We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient with reasonable price.”
Review of Havasupai Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Supai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Havasupai Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Supai
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel near the bottom of the Grand Canyon, in the native american village of Supai, is very nice place to stay for a few days when hiking along Havasupai Creek between Supai and the Colorado River. There are several really nice water falls in the area with wonderful swimming and wading opportunities. There is very little motorized traffic in Supai (besides the very few golf carts and a dump truck or two that are brought down by helicopter) so the atmosphere is very peaceful. We had no television in our room and the amenities are very basic as are the rooms but the price is very reasonable (we paid only $320 for the four of us and stayed there for two nights before we moved down the the campgrounds that exit further down Havasupai Creek.)There are two squares in Havasupai and one must pass through the first square (with the post office next to a general store) and past a school into the second square to arrive at the Havasupai Lodge. We arrived after the lobby closed but there was a young couple just outside the lobby who told us to knock on the door and we will be taken care of. It took just two or three minutes to receive our key and get to our room which was just around the lobby and across a grass courtyard area. The room is very basic but it was strictly for sleeping because no one comes to Supai to stay in a hotel room. The nights here are wonderful with the bright red cliffs surrounding the village and the bright moon illuminating them behind the trees and the quiet!! There are no televisions or radios blaring out sound at all. The only TV that we saw was in the lobby area where the family lives and runs the lodge. This was a magical stay for us.

Room Tip: No pool here but lots of swimming holes. Rooms on the ground floor are best because there is a hose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you want a resort experience, this is not it. If you appreciate a hot shower (it does get hot if you run it long enough) and a comfortable bed after a long hike, the Havasupai Lodge offers that. A bit run-down, certainly, but our room was clean, secure, spacious, and extremely quiet. Good place to rest up! The staff was perfectly courteous and helpful, if not effusively friendly. True, if this lodge was on a commercial strip in Flagstaff it would be overpriced, but did I mention it's at the bottom of the Grand Canyon, 8 miles from a road? I think they do really well, considering the challenges of their location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to see such a well established lodge in the middle of canyons. The place has much more to offer than you would need in a good Havasu falls trip. Hot shower, air conditioned rooms, plenty of electric plugs.. what more could I had asked for! There's a microwave oven in the office, which we used to heat up some food we were carrying with us.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Nikhil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, felt safe and had air conditioning. Unfortunately we did deal with cold showers. Staff was definitely not friendly and they did not even offer coffee or tea. You are basically paying for a room only!!!! The village people definitely weren't on the friendly side although there were a few that were cordial. The café has a lot to be desired. Food was so so. Not what we expected for a café. No alcohol is allowed in the village. The falls were phenomenal!!! The hike was great. Well worth it for us!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I would recommend this lodge if you are planning to hike the 8 miles into the Havasupai. Your room consists of 2 beds, hot shower, clean towels, miniature soaps and shampoos, table, and sofa seat. If you don't want to "rough it" then you can stay here for the basics. The front desk will loan you a towel to take to the falls. You can hike in with less stuff if you stay here. Every ounce counts. Horses graze in the courtyard of the lodge and dogs are around frequently but friendly and used to folks coming and going. Picnic tables and a grill are for your use in the courtyard. Most anything you need can be purchased at the store for a hefty price given the fact of how everything is brought down. (I did not see camp fuel at the store.) The lodge is a great place to stay. Keep in mind that you are about 1 mile from the Navajo falls, a couple miles from the Havasu waterfalls and 3 miles from Mooney falls.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tulipsnspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After a strenuous 8 mile hike even basic comfort would be heaven. If you are looking for a luxury accommodation, then this is definitely not for you. They stick on to their check in times so earlier you arrive, more you wait. We had an hour wait! The lodge has all basic amenities ~ clean beds, clean sheets and towel, clean bathrooms, AC and laundry. You can ask for extra towels for falls at the lobby. There are lot os stray dogs but doesn't really bother you.. they aren't aggressive as they seem. We have been to havasu twice and we did camping once n now we took the lodge. Personally, I prefer the camping only coz you can avoid the extra 2 mile hike to falls everyday! people are friendly. There are quite lot of kids who keeps playing around with you in the lodge. There is a store in town opened until 7pm, you can purchase water and food. There is also a cafeteria, a bit expensive. You have picnic tables in the lawn where you can cook and have your meals. Small pomegranate trees and a view of the majestic canyon walls. I really couldn't complain much about the lodge after a long day. Expecting a luxury stay and complaining about no tv and internet is pointless. Reserve your rooms prior to your trip.

Tip: Start you hike as early as possible.Take lots of water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LalithaKarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My boyfriend and I got caught in a flash flood going down the canyon. We had planned to camp but they had to close the campground. Luckily a nice group we met going down had a cancellation and we were able to get one of their rooms in the lodge. To have a hot shower, clean room, AC, potable water, and friendly companions made what could have been a bad night good.

The lodge has picnic tables where you can eat outside and cook your own food. The food from the cafe in the village was okay. It was real basic stuff like french fries, burgers, and grilled cheese. Everyone swears by the fry bread but they were out when I went in. The cafe was closed Sat & Sun when I was there. The front desk at the lodge has a menu and one of the tribe members will take your dinner order and bring food right to your room! I'd plan to cook your own food if possible though. I also used iodine in the water (you never know!).

I would still prefer camping by the waterfalls but if camping is not an option for you than staying at Havasupai Lodge is certainly the perfect opportunity to explore paradise. Phantom Ranch in the National Park requires reservations a year in advance! I think you'd have better luck w/the Havasupai. Just keep calling. Also they offer helicopter service in/out of the canyon!


The rooms about $159 per night. $45 one time fee to get into the reservation. Helicopter $85 each way per person w/1 bag. About $8 for a hamburger.

I gave 4/5 stars. I agree with some of the other negative reviews on here but we need to remember this is a "hotel" in the middle of the grand canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LostGaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Havasupai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havasupai Lodge

Address: Supai Village trail, Supai, AZ 86435
Region: United States > Arizona > Supai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Supai
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Havasupai Hotel Supai
Havasupai Lodge Supai, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing