We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scariest hotel-airport shuttle driver ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked this room through Priceline, which perhaps was my first error in judgment (and will be the topic of another review). At the airport, I phoned the hotel to send the shuttle, and the van arrived within the 15 minutes expected, which was great. But that was the only thing positive about the experience. The van was old and ratty and the floor was littered with food wrappers and other debris, but the main feature of this complaint was the driver, who seemed either too disabled to be driving, or on drugs. I was the only passenger aboard, unfortunately. I sat in the middle of the seat behind him. He seemed nice, but it was impossible to understand almost anything he said, and his body jerked around randomly like a friend I have who suffers from Parkinson's. I am sympathetic with the issues of having a disorder like that -- but my friend doesn't drive, and he definitely doesn't drive for a living. No one with motor control issues should be behind the wheel. Perhaps this driver didn't have Parkinson's but was on drugs? Either way, it was a terrifying ordeal as he sped along passing cars quickly, changing lanes frequently, tailgating, and turning around constantly to look and talk to me for far too long. Then halfway through the trip he took a radio call saying he was late to pick someone up back at the airport so he increased his speed even more while twitching and jerking and turning around to talk to me. I was literally shaking when the van finally dropped me off at the hotel entrance. It was an unbelievable experience.

On the good side of the hotel, the desk clerk was terrific, and because I had to leave the next morning before their free breakfast buffet opened, she said I could get a to-go box from the cafe that night, which was helpful.

Another downside is I arrived when it was 102 degrees outside and the room's AC was shut off. It also was broken, I found, so the clerk brought me a new key for another room -- she was a terrific desk clerk. However, the AC was also shut off in that room. This seemed inane, because when they know a guest is arriving, most hotels will make the rooms comfortable, whether needing heating or cooling. The room took a looooonnnggg time to cool down enough to sleep.

Finally, the hotel's airport shuttle service didn't begin until 6 a.m., which is beyond ridiculous. All other hotels that offer shuttles run either 24/7 or their shuttles begin no later than 4:45 a.m. (I have since doublechecked). My flight was at 7 a.m., so a 6 a.m. shuttle wouldn't cut it, so I had to order a taxi, which cost $22 including a $2.50 tip.

While I was financially ticked off about this, I knew that if the same shuttle driver was driving my morning shuttle there is no way I would ride with him again, so in a way it seemed like $22 was cheap to possibly save my life.

What torques me is that I only opted to go with Priceline after filtering their search for "airport shuttle." Well, yeah, they have a shuttle, but it's operated by someone who should not be driving, and its hours are so limited as to be laughable. Phoenix is an international airport, which means planes fly in and out early in the morning. To only offer a shuttle starting at 6 a.m. is a joke. And to offer a shuttle driven in a dangerous fashion should be against the law.

Also, the hotel grounds needed serious sweeping. And for the first 15 minutes I was in my room, several guys stood outside swearing (I can swear with the best of them, but don't want to hear it public) and talking about the police who were there earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martello2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I am sorry that your experience with our shuttle was not up to your expectations. I will speak with my drivers about their behavior, driving and the condition of the shuttle. I do know which driver you speak of, he is rather hyper, but I assure you in the 3 years he has worked for us he is very hard working and has not had any accidents.

I apologize that our airport shuttle hours did not work for your travel plans. We do have our shuttle hours of 6am-10pm specifically posted on that website so guests are aware of the shuttle availability. I apologize that despite this our shuttle hours did not meet your needs.

I am glad to see the the FD & cafe staff provided you the level of service that we pride ourselves on.

Due to similar sentiments recently, we have had our staff leave our AC units at a certain designated temperature instead of completely off. We are now pre-assigning rooms in the morning so we have the AC units ready.

I would like to discuss your reservation in further detail. Please contact me directly at (480) 897-7900 or aschanze@innsuites.com so that we can speak directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is a great value. It's clean & set up like a Pueblo Village with courtyards. They have happy hr. every day with complimentary wine or beer & appetizers. You can upgrade you're drink for a dollar. It's convenient to the airport. Only 15 min away. Everyone is friendly. The breakfast is good. The beds are comfy. They also have a shuttle to the airport. Downtown Phoenix is not that far away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful Comments about your recent stay. As you encountered during your stay here, our Complimentary Social Hour and our Free Hearty Hot & Healthy Breakfast Buffet are our most complimented of our many free amenities. As you stated, we are very conveniently located close to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, and a very short drive to Downtown Phoenix. We look forward to your return during your next trip to the Phoenix/Tempe area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast included with our rate was outstanding. I would stay here again and plan on doing that soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

On behalf of my staff, thank you for your praise of your recent stay. It is our goal that all guests leave our hotel with similar sentiments, and I am glad to see that our efforts are being noticed. Our guests frequently praise the wonderful quality of our signature Cloud9 Bedding program, and the Hot, Hearty & Healthy breakfast buffet provided free to all of our registered guests. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked this hotel for 4 nights, first time in Phoenix, liked the amenities,room pictures, and price. Didn't realize its an open complex to the street, with sidewalks and shaded sitting areas, access to pool and café building to anyone, not limited to guests at all. Arguments and fights outside my room during the night, and lots of homeless people walking around, helping themselves to free breakfast, no one there to manage who was at café and weather you were a guest to get your breakfast or use pool. Got my food, nowhere to sit, went back to room to eat. Called front desk to let them know that no one was checking to see if they were guests at café. Was told the hotel was very busy, didn't seem to care about my concerns. ended up checking out without refund of last 3 nights, found a safer place to stay for $4 more/ night. Still trying to get refund. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbill72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our property during your recent visit due to other guests. As we discussed last week, we have authorized the 3rd party on line travel agency you paid your reservation through to refund you for the nights that went unused. I will work with my cafe staff to modify the methods for which we are verifying the status of the people at our breakfast. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can address it. If you need any further assistance with your reservation or the refund that is to be provided by the website you booked on, please contact me directly at (480) 897-7900 or at aschanze@innsuites.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading mixed reviews I was hesitant to stay on a holiday weekend. Check in was fast/efficient. I was upgraded to a Jacuzzi Suite, I'm guessing because I needed only one bed and mostly families were staying for Memorial Weekend. Room was large, with a Large flatscreen in the separate living room area, and a great balcony. The bathroom was updated, with a large jacuzzi tub which was a nice bonus. Breakfast was more than sufficient with great service. I will return when I am in need of a room near the airport. Go there with the mindset that you aren't expecting the Ritz. You will be pleasantly surprised with the value you receive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidinRocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to our property. As you experienced, our value far outweighs our cost. I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our spacious Presidential Suites during your stay. If you stay at our hotel due to its location close to Sky Harbor, call us directly next time to ask about our Park & Fly specials that include parking during your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

To break it down in simple form..
Manager very unprofessional. Was saying the f word in front of customers.
Rooms are small and horrible and doesn't fit the description listed online.
why ask for certain requests from customers, if they aren't going to fulfill them?

After staying here, as a family and for our safety we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am the General Manager of the hotel, and I am shocked that you overheard one of my staff members having a conversation with such language. Please contact me directly at (480) 897-7900 or aschanze@innsuites.com so that I can get more information about your experience. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience this visit and I hope to speak with you directly so that I can make sure to resolve your issues directly and find out more about this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room was a good size and clean, had a flatscreen tv, comfy bed, and a fridge. Everything was in good working order. Staff were friendly and service was good.
The buffet breakfast was good offering several choices and their social hour where they offered two free beers or soda's along with chips, popcorn, etc. was good also. They had a nice pool and sitting area which was nice to relax by in the evening.
It is in a great location with easy access to the freeways and several restaurants & stores close by. Arizona Mills Mall is just across the street which you can walk to.
Good value for budget hotel, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay. As you noticed during your stay, all of our InnSuite Extras make the value of our stay very attractive to guests staying in the Tempe area. We are proud to offer a Free Hot & Healthy buffet breakfast, Free social hour, 30mg fiber wired & wifi HSIA, Free Sky Harbor Airport shuttle (6a-10p), and free bottled water upon check-in to Every guest, Every day of the week. Our location, near Phoenix Sky Harbor and across the street from Arizona Mills, is one of our greatest assets for our guests. We look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to the Tempe/Phoenix area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
2.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites

Address: 1651 W Baseline Rd, Tempe, AZ 85283-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range: £56 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business and leisure travel, we set a new standard among Tempe hotels for hotel accommodations, free amenities and superior service in Phoenix/East Valley-area. Delight in magnificent mountain views. Enjoy nearby ASU, golf courses, renowned attractions, decadent dining, spectacular shopping options and exciting sports events around the Phoenix/Chandler/Mesa/Gilbert area. Suite Luxury for Less with Cloud 9 Beds & Bedding and FREE: Shuttle to Sky Harbor 24/7 Daily, Hot Full Breakfast, WiFi, Evening Social Hour & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IBC Hospitality, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport Inn Tempe
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport Innsuites Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing