We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonoita Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoita Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stay here every year when attending a clinic at a local ranch. If you need interaction with the staff, this isn't the place for you. They leave between 3-5 in the afternoon and don't show up til late morning. The beds are comfortable, the steakhouse next door is a good place to have dinner, a beer and shoot some pool. A variety of food is available for breakfast. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzDesertGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed at the Sonoita Inn last weekend and visited the AZ Wine Country. The Sonoita Inn doesn't look like more than a big barn on the outside, but is very quaint and nice on the inside. The theme of the hotel is completely southwestern, including many wall hangings and artifacts from the horse, Secretariat. The main lobby has a nice seating area and fireplace, wood floors, high wood beam ceilings and the rooms are decorated the same. Our beds were comfortable and clean, amenities include full satellite TV, a wine happy hour, and continental breakfast. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. Next door to the property is the restaurant, the Steak Out - great, great steaks. Very western and laid back - also pretty busy.

The only downside to staying at this property is the difficulty of making contact when trying to reserve a room or while staying on the property. After 5, the hotel does not have onsite staff. Given the location and the relatively small size of the property, I wasn't bothered by this, but other travelers might not be comfortable.

Another down side was we did not have hot water in the AM - I believe it was a fluke - but that was not a bright spot during our stay.

I would definitely stay again at this property - I enjoyed the atmosphere, especially after a day of touring the different vineyards in the area.

Room Tip: Downstairs if you are planning on touring the vineyards all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Last minute decisions are usually the worst. This is one of them. Looking for a place to eat, Bad decision. The restaurant was terrible and over-priced. Decided to stay the night...another bad decision. Rooms were over-priced, out-dated (not retro cool-just yard sale yuck), cold, no service. Very disappointed. The rooms were too expensive for what they were. Only show in town kind of mentality. Plan your visit early enough in the day to move on to Sierra Vista. I would not recommend a stay at the Sonoita Inn to anyone who still had a pulse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParrotLaureateJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harbor
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 adults and 2 children after we had visited the Kartchner Caverns. The rooms were very dated, COLD, with a TV but no normal channels. The manager is only there from 2-5pm so if you have an issue, good luck! The loud partying in the central living room got out of hand and we had to go out and ask them to quiet down so the kids could sleep. The included breakfast was a free for all and the kitchen was a piled mess so we had to go on to Tucson to find breakfast. For all this the cost was really outrageous, but if you are the only game in town, I guess you can get it. Not us again!

Room Tip: Not sure this IS a good room here as they all open out into the main central gathering place which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hortenseNewHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We've stayed in the area many times before. This time we selected the Sonoita Inn since we wanted to share the room with 3 other people and they have a 5 person room. The price for this was a bit too much in the first place, and when we went in in person (we happened to be driving through) we were shown a room, promised a price, then told to call later to confirm the reservation. When we called, the lady on the phone was completely unaware that they even had rooms for 5 people and could not match the price we were quoted. We booked anyway.

When we arrived we had one less person, so we asked if the 5th person charge could be dropped, since there were only 4 people using the room. The last at the desk said that the staff had spent too much time setting up the room for 5 people, so no refund would be given. We were also told we would receive a AAA discount, which the lady did not know they offered, and in order to get it we had to spend quite a lot of time discussing it. Not a big deal, but annoying. Their front desk also does not open until 2:00, so if you need to call to speak to someone, good luck. (We tried to call ahead to tell them that only 4 were coming, not 5). This could have been really annoying had we needed to cancel or something.

The room was nice. Nothing special. We honestly didn't see anything that indicated that they had spent time setting up for 5 people (there weren't even enough towels for 5 people).

They do have a nice set-up with the breakfast, which is self cater. We were happy to sit in the living room area enjoying our meal the next morning. The interior ( as well as the rooms) are clean and comfortable. It is an easy walk from the bar and two small grocery stores, as well as The Steak Out....which is good for those of us who spent the day wine tasting....

I still think it's a bit overpriced ...I would recommend one of the smaller places, such as Xanadu, which has real personality and exceptional owners.

Room Tip: They all open onto the central living room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
375 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The inn was quaint and rustic, so the intentions are great. However, the rooms could use a bit of an update. Chairs were stained and the floors very creaky. Shower pressure was a bit low and so was the lighting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stay at the Sonoita Inn when we are in Sonoita Az on business. It is a neat place to stay. Pretty much on your own after check-in. If you want someone babying you, don't stay here. You get your key and after about 5:00 p.m. staff leaves. Always have breakfast stuff available to get on our
own in the mornings. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Always look forward to staying at the Sonoita Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoita
22.9 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
22.4 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
22.3 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Valley Inn
BEST WESTERN Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
11.2 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.3 mi away
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoita Inn

Property: Sonoita Inn
Address: Route 82 and Route 83, Sonoita, AZ
Region: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing