We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't visit if you have a large group”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 187 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't visit if you have a large group”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was invited by friends to the Outback Restaurant. This is the second time I visited this restaurant with a large group (12 people). For some unknown reason they do not handle crowds well. The servers seem to be confused handling any more than 4 people at a time. The service was extremely slow and when the food was delivered, they mixed up the orders, The food was only fair. My wife's steak had to be returned because it was so tough you could not cut it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    57
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
534 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Outback is consistently in the game”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our dinner crowd that eat out about 3 times per week really love this Outback. Last night was no exception. Between the 6 of us, we ordered 5 different meals. Two of us ordered Prime Rib. One was medium well and the other was Medium Rare. Both of them came out of the Kitchen at the same time and were cooked to perfection. The other 4 meals were recognized by those who ordered them as being outstanding. The service by our waitress, Brittany, was over the top. She kept our glasses topped off regardless of what we were drinking. The salads to begin the evening were absolutely fresh and very tasty. We have found that the secret to dining at this Outback is to go early. After 5:30, it gets backed up with lots of people. Why wouldn't it, with Service, Great tasting food and very fair prices, everyone wants to eat here. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOODSY1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“misleading advertising ,small portion”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Returned to the on Saturday ,3 of us ordered the half slab of ribs,there was only 4 ribs,that a 1/3 of a slab not a half.When I mentioned it the server she replied our slab of ribs are 8 rib bones.I don't think I will return there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ans550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outback Surprise!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a very good Outback and it appears to be really popular from the early dinner hour until around 8:00pm. They will allow you to dine in the bar and that certainly can help avoid the wait list if seats are available. This was our second visit and both times the staff were helpful and friendly. The dinners and their preparation are true to the brand. It's a bit loud, but what Outback isn't? The kitchen closes rather early. It's a good choice in Surprise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiramhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
534 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Our friends and us love this place. One of our favorites.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Last night we ventured out for a meal and within a very short time, there we were at one of our most favorite restaurants. There were six of us seniors and we all ordered something different. That is very easy to do with the vast menu they maintain. Our waitress was a good sport and was on top of her game as a waitress. Continually keeping all ice tea, water, and soda glasses filled through out the meal. The Prime Rib was some of the best I've ever eaten. My friend to the left of me had a Filet which he bragged about the rest of the night. Suffice it to say, all meals were very, very good and served hot right from the kitchen. I recommend going early (4:00 to 5:30) to avoid the rush and wait. You can expect a delay in seating if you show up after 6 and this will be caused by the popularity of this establishment. Can't go wrong with this OUTBACK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HOODSY1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Sun City, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing