We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Tempe AZ”
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The accommodations and staff were amazing. From the moment we arrived until we left, they took care of our every need. Awesome location, very close to Scottsdale and Phoenix. The lobby bar and bartender became our favorites. Highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are pleased to learn our ideal location fit your needs perfectly and you enjoyed our friendly associates and W XYZ Bar. Superior customer service is a main priority for us and we pride ourselves on providing exceptional stays to each of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

These guys are true pros. I work in the hotel Industry and the GM and front desk manager are on it. I was doing a local conference and had a ton of bags, shipping issues, and other problems I had to work out and they were so helpful and went out of their way to assist.
The rooms are comfy, and modern and a great hotel for business travelers as the rooms have lots of plugs and a desk and free wi if and water. Will for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside" room , opposite the highway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you're looking for a change from your run of the mill Courtyard, Hampton Inn, or Holiday Inn, an Aloft might be for you. As most of the other reviews state, the guest accommodations are quite unique - like something you would picture in Europe or in a modern single person's city loft apartment. The beds are low to the ground, the decor is artsy/contemporary, and there are no dressers.

Let me start with the positive, since it is the only reason this hotel earned 3 stars from me:
* Friendly attentive staff - went out of their way to help me
* Great set up for working with plenty of outlets near the desk
* Fantastic location - close to downtown Tempe/ASU, downtown Phoenix, and many of the spring training stadiums. In addition, there is a Starbucks, an In-N-Out Burger, and a Jersey Mike's sub shop directly across the street. Big ups for that.
* Complimentary Wi-Fi

Cons:
* Generally dingy, run down, and dirty. My room had a stained carpet, what appeared to be spackle or wallpaper glue on the wall, and the wallpaper was peeling in various parts of the room. The common areas/hallways were also dirty and needed replacing or a good cleaning
* Beds not all that comfortable, pillows were definitely NOT comfortable
* The heating/cooling unit in my room stopped working on the last morning of my stay - not enough for me to call about it, but if I was staying longer I would have had to. As it was I had to simply unplug the whole unit.

I'm still undecided on if I will return, but odds are I will probably try someplace else - but that In-N-Out Burger certainly is convenient!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location but what a dirty, run down property! The staff is unhelpful and is not trained to deal with customers whose expectations are not met. This might be OK for a college dorm but not a place for a slightly more mature traveler. Everything in this hotel looks second hand and poorly cleaned rooms, according to the front desk, "meet our standards".

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LvTtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We regret to hear your stay was not what you had hoped it would be. We have addressed your comments with our team and can assure you our customer’s expectations are our number one priority and should always be treated with the utmost importance. We understand that our chic, trendier design isn't for everyone, however we do our very best to ensure our guests are provided with superior customer service for an exceptional stay each time. We hope that you will give us another try in the future so we can make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Pro's:
1) easy check in
2) very friendly staff
3) complimentary Dasani water in room
4) fast wifi
5) comfortable lounge area
6) wxyz bar
7) quiet room
8) room has plenty of outlets for all of your gadgets

Improvements
1) beds aren't that comfortable
2) showers have very low water pressure. I actually checked out a day early because of this. The hotel is LEED certified which is terrific, but I've been to several LEED properties with greater water pressure.
3) quality of the bedding isn't very comfortable
4) In an effort to keep the room less cluttered, the beds only come with two pillows and there is a spare pillow in the bathroom, for a total of three in the room. Of course housekeeping will bring you more if you wish.

The Tempe location and staff does a fine job.

The Aloft brand is a very interesting hotel concept. I'm a business traveler and I wouldn't necessarily say this is a business hotel but more of a fun weekend getaway type of property.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowens86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We appreciate the time you took to share your review with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and complimentary amenities. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future so that we can provide you with another exceptional stay and improve upon your recent stay as well. Thanks again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have been staying at the Aloft Tempe for 4 years now. We come every year in March to watch a plethora of Spring training baseball. The Inn-N-Out across the street is amazing and if you don't wanna get breakfast from the hotel, there is starbucks right across the street. The concerige is great and the hip modern feel of the hotel makes for a fresh feeling everytime you walk in. Also very close to the airport. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We appreciate the time you took to write a review. It delights us to hear you have enjoyed multiple stays with us and we greatly appreciate your continued loyalty. As the Spring Training season approaches we look forward to welcoming you back again for another exceptional stay. Thanks again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just returned from a 7 day stay here, between Christmas and New Years.

Pros:
Convenient location, very friendly staff, hot or cold breakfast available for a reasonable price. Very hip atmosphere.
Free wifi
Comfortable room
Fridge in room

Cons:
The only complaint we had was noise. There is noise from the drivethrough speaker of In 'n Out across the street plus Harley motorcycles accelerating on the onramp to the freeway. We switched to the "pool" side, which fixed the drivethrough issue, but continual noise from the freeway, non-stop planes, and internal noise from the fridge and "window" heating/cooling was still challenging. We unplugged the fridge and heater, which helped a lot.
Expect freeway noise and plane noise.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for "poolside" for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#11 of 53 in Tempe
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 53 in Tempe
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £67 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Tempe offering guests a new modern, state-of-the-art facility in a LEED Certified environment. Guests will love to meet, mix and mingle with friends and colleagues at the ever popular and social w xyz bar, where they can enjoy a glass of vino or our signature elixirs and appetizers while shooting a game of billiards and spinning their favorite tunes. They can also partake in sweet, savory and healthy snacks available from re:fuel our 24/7 grab-n-go pantry. Plus, guests can always stay connected with complimentary WIFI and stay fit with Re:charge fitness center and Splash outdoor pool. Arf Program includes dogs travel free with no pet deposits. Convenient location near ASU and Sun Devils Stadium. Easy access to Tempe, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa and 4 miles to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Cost effective dining options across the street-In 'n Out Burger, Waba Grill, Jersey Mike's Subs, Panchero's and Starbucks. Style at a Steal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing