suites is neither the newest motel in Sierra Vistal nor is it the most convenient--Fort Huachuca is only about one mile or so away but there are a number of motels closer; the town's shopping mall and other major stores are completely at the other end of town--but it is hard to imagine that there are too many other spots which, when everything is taken into account, could be any better. Though during the week that my wife and I were guests, the on-going remodeling work other reveiwers had spoken about was still continuing resulting in a number of slight inconveniences, we found our stay pleasant in nearly every way. Our king-bedded room was relatively small (the suite that we had initially booked was being recarpeted and refurnished when we arrived but the front desk staff very courtesously did their best to make our visit as trouble-free as it could). It is, in fact, hard to say anything but words of praise for the staff, both at the desk and everywhere else to boot. The lobby is extremely appealing and there is, as others have noted, a computer ready to use morning, noon, or night. The breakfast was, as also noted, quite enjoyable and the setting inviting. We both would champion the thought that a few more hot items should be available--waffles, perhaps scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc--but what was there was always filling and welcome, especially at 6 A.M. when we found ourselves eating each day. The cost of the rooms are far more reasonable than elsewhere in town which probably helps explain why every day the motel seemed filled to the brim by both businessmen and women and a large contingent of Army officers attending one program or another at the fort. Several of the newest motels in town, all located on Highway 92 at the far end of the city, appear to be appealing and they probably are but their nightly room rates were often $25 to $40 more than the Sierra Suites. It's hard to imagine that the accommodations there are worth that much of a difference. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and we probably will since, as birders, we return to the area again and again and again.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    147
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
182
140
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2006

I stayed here for one night for business. The hotel recently finished being remodeled. Everything was great. Modern, clean, large rooms. High speed interenet was available in the rooms and there was a computer available for use in the lobby. There is a heated swimming pool. There is a continental breakfast with the basics (cereal, muffins, dounts, fruit, etc) if you need more, there isa great restaurant accross the street, Caffe O-le.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LasVegasPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2005

It is definitely not a full service and accommodations hotel, but it was comfortable, cozy and relaxed. It probably fits people who aren't in it to be pampered. The continental breakfast could stand to be expanded to include at least a few items off the grill like bacon and other meats. Maid staff was friendly. I'd bring my business to them again if I go back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank songiuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2005

Beware, they have a 24 hour cancellation policy that will charge you for one night even though they don't tell you when you make a reservation. Do not plan to stay here if there is any chance of change of plans.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2004

Stayed a week in facility. Front desk staff was luke warm.
Liked the Mexican Restaurant next door. Good Stuff!!
Bed firmness needs some work.
Breakfast was kind of ok, but then I don't really eat much breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2004, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2004

I stay in Sierra Vista often - Always try to get Sierra Suites. Just got back - and love all the recent up grades. The free high speed internet is GREAT. While there they were installing a new Front desk area - can't wait to see that in December. The staff makes me feel like Family - Thank you!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2004

We arrived in Sierra Vista on April 10, having reservations at the Windemere, planning a 6 night stay. We stayed only one night and changed our plans after driving by the Sierra Suites. The Sierra Suites was much cleaner. The room was spotless and very roomy. There was a separate sink with the microwave and a table with chairs. This made the room much more comfortable.

The breakfast was great, my teenager thought it was awesome with all the basics... Fruit, eggs, muffins, cereal. The breakfast area was sunny and bright with pretty tile. The staff was very hardworking and friendly. We were glad to find Sierra Suites.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra Vista
0.6 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#12 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Suites

Property: Sierra Suites
Address: 391 East Fry Blvd., Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sierra Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sierra Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Sierra Vista
#6 Business Hotel in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sierra Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sierra Vista Hotel located down the street from Ft. Huachuca, Sierra Suites is minutes from Southern Arizona attractions like Tombstone, Bisbee, Kartchner Caverns, ghost towns and bird-watching areas. Comfortable spacious guestrooms including free wi-fi and hardwired internet, flatscren TVs, refrigerator and microwave. Visitors are delighted by the upgraded gym as well as our inviting lobby and hotel staff. Guests enjoy free breakfast including a variety of hot and cold items, served in our unique patio room overlooking the pool. All New: get your favorite BBQ fixins and use our outdoor grill -- stay IN for dinner at Sierra Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Sierra Vista
Sierra Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing