We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an affordable price”
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

While traveling back to Texas from LA, we stopped here for the night. What a great hotel! From check-in to drinks served poolside to check-out, the service was terrific. Our room was spacious and trendy. The hotel has amenities not usually found in roadside travel. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to learn you had such an enjoyable stay with us and our accommodating associates and convenient hotel amenities made your stay memorable. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    111
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
35
47
30
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I can stay at pretty much any hotel when I travel for work and I love many of the big time resorts in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. But, resort fees and guard gates and parking fees can all be such a drag. I'd rather take my clients out for a killer dinner. I love the consistency of Starwood brands like Aloft. This hotel is centrally located, near the airport, close to the good Tempe area energy... I stayed there for two nights last week... it's just a winner. (next to a Starbucks and a Yogurtland and a Dennys... and right off the freeway) I'll still do the fancy Scottsdale hotels, but for many of my trips, this property and ones just like it are exactly what I want!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NH
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It is difficult to describe this hotel because it is different from all others I have visited. That isn't a bad thing. When you walk in, the reception desk is in the middle of the room. There is a pool table and tables and chairs and also a bar for your enjoyment. We visited three weeks ago and stayed two nights. We are from the east coast and we had friends come in from California the day after we arrived. The hotel was EXTREMELY accommodating by letting us put a cooler in their room with some surprises we bought them. The gentleman with the blonde hair in reception put it together. We thank him so much for letting us do this. There is a pool which is nice to swim in to cool off. It isn't anything special but I am sure it will get more use as it gets warmer out. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. Why did people make such negative comments about the rooms???? Give me a break. We had a room for two nights and also went to our friend's room for a night and both were very nice. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are great and everything is clean. We are in tough times so staff is limited at almost every place visited or our own jobs or any place except a resort. When I read the negative reviews before I left I was leery about the hotel but I can only assume the negative comments were left by extremely picky people. Read my other reviews...I normally receive fantastic service and am satisfied with almost every place I visit. I don't want others to be swayed by the negativity. This is located in the city area, close to the highway, and very close to University of Arizona. Cities aren't quiet. This hotel was very inexpensive and worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvStormyHudson_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Aloft Tempe is well located off the 202, about 10 minutes east of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. The hotel south of Scottsdale, west of Mesa and on the northern edge of Tempe. For business travelers (and coffee lovers), there is a Starbucks that is walking distance (or via drive-thru) in the strip mall directly across from the hotel. Said strip mall has additional retail food places, like Jersey Mikes and In-and-Out Burger. A short drive away, you’ll find the Tempe Marketplace, which has a number of sit down and fast food locations (The Keg, Kabuki, Yogi’s Grill) as well as shopping and a movie theater. Heading into Tempe near the ASU campus (about 5 minutes away), you will find even more food choices on and around Mill Street. The Aloft, if you’ve not stayed at one before, is hotel with functionally-designed rooms -- two desk areas flank a bench that doubles as seating or as a place to lay out your luggage. Across from this space is your bed (or beds), with reading light directly above. The bath area is compact, but very functional. The toilet and shower are separated from the vanity area by a mirrored door. Across from the vanity, you’ll find a series of cubbyholes for hanging clothes and placing your belongings. This area also contains an in-room coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The décor is modern and color scheme is gray tones. The rooms with double beds have more than enough counter space for multiple people to share. There is a small retail store downstairs with meals and snacks open 24 hours. There is also a pool, outdoor seating, an exercise room, a pool table, and generous space for hanging out in the lobby, not to mention the xyz Bar. But what I like most about the hotel is its staff. People go out of their way to talk with you and make sure you have what you need. I have made six trips to the Phoenix area in the past year and a half, and I always go back to the Aloft for the comfort, convenience, location and staff; and last but not least, the General Manager Jamie is just the best.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool or back courtyard area. Also, there are a small bank of rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverLoseUrPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Convenient to sky harbor airport and ASU. Starbucks and In-n-out burgers across the street. Basic layout but no surprises. Plenty of convenient free parking. Didn't try the pool. Good bedding. Comfortable climate control. It's not a luxury hotel but that's not why you stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to learn that our convenient location and ideal amenities made your stay very enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The immediate surroundings aren't exactly gorgeous--basically a parking lot by the river--but if you have a car this is a convenient base to stay at while visiting Phoenix and the surrounding areas.

A group of us stayed for a few days to catch some spring training games in Scottsdale and Mesa (and a hockey game in Glendale). Each place was accessible within 20-45-min. drives, and having the hotel be so close to Sky Harbor made coordinating everyone's arrivals and departures much easier. The clincher is that the rooms were about $100/night cheaper than even the Best Western-type chains in Scottsdale proper.

The guys who tended the lobby bar were fun to hang out with, the rest of the staff were helpful and efficient. Beds and baths are totally decent, as is the fitness room. The wifi crapped out a little for the folks who were staying in rooms further away from the center of the building.

If the little lobby store offerings aren't substantial enough, there's a clutch of fast food options within a short walking distance, and the Tempe bar/restaurant drag is a few-minute car ride across the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachse, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a very used Hotel, may look somewhat new from the outside but the inside is showing alot of wear and tear, carpets are filthy as are the elevators. I asked before leaving the Hotel at what time the bar closed for food and I was told Midnigh, came in at 11:40 only to find out that they decided to close early so i left to bed hungry. I requested foam pillows and I was told they have none, so if you are alergic to downpillows this is not the place for you. The room as are all the Aloft Hotels are very small and only have showers no bath. The ammenities are below par. The staff is friendly but cant make up the difference for the wear and tear the Hotel is starting to show.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumMember174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience the issues you described caused you during your recent stay. In the future, please call down to the front desk so that we can address these issues immediately for you and create the most positive experience possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Property: Aloft Tempe
Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing