We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay & Will Definitely Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was our family's 2nd stay at the HI Express in Surprise, AZ. We have family in the area and had such a great experience when we stayed here last year, that it was no question we would stay here again this year. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Surprise with abundant restaurant choices in the immediate vicinity. The hotel is clean, clean, clean and the staff (front desk & cleaning) are so nice and accomodating. Both times we requested an early check-in and received it, no problem. On top of that, we requested side-by-side rooms and were accomodated, no problem. The free breakfast is really good, lots of choices, and the dining area spacious and comfortable for the entire family, which includes two little ones. We also take advantage of the pool area which is always clean and never crowded. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We checked in after 9pm but Marvin (I think) and a female collegue were so welcoming. Room very clean, breakfast was very good. If in Surprise again will definitely stay here

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiltonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have family northwest of Phoenix and on our first visit several years ago stayed at an establishment much closer to their home. It was supposed to be fancier and was much more expensive than the Holiday Inn Express in Surprise. Since then, we have always stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, in Surprise, where the people at reception (especially Marvin!) are incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient.
Breakfasts are superior to any we have had in Holiday Inns and similar accomodations all over the country, for not only is the buffet richer than elsewhere but the breakfast staff is always willing to go the extra mile to help with unusual requests.
Everything is clean and modern, the air conditioning is fantastic and housekeeping is quick to respond to requests. Rooms are large, attractive and comfortable. The location is terrific for families: while August in Arizona is a disaster no matter where you are, on a Bar Mitzva trip in March our family enjoyed the empty stadium next door for running around and spent a whole afternoon at the wonderful park down the (with lake, walking/running lanes, lots of grass, beautifully kept up!) Absolutely recommended on every count.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank israeltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticSurprise, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you for the kind words, my staff always appreciates this kind of feedback. As for Marvin, what can I say?! He is exceptional, and that is why he is my AGM and our "Guest Experience Champion"! He is certainly a super guy and knows how to deliver exceptional customer service and make our guests feel at home. Hope you have safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Will Nielsen (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at this property 3 years ago when it was brand new, barely opened. i enjoyed my stay and thought it was a lovely Holiday Inn (a hotel chain that was high on my list at that time). My stay at this location changed my opinion of the chain.

Last week i found myself needing accommodation in Surprise, AZ and immediately thought of the Holiday Inn I so enjoyed. I booked my room and hoped for the best, after all
it was 3 years since my last visit.

To my surprise (no pun intended) it was still a lovely, clean hotel. I was so impressed with the well appointed, clean room, satisfying breakfast (who doesn't like warm cinnamon rolls), and pleasant staff. Marvin, GM, is the best...customer service skill second to none.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maerieg_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticSurprise, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for the kind words. And yes Marvin is the best, guess thats why we call him Marvelous Marvin! We look for ward to your future visit!

Cheers,
Will GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We can't ask for more in this hotel. You feel like home, specially when you are 3,000 miles away. From Front Desk to the Cleaning people, they were so nice that we'll be back for another week in August.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lela1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticSurprise, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for the compliments! We look forward to your future visits!

Cheers,
Will GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Great value, very clean. Loved breakfast. Didn't enjoy the Pro Rookie Baseball players gawking around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillWeaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticSurprise, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for the compliments! Please let me know in the future if any part of your stay is not comfortable and I will personally see to it that any issues are addressed and resolved.

Cheers,
Will GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The employees were polite and responsive to the needs of their guests. The location is convenient to shopping and dining. I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciceroillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surprise hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
2.7 mi away
Windmill Suites in Surprise
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Address: 16540 N Bullard Ave, Surprise, AZ 85374-7601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surprise
#6 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range: £92 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surprise Hotel Located in a Growing Community From booming business districts to breath-taking landscapes, the Surprise, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites neighbors attractions for every taste. Our Surprise hotel stands only thirty miles from downtown Phoenix, in one of the nation's fastest growing communities. Business travelers will enjoy our convenient location near Arizona's thriving businesses. Our Surprise, Arizona hotel near Phoenix's Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and Deer Valley Airport (DVT) makes it easier to travel in and out of the area. Our Greater Phoenix hotel is also located near many major businesses, such as Toyota, Volvo Ford and Daimler-Chrysler. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being surrounded by Speedworld Raceway, Glendale Arena , multiple top-rated golf courses and both Peoria and Surprise stadiums (Spring Training Center for Kansas Royals and Texas Rangers) . Visitors of our Surprise, AZ hotel can also head outdoors to hike Piestewa Peak's popular Summit Trail for a breath-taking view of the city or revel in the beauty of the Desert Botanical Garden's thriving plants. No matter where you go, our newly-built Surprise hotel rooms with free high-speed Internet access will always welcome you back for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Surprise Hotel Surprise
Surprise Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing