We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Inn”
Review of Sonoita Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoita Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The inn was quaint and rustic, so the intentions are great. However, the rooms could use a bit of an update. Chairs were stained and the floors very creaky. Shower pressure was a bit low and so was the lighting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cb628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stay at the Sonoita Inn when we are in Sonoita Az on business. It is a neat place to stay. Pretty much on your own after check-in. If you want someone babying you, don't stay here. You get your key and after about 5:00 p.m. staff leaves. Always have breakfast stuff available to get on our
own in the mornings. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Always look forward to staying at the Sonoita Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

There were bugs in and near our bed that appeared to be bed bugs. We discovered them after the innkeeper left for the night. When we called her, she insisted they couldn't be bed bugs because they "spray all the time."

Anyone who knows anything about bed begs knows you can't kill them with spray.

The next day, when presented with a picture of the bugs, she agreed she thought they were bed bugs. She said the exterminator she called, though, said they were not bed bugs.

Still, there were bugs in our bed. This caused us to be distressed and not sleep. And, as you may have noticed, there is nowhere else to go in Sonoita... especially after 11 p.m.

Even though this place is cute and I'd love to stay here sans bugs, I can't be guaranteed there won't be bugs. Plus, the way the situation was handled was less than ideal.

I have to, therefore, give this business just one star.

Room Tip: Room was immaculate except for the bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelGuestLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sonoita is horse-and-dog country. Built by a co-owner of the racehorse Secretariat, the inn was designed to look as if an old barn had been remodeled into a luxurious hotel. There are 16 large guest rooms on two stories surrounding a spacious common area which extends to the roof. Each guest room is named for a local ranch, with photos and plaques describing its history. There's a big stone fireplace with sofas and chairs nearby for lounging; giant chandeliers that look as if they came from a blacksmith's shop; distressed wooden floors; aged brick walls; and a front entrance that looks like the door to a barn. There's a small kitchen adjoining the common area, a fridge, a cooler with yogurt, milk, bread, hard boiled eggs and such, a large hutch with dishes, cereal, teabags, microwaveable popcorn, cellophane-wrapped pastries, toaster, and microwave. There's a coffee machine of the sort you find in convenience stores. The complimentary wine and cheese is only offered on Friday and Saturday (though you could try begging on other days.)

As you can see from other reviews, this isn't for everybody. Because the staff leaves at 5 or 6 pm, you may either revel in the freedom to do whatever you like in these splendid surroundings, or fret because there's nobody to wait on you. If a friendly black lab shows up in the common area in the morning, you may either enjoy tossing a tennis ball for it, or wish you had stayed in a chain hotel that bans pets.

I think the common area is great. If you happen to be the only guests, it's like having to yourself a living room that belongs in a mansion; otherwise, it's like being in a grand old-fashioned lodge where you get to meet and mingle with the other guests in front of the fire in the evening while you listen to the coyotes in the distance howling at the moon.

There are downsides. Some members of the staff are as obliging as can be, but at least one member is abrupt to the point of rudeness. It's never happened to me, but if there were other guests who were disposed to be rowdy, there would be nothing to rein them in after 5pm. There's some deferred maintenance: the towel bar in our bathroom fell repeatedly, the lock on the front door of the entire building required some coaxing to stay engaged, and the knob on the door to our room required so much fiddling to unlock that we were afraid to lock it lest we be unable to get back in after 5pm. The gas log in the fireplace was sufficiently fiddly that the staff member who helpfully lit it for us told us to leave it on all night rather than risk messing it up. Dining in Sonoita has historically been a bit unpredictable: restaurants open and close various nights of the week, and from month to month, and from year to year. The two convenience stores close mid-evening (though gasoline is available all night.) And it's a long way to the next town in any direction.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

HORRIBLE PLACE TO STAY! Manager was rude, workers ignored their customers, and chaotic environment. The area was dirty, and dogs were allowed to run free and rule the place. It was very noisy at night and turns into a FRAT party at night. The staff leaves at 5 p.m. and the guests are left to fend for themselves. No security, too expensive, and dirty... don't stay here! Motel 8 was better than this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We loved the lodge. The architecture is casual and impressive at the same time, and our room felt homey and comfortable. We enjoyed reading the displays about the history of the area and woman who built the inn. The self-service options for bedtime snacks and breakfast were just right and we found the minimal staff friendly and helpful. A little spendy compared to other places we stayed on this trip, but still seemed an excellent value, but the common area was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our room was fine, but overpriced. Not much choice in the area. Front Desk clerk was friendly and helpful with area information. Complimentary wine and cheese late afternoon. Continental breakfast was okay. Good wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardanddolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoita
22.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 23 in Sierra Vista
610 reviews
11.2 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
23.2 mi away
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
Show Prices

Been to Sonoita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoita Inn

Address: Route 82 and Route 83, Sonoita, AZ
Region: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing