We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gentleman that did the maintenance and served breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    202
    132
    94
    82
See reviews for
309
137
67
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2013 Spring Training trip for SF Giants. Stayed six nights, and would definitely return! The manager and his staff are the best we have ever experienced. Five stars !
The comp breakfast was excellent. Great location. Convenient to stores. Short drive to Old Town Scottsdale
and Scottsdale Stadium.
Rooms are spacious, recently refurbished, and well equipped. (Refrigerator, security safe, etc)
NOTE: No Dodger fans allowed. :)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear John,
The staff here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe thanks you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your stay was a great one, and your thoughtful comments have been passed along. This is why we do what we do, and as a valued guest you can expect to be treated with kindness and respect. It is our constant goal to keep you comfortable, well accommodated, and smiling. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our tasty complimentary hot breakfast, and were able to get around smoothly on the nearby freeways. All of our rooms do contain the mini-fridge and security safe, as well as sink and counter space, a microwave, two LCD flat screen TVs, and a comfy couch aside from the bed/beds. Of course, we welcome any and all baseball team fans here—staying with us for Spring Training games is a blast! We are close to each of the East Valley training stadiums. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites- we hope to see you again next spring!
Cheers,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the convenience to the airport and multiple Spring Training stadiums. The traffic from Southern Avenue is loud. The breakfast buffet choices are scrambled eggs, plain bagels or cereal. Don't try to take breakfast back to the room, because that is not allowed. Our teenagers used the pull out sofa bed and complained how uncomfortable it was. The workout machines were nice, but the room they were in was small with no additional place to work out. The staff was very nice and helpful, but I it felt like the number of people working there was minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball_Traveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest,
All of us here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. You are absolutely right- our convenient location off the 101 freeway makes it incredibly simple to get around. We are centrally located near the east valley Spring Training stadiums- our guests can easily hit multiple games in a day if they’d like! Our breakfast does include eggs, bagels, and cereal, along with other tasty items like sausage, bacon, potatoes, pastries, muffins, and oatmeal. We thank you for your cooperation in helping keep our suites spotless for you, by eating your delicious breakfast in the designated dining room. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff is available for you 24 hours a day to assist you with any questions, concerns, or issues you may have- we are here for you! Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites.
Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We drove to Tempe to attend the memorial service of a friend that had recently passed away. The room was clean, but nothing fancy. The bathroom was small and oddly laid out. When open the bathroom door blocks access to the shower and toilet. The bathroom itself is so small that to use the toilet or shower/tub, you have to wedge yourself against the far wall and then close the door. One of the tvs made a loud fan type sound, which was fixed quickly when we complained. The sheet/duvet, if tucked under the foot end of the mattress barely came up to your chest, with only the sheet end extending to your shoulders. The pool and jacquzi are adjacent to the rear parking lot. You are not able to make a left turn into the hotel due to the traffic setup. You have to go past the freeway and make a uturn. Breakfast buffet was ok. With a pretty good selection. Place semed pricey but we were there in the midst of baseball spring training.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Kelly,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a detailed review on TripAdvisor. All of us here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe send our condolences over the loss of your friend. Our suites here are welcoming, clean, and spacious so that our guests may feel comfortable and relaxed. We do apologize that your satisfaction with the layout of the bathroom was anything less than outstanding. As you mentioned, we want to assist you with any issues you may have- and we strive to do this immediately! You’re right, when heading west down Southern you are unable to make a left directly into the parking lot, but there is a simple back way that leads you here, without having to make the u-turn. We are always happy to give directions, and answer any questions you may have. Our knowledgeable and friendly front desk staff is here 24 hours a day to help you. Please consider returning- we would love to accommodate you in the future under happier circumstances. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites!
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hotel was good, I wasn't impressed with the pool, small.
The employee working in the breakfast area, was very good, friendly, helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Jodi,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review on TripAdvisor. At Hawthorn Suites in Tempe, we appreciate feedback from our valued guests. We regret that your time in the outdoor swimming pool/Jacuzzi was anything less than satisfactory, but we are happy to hear your overall experience was good! Staff is here for your 24 hours a day, always willing to assist you however we can. Also, we do have a delicious hot breakfast for you each morning; it’s a great way to start your day! Thank you again for choosing Hawthorn Suites- hope to see you in the future.
All the best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
5.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing