We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six stars on trip advisor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portugal Bike

Portugal Bike
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Odivelas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover Portugal ...On a bicycle! Travelling with PortugalBike will connect you deeply with the country, becoming part of its everyday life, observing details that typical tourists miss and enjoying spontaneous encounters along the way. PortugalBike is a Portuguese-owned company offering you bicycle tours, that help you to enlarge your horizons and your knowledge, showing you historic evidences and amazing landscape together with very good food and wines. Our goal is that you visit Portugal ...Riding a bicycle!
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Six stars on trip advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I don't know where to start!
Jose and Cristina were amazing guides. We started as strangers but ended as friends. Attention to detail that is unbelievable. Jose and Cristina taught us about Portugal while we biked to the Algarve. Every day,Cristina had anticipated our every need. If we mentioned a favourite food,it became part of the snacks or picnic lunch. She even had our bags in our rooms when we arrived at the end of the day
excellent value.
The hotels and meals were all excellent. We got an excellent cross section and variety of each.
the biking was excellent with nice roads and a great mix of flat roads and hills. Beautiful views!

The bikes were excellent. Light,comfortable with all the amenities. Jose is a pro when it comes to bike maintenance.
i would highly recommend this bike tour company and we hope to do another trip with them in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
luanda, angola
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cycling in Portugal with Portugalbike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We have made 5 trips with Portugalbike since 2007. Portugal has a wonderful assortmant of light traffic roads, long mountain bike trails, ancient roman roads, castles, pousadas, villages and coastline, On road bikes we have seen the castles, traversed the west coast from Lisbon to Lagos, seen the Pousadas and medievil villages in central Portugal and traversed the Algarve from Tavira to Sagres on mountain bike. Jose and Cristina have operated Portugalbike for over 15 years. They have an intimate knowledge of every bikeable road and mountain bike trail in the country. They will guarantee to organize the best tour for you from pickup at the airport, throughout the tour and return to the airport. The biking season is almost year round and Lisbon is a short flight from the USA or Brazil. While biking through Portugal with Portugalbike, you will definitely enjoy the history, culture, scenery and food of thislovely country. Give them a try,

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dsewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING ALGARVE COAST BIKE TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

You have to go! This bike tour with Portugal Bike (with owners- Jose and Cristina) was wonderful! From the beginning when contacting them to the end dropoff back in Lisbon, this bike trip exceeded my expectation. I had the perfect vacation seeing the Algarve Coast by bike. The bikes were in great condition, the ride was well organized, the scenery was amazingly beautiful, the lunches were fresh and local, good hotel locations and the daily chatter we shared while riding led to a spectacular experience. We were able to enjoy time in each town at the end of the ride in the late day to interact with the locals, explore the beaches and dining/drinking establishments. Each day was well thought out and ran seamlessly for the riders. We shared many stories, laughter and learned about the Portuguese culture along the way. Thank you Jose, Cristina and of course, our sweeper, Pedro. See you in Boston someday, I hope!
Sign up now, you will love the trip. Worth every penny or euro! Obrigada!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, VA, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“portugal bike - by bob and sandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our 7th biking trip in Europe, and the couple who run Portugal Bike are far and away the best trip organizers and leaders we have experienced. They do a fantistic job in every aspect of the trip, starting with their site and its explanation of their trips, their quickly answered and comprehensive e-mails when booking or asking questions or for help, their meet and greet at the airport, their pre-trip orientation (with complementary port), and, certainly not least, every aspect of the trip itself. The wonderful job they do proves to me the advantage of having the owners themselves constantly with you as your guides, with Jose leading the pack daily and Cristia providing all the logistical support, from driving the sag wagon to providing wonderful mid-day picnics, and to organizing the excellent hotels and meals along the way. As Jose explained to me, they are in this business for the pleasure it gives them to ensure their customers have the most enjoyable experience possible, and they certainly succeeded in achieving this for our trip. Really, who else would refund the non-refundable deposit to someone who had an accident just days before her trip and was unable to travel? Jose did, saying that anyone could have an accident. Their constant attention to detail leads me to believe they perhaps had a hand in selecting our 11 person group, as we could not have been with a more enjoyable bunch of people, who had us lauging all the way across southern Portugal. A final word, about our sweeper, Pedro, whose pefect, American-accented English still has me questioning his Portuguese birth. He too was delightful, and, like Jose, went out of his way to explain cultural and historical points as we biked each day, opening our eyes to new and interesting aspects of our experience of the country. We'd like to emphasize that Jose, Cristina, and Pedro are not longer acquaintances, but, rather, as Jose said, "family."

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Biking in Alentejo, Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

For our fourth bike trip in Europe in four years, we chose Portugal as our 2013 destination . It was our first trip ever to Portugal. Portugal Bike was our tour guide and they made the trip in the Alentejo region as good as any bike trip we’ve taken. Jose, Cristina and assistant Pedro’s attention to detail and complete focus on making the trip both a wonderful bike experience and a great opportunity to learn about the Roman Empire in Portugal, marble quarrying, and cork harvesting, created a most memorable, one-of-a-kind experience for the twelve riders from throughout the U.S. in our group. Our stays at historic monasteries converted to hotels and the local food and wines at wonderful restaurants selected by Jose and Cristina added to the experience and gave rise to our only criticism: that the trip wasn’t long enough to savor the experiences Portugal Bike made available to us!! We give our highest recommendation to Portugal Bike.
Rick and Julie, Denver, Colorado

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portugal Bike also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Portugal Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing