We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windmill Suites; Surprise, AZ; I've stayed at Resorts for $310+ it didn't even come close to this!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I've stayed at Resorts for $310+ per night and none of them even comes close to this place! The best service I've ever had at any hotel or suite! So clean, really nice suites with White Down Comforters... What a great value for everything you get! Fresh cookies in the afternoon. Quiet secure facility. I have nothing but praise for this facility and it's Staff and Owner. What a great Quality and Marketing plan they have!!! Wow!!!

M. Cetrone
Dearborn Heights, Michigan

Room Tip: We especially liked our room on the ground floor with patio looking on the pool and lake. We went ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCetrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

“Windmill Suites, Surprise, AZ; I’ve stayed at Resorts for $310+ it didn’t come close to this!!!”

Dear Ms. MaryCetrone,

Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor! Our team members will be recognized for their service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness and security of our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies and our patio suite facing the pool area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Surprise!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was my family's first stay in Surprise, and we were definitely "surprised" by the quality of our visit. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable, with lots of amenities. Phoenix is less than an hour away, so everything you need is close by. Breakfast in the morning was great, and we grabbed a snack of an apple or cookie by the front desk before we left. This hotel certainly exceeded expectations! We'll sure to stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

“Windmill Suites, Surprise, AZ”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels to Arizona!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A great suite hotel for the money. The staff is very attentive to your needs. Whatever we requested, ie, towels, sheet, extra blanket they responded immediately and were very pleasant. Not a new hotel, but everything was clean and the entire staff was pleasant and helpful. It was also great that the bathroom could be accessed from the living area and the bedroom so we could have privacy if the kids needed to use the bathroom. Only negative is the slooooooowww elevator, but we took the stairs for exercise most of the time. A great place to stay in Surprise!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaGlenHead_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

“Windmill Suites in Surprise in March”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Surprise property! We will share your comments with our team members and recognize them for their hospitality.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We thank you for your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our first trip to Surprise for Spring Training, celebrating our 25th anniversary. Front desk staff were excellent, very friendly and willing to accommodate everyone. We did not have any special requests but I overheard others who did and they were more than willing to help them. Breakfast was typical for a continental breakfast. Nothing over the top but more than enough choices for everyone. I did appreciate the seating in lobby and outside patio. Only once in 5 days did we not have a place to sit. That just depends on when everyone else goes down to eat. Hot tub and heated pool were very nice and they have large Tupperware containers (one with clean towels and one for your wet towels). This saved you from having to bring your towels from your room. The 24/7 coffee and water was a plus too. Only downfall is maybe the elevator which is small and sometimes the wait for it is long. The stairs are right across from elevator so you don't have to walk to the end of the hall like in some hotels. We were more than able to use the stairs which we did the whole time - we needed the exercise). As for the rooms..very clean and neat. Not the most updated furniture you could find in some of the fancier hotels but then again we were there to sight see not camp out in our rooms. The little mini kitchenette was a plus! The sliding doors separating the bedroom and living room area was one of my favorite amenities. I could sleep if my husband woke up earlier. Two entrances to the bathroom was nice too..one from bedroom and one from living room. Nice to also have two sink areas. My absolutely favorite part of the room was the pillows!! I wish I knew where they got them. I even looked for tags. We had a king bed so having 6-8 pillows was awesome! And a big shout out to Tivoli Gardens across the street. If you stay at Windmill you have to eat at least once at Tivoli. It was awesome! Staff there were so friendly. It does cater to the gray headed crowd so we looked like teenagers which made us feel young. (we are 46 and 50). They have karaoke singers in there every night and they are pretty darn good. Everything you could want in way of stores are within a mile (at Grand/Bell). So all in all - a great trip! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

“First stay at Windmill Suites”

Dear Ms. Amy N,

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the design of our suite and the nearby restaurant. We are also happy to know you appreciated the additional amenities offered to our guests throughout our hotel.

Please contact JD King at our support office at 480-443-0909 and he would be happy to give you the information regarding our pillows and where they can be purchased.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was the 5th time we have stayed at Windmill Suites in Surprise, AZ. We WILL return again in the Fall. (for Fall Baseball) The Staff is EXCELLENT with always a pleasant smile and a willingness to be helpful.

The breakfast was very good. They have moved the "seating area" into the lobby or the outdoor patio. This provides much more room as the "breakfast area" is just for food. There is a good selection and they do keep tabs on what needs to be replenished.

We had asked for a room close to the lobby as my husband has trouble walking. We were put into room 101 which was the closest to the lobby and had a nice outdoor patio to use. We were most appreciative. Hopefully during our next visit, we'll be able to have the same room!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pema27quid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

“Another Great Visit!!!!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the redesign of our breakfast room.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was our 2nd stay here to attend Texas Rangers Spring Training. (Go Rangers) The beds are comfortable. The hospitality if wonderful. All the staff, from Mara and Kristin in the business off to the desks attendants and housekeeping saw to all of our needs. The Breakfast bar which was great last year was improved this year just by moving tables to the patio and re-arranging the set up area of the food. Outstanding job! You have to go early to avoid the rush because food goes fast and it is hard to keep everything hot and fresh. An added plus is the 24/7 coffee, tea and water available. The pool and hot tub were always well attended by families and the area was well kept. There are many good restaurants in the area, especially Tivoli Gardens across the street. Caters to the senior crowd, but good food and the music was great for dancing. We plan on staying here next year again on our annual trek to watch our team.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klhayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

“A Wonder in Surprise!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Surprise property! Mara, Kristin and our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds, our newly redesigned breakfast buffet area and the additional amenities offered to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during Spring Training! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My family stayed here to attend baseball Spring Training games in Surprise. This was our second stay and we would stay again. The two-room suites have very comfortable beds, and the friendly staff was exceptional. Only a few minutes from the stadium and several restaurants. But - the continental breakfast is below average and crowded. My advise is to skip it and eat at the inexpensive restaurant (Tivoli Gardens) directly across the street which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Perhaps the hotel is due for a re-design and updates but it's still a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSNKCnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

“Would stay again”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the nearby restaurants.

In regards to the breakfast comment, we have made changes to our breakfast area to reduce overcrowding. Our guests have relayed positive feedback to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surprise hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Address: 12545 W Bell Rd, Surprise, AZ 85378-9736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surprise
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
Price Range: £65 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous hot breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, Eggs, Bacon, Gravy and Briskets, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing