We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with the accomodations, staff and location!”
Review of Sierra Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sierra Suites
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“Very pleased with the accomodations, staff and location!”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We booked this hotel online. First trip to Sierra Vista. Very pleased with the accomodations, staff was great. Great value for the price. Hotel is older, but has many updates. It is on one of the main roads, however when your on the property its like your someplace else. We thought that the noise factor would be a problem, we were pleasantly surprised. Convenient to restaurants, shopping, and 1 mile from the main gate of Fort Huachuca. When we traveled to Tucson we wished that there had been a Sierra Suites to stay in! Hopefully we will return one day! Thank you for helping us make some good memories : )

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spuddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2010
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and we were your hotel of choice while visiting Sierra Vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    154
    33
    14
    15
See reviews for
199
144
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This was our second extended stay at the Sierra Suites. We enjoy visiting Sierra Vista in the wintertime, because it's usually sunny and warm, has a number of good restaurants (especially Korean restaurants), and is close to good hiking and other points of interest like Bisbee and Tombstone.

We didn't even realize that we were returning to where we had been before two years earlier until we got there. We did our usual research on the available lodgings in town, and picked the one that best met our needs at the most reasonable price. That was Sierra Suites on both occasions.

When we stay in a place for a week or more we like to have a suite. SS offered a non-smoking 2-queen bed suite which was our choice. The living room and bedroom were roomy and comfortable, but the kitchenette was small, with a half-size refrigerator, a microwave, and a sink. There wasn't as much table space for working on our computers as we would have liked. We happened to hit Sierra Vista during one of their rare cold spells, and the room heater was noisy enough that we didn't use it much. Aside from the heater the room was nice and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated their help in the breakfast room, where they were happy to provide a tray to bring food back to the room.

The principal negative experience happened right on our arrival. We had requested, and been promised, a ground floor room, since the property doesn't have an elevator, and we are senior citizens. When we checked in, the note about the ground floor room had not been posted in the right place, and the only available suite meeting our needs was upstairs. We went ahead and took it, and lugged our heavy suitcases up a flight of stairs, and the desk clerk gave us a discount on the rate in compensation.

Another negative that I must mention is that although our room was non-smoking, it had a faint but distinct odor of stale tobacco smoke, probably imbued in the carpet or drapes from some earlier occupant. It was faint enough that we decided to put up with it, but it would have been better if it hadn't been there at all. We're extremely sensitive to that odor, and perhaps others wouldn't notice it.

I've mentioned a number of negatives here, because I think they make a review like this more helpful to other travelers, but I should stress that overall we liked the SS, and may well stay there again on our next visit to Sierra Vista.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winter-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2010
Thank you for your detailed review - certainly the challenges as well as the positive comments not only help other travellers, but also assist us.
We will plan on looking up the room in which you stayed to resolve the smoke smell as well as the heater noise -- we do request when guests have issues like these, that they do let us know prior to their departure (especially on an extended stay) so that we may resolve them and allow you to have the most comfortable stay possible.
On behalf of management and staff, we apologize that the room that you requested on the bottom floor was not available and we'll make every effort on your next visit to Sierra Vista to ensure your room is perfect - inside and out. We know you have many hotel choices when travelling to Sierra Vista and we truly appreciate that you choose Sierra Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Great trip and you have got to try Daisy Mae's Steak House, a little run down but their signature steak is to die for. The house wine was great and very affordable. Sorry that we had such a short stay, the view is incredible.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clivver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to your next visit to Sierra Vista -- and we love Daisy Mae's, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The exterior is deceptively plain. Upon entering the Sierra Suites, the charm of the hotel can be fully appreciated. The staff is amazingly friendly, and we quickly felt right at home. The management has taken great care to update and refurbish the rooms, which were spacious and came with lots of amenities. The hotel is conveniently located near a major intersection and just outside of Fort Huachuca, and is surprisingly serene. The comfortable beds and relaxing shower topped off an already satisfying experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travileres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Thank you for your review! Looking forward to your family's next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Of the four hotels I've stayed at in town, Sierra Suites is hands-down the best. The hotel is conveniently close to everything in town, and the rooms are the most comfortable of any of the other hotels I've stayed at.

Rooms come with a medium-sized TV with cable and PPV movies, wireless internet, mini-fridge, and microwave. The entire hotel has a nice, comfortable southwestern atmosphere.

I did not give top scores for Service and Value, however. The exercise room, located next to the lobby, was small and had a very limited number of machines. Also, the free breakfast was limited and did not include any heated meats. I'd really recommend adding something like bacon or sausage. Lastly, I found the lady that worked the breakfast counter a little impolite. I thought all the front counter staff was exceptionally friendly, however.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Thank you so much for your comments and declaration of us as the "Best Hotel In Sierra Vista". We do appreciate all comments and suggestions. A couple of things to mention - we'll be remodeling the breakfast room very soon, within the next couple of months. So you'll see changes there. Guests have requested hot items and thus have started to serve hot oatmeal daily and will be implementing more hot items in the near future in conjunction with the remodel. Lastly, we want to sincerely apologize if the service you received in the breakfast room was not exemplary - this was certainly not typical, but we will talk to our staff. As you noted from our front desk staff, our service is typically exceptional. We look forward to your next visit and hope you enjoy our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This is the lowest price AAA 3-diamond hotel in Sierra Vista. The reason is that it is not a chain and not the newest (SV has gotten at least 5 brand-new chain hotels in the past year or two). Room was large, comfortable, light was adequate if we turned on all the lights. Ceiling fan for the summer. We like the sink outside the toilet/bath room. Lots of cable channels. Good breakfast: oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, bagels, etc. If you really want a hot full breakfast, just walk to the cafe across the street. Comfortable bed, although the pillows were uniformly thick and hard. PC in lobby, but printing was a complicated process; they told me they could not print boarding passes. But there is free internet connection/wireless in rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Thank you for your kind review! We did want to let you know of a few changes that we have just initiated based on reviews such as yours. First, the current printing option 'PrintMe' is being terminated as our guests have found it difficult to use. We are setting up a new printer at the computer workstation which should be up and in use by the end of this week (Feb 18, 2010). We agree that our guests should be (and will be) able to print their boarding passes. In addition, we've talked to the Executive Housekeeper regarding the pillow 'issue' as all of our guestrooms should have 2 firm AND 2 soft pillows so that every guest will have a pillow to suit their specific requirement.
Again, thank you for your comments -- we continue to learn and improve from guests such as yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This is an outstanding property with friendly staff. Everyone has a smile and asks if they can help in any way. Conveniently located with restraunts and shopping nearby. Room is very clean. Bed is very comfortable. Amenities such as refridgerator and microwave and coffee pot make this a great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmandmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sierra Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2009
Thank you for your kind response. We love to hear from guests who have enjoyed our services and amenitites. We look forward to your next visit!
Your Friends at the Sierra Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra Vista
0.6 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#14 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sierra Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Suites

Property: Sierra Suites
Address: 391 E Fry Blvd, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-1818
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sierra Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sierra Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Sierra Vista
#6 Business Hotel in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sierra Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sierra Vista Hotel located down the street from Ft. Huachuca, Sierra Suites is minutes from Southern Arizona attractions like Tombstone, Bisbee, Kartchner Caverns, ghost towns and bird-watching areas. Comfortable spacious guestrooms including free wi-fi and hardwired internet, flatscren TVs, refrigerator and microwave. Visitors are delighted by the upgraded gym as well as our inviting lobby and hotel staff. Guests enjoy free breakfast including a variety of hot and cold items, served in our unique patio room overlooking the pool. All New: get your favorite BBQ fixins and use our outdoor grill -- stay IN for dinner at Sierra Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Sierra Vista
Sierra Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing