We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this ranch for my birthday celebration based on location in the peaceful rolling grasslands around Sonoita and proximity to adventure hiking in the Mustang Mountains. First off, we were warmly greeted by the hosts Bernie and Karen who made us feel immediately at home, even with our feisty hound Phoebe who just loves to run free. Our room was immaculate and the adjacent Koi pond with BBQ area perfect for meditation and enjoyment of fine grilled steaks. We were content to hike the grassy fields and leave the stress of frenetic city life behind. Xanadu Ranch is truly a special place in southern Arizona for those seeking rejuvenation in most harmonious surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful setting and the rooms were very nice and had everything we needed. Friendly folks to boot. You can't beat Arizon's wine country in the Fall and Xanadu is a top place to stay. We hit the wineries and the Wilcox Wine Festival on Saturday and came back to really comfortable rooms at the end of the day. Watching the moonrise over the Mustang Mountains was breathtaking, and our "balcony" looked right that way to the east. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a place. Wide open spaces, mountain views, horses and a good bed. Had our breakfast by the koi pond, watched the humming birds and listened to the quiet. You are close to Sonoita, but you would never know it. Several wineries around to go tasting at, all very good. No rush to get anywhere, just a nice slow pace. You can take horses there and an RV. Go riding in the National Forest. Great people to greet you and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, but even before arriving, I felt like the owner, Karen and I were old friends. We stayed in room #3, which was perfect for the three of us traveling together. We felt like we were staying in a friend's guest house instead of a hotel. She took us through our room, showed us how to work the TV, gave us the key, wine glasses and showed us on our way to our wine tastings. The sleep was excellent, the house was beautiful and the lack of city noise just pulls the stress right out of you. We had our sunrise coffee on the patio and watched the koi and hummingbirds. Bernie took our picture and introduced us to their horses. We picked apples from their tree and had the best apple breakfast I have ever encountered. I would love to go back here with my family and stay for a few days. If you possibly have the chance....stay here. You will never be disappointed...only rested, relaxed, and made completely welcomed with open arms.

Room Tip: Anywhere is wonderful, just enjoy your coffee by the koi pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the place to stay in Sonoita. The owners are very friendly and cater to your needs. Karen & Bernie are exceptional people. They make you feel at home and are so knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are very nice, super clean and have everything you would need. My room had a full kitchen. Here you can enjoy tranquility and beautiful views of the mountains. I enjoyed visiting with the horses, and sitting on the deck watching the fish in the pond and enjoying the waterfalls. I loved having coffee in the morning on the patio enjoying the views. There is even a hammock for rest while enjoying the view or a good book. I really enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Xanadu is a perfect getaway retreat. The ranch is secluded, quiet, and has beautiful views of the surrounding mountain ranges. The rooms are super clean, spacious and comfortable. The owners make sure everything is to your liking. They are very friendly and know the area's attractions in detail. They are close to good restaurants, the many wineries, horseback riding and bike riding adventures. It is very peaceful and restful. The ranch setting and many western touches make you feel like you are in the real west.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new bunkhouse rooms. Spacious & comfortable, super clean, great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Xanadu is about an hour's drive from Tucson, and you couldn't ask for nicer hosts than Karen and Bernie, the owners. I had to get out of my Tucson house for an overnighter, and Xanadu seemed like a great choice. I am frequently in the Sonoita area -- I think it is one of the prettiest areas in Arizona -- and I do a lot of photography in the area. One tip, though: While there are a handful of restaurants in Sonoita, consider packing a cooler in Tucson. Some (if not all) of the units at Xanadu have kitchenettes, so you can prepare some simple meals (e.g., breakfast). Or, you could just pick up some sandwiches at one of the Tucson Whole Foods or Trader Joe's.

The Sonoita area is a ranching community. Nearby is the ghost town of Fairbank and, of course, the not-so-ghost town of Tombstone.

I'll be staying at Xanadu again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

Address: 92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637
Region: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu Ranch GetAway gives you all the amenities to make your stay your way...At the Xanadu you can make your own hot breakfast in your room, we have 3 units with Full Kitchens or go to one of our local places for breakfast.or just have a cup of coffee or tea on us, in the privacy of your own room or outside at one of our comfortable scenic seating areas, watch a DVD movie (all rooms have satellite TV, DVD players and wireless Internet)***All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots & toasters.We are 1 1/2 miles from the Sonoita Crossroads, close to all the finest Restaurants and Shops, in the heart of wine country...If your coming to do the winery's we would recommend stopping at Charron's vineyards just off I-10 6 miles on the left. Then come here and check in as we have a Wine club card, on your room key for discounts and take some of our wine glasses all this will save $. Also we can give you the latest updates and a wine tour vacation guide. Xanadu Means "A place of great beauty, peace and contentment " Dream Land" ! Trip Advisor's # 1 Pick for Sonoita, Elgin, Patagonia, (The Mountain Empire) Certificate of Excellence Winner from Trip Advisor for 2011 & 2013 & 2014 (A big thanks to all our return guests) The # 1 pick for group gatherings, family reunions, Girl's weekend out, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing