We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great corse, but undulations galore”

ASU Karsten Golf Course
Ranked #2 of 18 Outdoor Activities in Tempe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Arizona State University campus, this 18-hole championship golf course offers plenty of mounds and water, plus a good mixture of hole lengths and doglegs for a challenging game.
Hutto, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great corse, but undulations galore”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our group played here June 12th, and enjoyed the round. The greens were moist and very undulating. The fairways were plentiful with sand traps and their own mounds and undulations. Staff was very friendly and the 19th hole was wonderful and spacious. I would play here again as the summmer price was perfect at $27.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ASU Karsten Golf Course”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great track with a lot of history tied to ASU. Front 9 is target golf where accuracy off the tee enhances your ability to score well. Nice pace to greens and well manicured course. Back 9 is a totally different golf course. Longer, wider fairways, challenging water related hazards. 14-18 is a great stretch of holes. Hurry up and play here ASU is planning to retire the course and build more academic buildings for their empire.....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“While you can”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great course that requires you to stay in the middle. Lots of mounds to climb over. I have been there many times and the course is well maintained and you should not lose any balls. Great greens that putt true. The food and service is great for a golf course.

Get there soon as it is going away moving toward ASU increasing their campus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank txpremie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We played ASU Karsten as well as a few other courses while in Phoenix. The course was nice enough but many of the holes seemed fairly similar. It didn't seem to be too difficult a course as you could usually recover from a bad tee shot with it being a links style course. I will say that it wasn't too expensive for a round which was nice and it was enjoyable enough. I would play other courses in Phoenix before going back here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ASU Golf”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cannot say it is player friendly, therefore if your USGA HDCP is 20 or more, it will be a frustrating round. Fairways for the most part are narrow, with snow ski type moguls on both sides. A errant drive and your next stroke could be most awkward, if the green is visible. Bunkers are strategically placed, short/long approach, your "sandy". Water a major hazard on 9 and 18. Greens typically are large, and quick, along with gentle slopes and breaks that are difficult to detect.
Yes, I will play it again, and if I "am on", great track. If I struggle, "grrrrrrrr"! But that's golf...........

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ASU Karsten Golf Course also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to ASU Karsten Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing