We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2013

When looking for hotels in this area (and there aren't any others in this immediate area), we were a little concerned by some of the reviews that we read about street noise. So we requested a room facing the parking lot. When we checked in about 10 pm, the clerk was sorry to inform us that our request had not been noted in time to save us a room facing the parking lot for that night but that we could move the next day so our next 4 nights would be in a different room. So we did get to "test" the noise levels in different areas. The hotel is located on a busy street and a frontage road so there was road noise the first morning. But the hotel is really very well sound proofed and with the air conditioner/fan running, the noise was not a big issue, and I am used to sleeping where it is very quiet. We did move to a different room the next day and had no issues at all with noise--except for a misfunctioning fire alarm that went off 4 times the next night. Very disconcerting but I cannot blame the hotel. We called the front desk and were told it was happening throughout the hotel and they were working to fix the problem. The interior was so well sound proofed that we couldn't even hear other smoke detectors going off.
The following 3 nights were uneventful. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast buffet is adequate. Since this hotel is so close to our relatives and so convenient, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyJ518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Kathy,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your patience, with getting you into your requested room, and of course the fire alarm. Unfortunately there was a malfunction that was fixed promptly the next morning. We strive to do everything possible to keep our valued guests comfortable, and in this situation beyond our control, your understanding and patience is something we are grateful for. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to assist you. It is great you were able to get around easily, as we are near major freeways: the 101, 60, I-10, and 202. Convenience is a priority while travelling! We do look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Tempe! Thanks for choosing Hawthorn Suites.
Until Next Time,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We traveled with our son and found the room plenty big for our family. the service was great and we felt very well take care of. The room was very clean and if you know your way around the Phoenix area, it is easy to get to. We are not from the area and did struggle in rush hour traffic. This can be a problem with any hotel in any city - not unique to Hawthorn in Tempe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you kindly for your positive review on TripAdvisor. All of us at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe are glad to hear that your needs were well met, and that you recognized superior service. It is our goal to keep our valued guests comfortable- providing not only a clean and spacious suite, equipped to meet your family’s needs, but somewhere you can feel at “home” away from home! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is always ready and willing to answer questions, make recommendations, and provide directions- maybe even alternate routes for during rush hour! Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites, and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Tempe area.
All the Best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Joy Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just returned from 2013 Spring Training trip for SF Giants. Stayed six nights, and would definitely return! The manager and his staff are the best we have ever experienced. Five stars !
The comp breakfast was excellent. Great location. Convenient to stores. Short drive to Old Town Scottsdale
and Scottsdale Stadium.
Rooms are spacious, recently refurbished, and well equipped. (Refrigerator, security safe, etc)
NOTE: No Dodger fans allowed. :)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Johntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear John,
The staff here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe thanks you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your stay was a great one, and your thoughtful comments have been passed along. This is why we do what we do, and as a valued guest you can expect to be treated with kindness and respect. It is our constant goal to keep you comfortable, well accommodated, and smiling. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our tasty complimentary hot breakfast, and were able to get around smoothly on the nearby freeways. All of our rooms do contain the mini-fridge and security safe, as well as sink and counter space, a microwave, two LCD flat screen TVs, and a comfy couch aside from the bed/beds. Of course, we welcome any and all baseball team fans here—staying with us for Spring Training games is a blast! We are close to each of the East Valley training stadiums. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites- we hope to see you again next spring!
Cheers,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the convenience to the airport and multiple Spring Training stadiums. The traffic from Southern Avenue is loud. The breakfast buffet choices are scrambled eggs, plain bagels or cereal. Don't try to take breakfast back to the room, because that is not allowed. Our teenagers used the pull out sofa bed and complained how uncomfortable it was. The workout machines were nice, but the room they were in was small with no additional place to work out. The staff was very nice and helpful, but I it felt like the number of people working there was minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baseball_Traveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Guest,
All of us here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. You are absolutely right- our convenient location off the 101 freeway makes it incredibly simple to get around. We are centrally located near the east valley Spring Training stadiums- our guests can easily hit multiple games in a day if they’d like! Our breakfast does include eggs, bagels, and cereal, along with other tasty items like sausage, bacon, potatoes, pastries, muffins, and oatmeal. We thank you for your cooperation in helping keep our suites spotless for you, by eating your delicious breakfast in the designated dining room. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff is available for you 24 hours a day to assist you with any questions, concerns, or issues you may have- we are here for you! Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites.
Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
4.5 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
4.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £48 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing