We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Trabuco Canyon, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights visiting a friend in the nearby area. The front desk staff were very pleasant. The lobby is very welcoming - complimentary newspapers and a bowl of fresh apples. The rooms were "roomy" and well laid out and had a separate bedroom/living area, each with it's own TV. A nice little kitchenette is also in the room. I really liked the idea of complimentary coffee/tea/iced water station outside the downstairs elevators - especially after a long trip! The room was lovely and cool when we arrived and the bed so comfy. Thanks for all the extra pillows (I think 6 in all) - a nice touch so one can sit up in bed and read or watch TV.
The complimentary breakfast consisted of ready-made cheese omelettes and sausage patties, various breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices etc. and a "make your own" waffle station. The lady in charge kept the tables clean and neat.
Overall, a very pleasant stay at a VERY reasonable price! Thank you!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra and chose a room facing inwards towards the pool (as apposed to the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
“Great Hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review of our Surprise/Sun City West property.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their service during your stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable bedding, the layout of your suite, our complimentary breakfast and our additional amenities offered.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    131
    49
    14
    15
See reviews for
227
149
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our first time three night stay at this hotel and everything was excellent. We have driven down Bell Road in Surprise many times and not seen this hotel which is a block off Bell. They have a sign on Bell but it is easily missed. The hotel is very impressive from the street including the entry and a small pond next door. Our check-in experience was great and informative. Our room was quite nice with fantastic housekeeping. A card in the room said our room attendant was Elvira. It's amazing how she made the bed daily without the slightest wrinkle. Outside temperature during our stay was over 100 degrees but our room thermostat kept the room perfect at our 71 degree setting. One morning I spilled a glass of orange juice on the breakfast patio and Leonisa was there in a moment with a smile ready to clean up my mess. There is a very good restaurant less than100 feet from the hotel lobby and parking was convenient to our room. The TV was excellent as was the free WI-FI.
One minor glitch, on our last evening a City water main broke across from the hotel leaving us without water for a few hours. However, the hotel staff immediately offered any needed assistance and brought in water, etc. and even offered to relocate us to another hotel, which we declined, and all worked out perfectly. Be assured, we will return for another visit.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room near entry C was most convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
“The Windmill is a keeper!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review of the Windmill Suites in Surprise!

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the amenities offered.

Elvira and Loeniza will be recognized their hospitality provided to you during your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were really pleased with this hotel when we stayed for 3 nights in July. While it is a little old and could benefit from some updating, the room was immaculate with plenty of room. We would have liked another waste basket or two, but other than that, no complaints. The breakfast was typical hotel, nothing fancy, but fine. The front desk crew was friendly and voluntarily helpful. It was also great that there were plenty of food options within walking distance or a short drive. All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerluv0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
“Very Good Hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding the cleanliness and size of your suite.

We will praise our team members for their friendly and helpful service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

very nice hotel,good service.not great but good.mostly friendly people.room was excepionaly clean and very nice...big rooms,some of the lights didnt work but they were ones that didnt matter much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
“Very nice”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about our Surprise Windmill Inn. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team members.

We are pleased you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite. Please accept our apologies for some of the lights in your suite not working. This issue has been addressed with our housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

we taken trips to AZ for about 20 years to visit family. we have been staying at the windmill suites surprise during those visits. The place is clean, hotel staff are pleasant, the price is right, there is plenty of space in the rooms, and they keep it cool in the summer heat. we have stayed here no less than 50 times over the years, same service every time.

Room Tip: the free breakfast buffet in the morning will keep you going until lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

We appreciate your positive review of our Surprise location!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and size of your suite. Our team members will be recognized for their pleasant service during your visits with us.

Thank you for being a loyal guest over the past 20 years! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting family!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Vacations are fun but It is not always easy traveling with kids & pets. We were checking in pets for doggy daycare at Grand Pet Resort right next door on Bell Road and were referred to Windmill Suites. Our room had plenty of space for all 5 in my family plus our 2 pets.. without having to risk doing 2 rooms at the kids ages. The check in process with Brianna was so easy. We will certainly stay at any Windmill Suites in the future. Rates were very reasonable, pool is nice, breakfast was great, common areas (including pet areas) were clean. Beds were comfy & the sliding door between living area and bedroom allowed for privacy when baby needed to get rest while others watched tv.

Room Tip: end of the hallway at back of hotel is a great place for pets to access pet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments!

We are glad the layout of our suite accommodated your family’s needs. We will praise Brianna for her efficiency during the check in process.

We are also happy to read you enjoyed our pool and our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our property.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at Windmill Suites in Surprise for the first time this year when we visited family and it was a great place to stay. The room was great, nice and well kept. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning everyday. The front desk staff was wonderful, friendly, patience and helpful. Location was perfect with lots of things around. I plan to stay at Windmill Suites for all my visits. I have recently been traveling for work and found this hotel out did everyone hotel that I have stayed in. This is a keeper.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your review you posted on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at our Surprise location!

We appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness and design of your suite. We will recognize our team members for their hospitality.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return visits!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surprise hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Property: Windmill Suites in Surprise
Address: 12545 W Bell Rd, Surprise, AZ 85378-9736
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surprise
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous hot breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, Eggs, Bacon, Gravy and Briskets, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing