We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn Girton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel to have a weekend break near to Cambridge city centre and away from our adolescents, having stayed in various Premier Inns before. We didn't want to have to drive into the city.

Having read previous reviews of this hotel:
It's not the prettiest Premier Inn we've stayed in, I grant you, but the room was prepared to usual high standards and receptionist was excellent... without prompting, she provided local maps and detailed bus information with explanations of the bus stops. Just what we needed. An issue over lack of bathroom towels on day 2 was sorted by receptionist in 2 minutes.

Price was fine using the saver deal - this is an expensive hotel if you go midweek !

I've read previous reviews the adjoining Beefeater which we dined in both nights - maybe Whitbread have paid attention to negative comments about the restaurant. We can't fault the service or food, night 1 was first weekend of school summer holidays, restaurant was packed but we received very good service. Night 2, there was a large birthday party in the restaurant which we were seated away from, same good service.

Breakfast service fine.

Room was rather hot and opening the window brought in noise from kitchen and main road.

Parking no problem.

Overall - well located for central Cambridge - good value on the saver tariff - and beats the "T.L" competition.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel staff were very professional and friendly , enjoyed our one night stay the hotel was in a great location for our leisure / business visit.
i have no problem recommending this hotel , both for location and quality of staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were disappointed with the quality of the accommodation at this hotel, having stayed in a lot of other Premier Inns. Essentially it is a Beefeater restaurant with a box tacked onto it, and we felt like we were staying in an old-style B&B rather than a hotel.
The reception is tiny, with only a desk and a vending machine and 2 chairs, it looks more like a car hire office than a hotel lobby.
The rooms are up a rickety set of stairs and are small and boxy, with low ceilings. Our room overlooked the rubbish bins. While clean and offering all the basic Premier Inn facilities, the room felt stifling and we didn’t look forward to going back there at the end of the day. My son’s bed was really uncomfortable, hard and with barely any mattress over the springs, like an old sofa bed.
The reception staff were quite friendly but not especially so.
Breakfast was at the old pub / Beefeater joined to the hotel. The manager of the restaurant was very friendly and offered good service. The breakfast was the usual, although there were no muffins. I was disappointed with the coffee option - only pre-brewed coffee and no Costa coffee machine. We had to pay extra for a latte.
The location of the hotel is pretty good, it’s close to central Cambridge but in a quiet area.
Cambridge really lacks a good quality family hotel, and this Premier Inn misses the opportunity to fill that gap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OffWeGoOnATripAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel very clean and comfortable, however for the price charged it was lacking, 2 sachets of coffee 2 teabags, 2sugars white 2sugars brown , no sweeteners no biscuits, no decaffeinated coffee and no hot chocolate. How mean is that! This hotel only has 1 disabled room and access to breakfast would be a problem as the serve yourself iems are down 2 flights of stairs, the cooked breakfast was lovely however you could not serve yourself.
On the plus side the windows were spotless , which is not often found in many top class hotels !
The staff were pleasant and helpfull , all in all not bad for 1 night but very expensive I thought.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Popped in for a meal the other night and was impressed with the food, my steak was cooked perfectly and I'm fussy about my steaks, staff were friendly and didn't have to wait to long, will visit again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice clean and comfortable rooms. Staff polite and extremely helpful. Excellent breakfast.
Most enjoyable weekend. Very well placed for visiting Cambridge. Would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.




  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauldebnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Premier Inn is ideal for visiting Cambridge City Centre it is on a good bus route. The hotel has a direct link with the Beefeater pub which is great for breakfast each morning. This is a small and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girton
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,055 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel

Address: Huntingdon Road | Girton, Girton, Cambridge CB3 0DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Girton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girton
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you fancy punting down the Cam or taking a punt at Newmarket, come and stay at Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge North (Girton). We're very close to the colleges and city centre, and there are great transport links to get you further afield too. Float along the River Cam and gaze at 'The Backs', the hidden side of Cambridge's most iconic colleges. Or get a face-to-face with a jet fighter at Duxford Air Museum. Place a side bet at Newmarket Races, then come back to the hotel for some mouth-watering food at our Beefeater restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. Directions: SatNav - CB3 0DH : Come off A14 at Jct 32. Exit roundabout towards Cambridge City Centre. Follow Histon Road to end, turn right onto Huntingdon Road, continue approx half a mile . Travellers Rest Beefeater and Premier Inn is on left. Transport and local information: Town Centre 2 miles Cambridge Train Station 3 miles Cambridge Leisure Park 2 Miles Cambridge Colleges 3 Miles Cambridge United FC 3 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing