We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dog Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Dog Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I had called several hotels and they all had extremely high charges for dogs. This one was great! It was what I had expected from the website in terms of the room and facilities. Comfortable and quiet. A little shadier part of town but not bad. Minutes from ASU. The breakfast was your typical continental breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hakatai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Most pets are welcome at our property and only charge a minimal pet fee. We also have several dog friendly areas around the property for pets and people to enjoy. I hope you choose to stay with again when visiting the Tempe area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    262
    90
    55
    20
See reviews for
300
225
87
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We used the hotel for a park and fly. The front desk was friendly. The room was clean. With the suitcase open on the stand, it was a bit small and cramped for 2 people to walk around at the same time. The bed was good. The room was quiet. The bathroom arrangement was rather odd. The tub and toilet were in one room, then to use the sink, you had to walk around to the other side of the wall behind the toilet. It was inconvenient. The shuttle bus was timely going to and from the airport. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you recommend our property to other guests. Next time you stay with us ask about an upgrade to one of our suites. They are twice the size of the standard rooms and have a traditional bathroom setup. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safford, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Used the park and fly, rooms were great, it was nice notto have to worry about airport parking. Shuttle from hotel to air was quick and easy, same for return trip from airport to hotel. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGIBSON1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our park and fly program convenient. Looking forward to having you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I belong to the Red Lion R&R Club and usually get good service from every Red Lion I stay at. The Red Lion Tempe is by far the best hotel I have stayed of all the Red Lions. The staff was incredible 24 hours a day. Christian at the front desk is a true professional and understands customer service. The shuttle service is 24 hours and is very responsive. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are new to the Red Lion family and our happy to hear our R&R members are enjoying the property. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, especially Christian. Looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this property in August and was pleased with the experience. Clean room, great staff, good breakfast = good Trip Advisor rating. Returned again in October...and it wasn't the same. The ceiling in the bathroom was covered with mold, the front desk staff was okay - but not as out-of-their-way helpful as they were previously, and the bakery items served at breakfast were all stale. Afraid I have to revise my review...and find a new place to stay when visiting my son at ASU.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ltobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am sorry to hear the about the issues you had during your stay. We strive to give our guests a clean and comfortable stay and thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve. We are currently completely remodeling our lobby and are doing lots of upgrades to our guest rooms. I hope you come see our new look and give us an opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
267 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This Red Lion is not only a nice hotel to stay in when traveling in the Phoenix area, it is also a Park-n-Fly location. We needed a place to leave our car while in Europe for 16 days. Some of the hotels that offer parking while traveling are in areas that are less than desirable and you feel you have to be looking over your shoulder as you walk from your car to the room. The rooms can also be the bare necessity, as well as dirty, old, and worn. When you leave to go to the airport, you hope the car is there when you get back! We found this Park-n-Fly location to be in a fairly nice area and the hotel room was spotless!! Being clean, modern, and comfortable by itself would and will have us coming back here. The staff was friendly, courteous, and the added plus of leaving our vehicle in a safe environment was a real bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear you liked our park n fly program. We do our best to ensure our guests have as smooth as a trip as possible, from a clean room to a timely trip to and from the airport. I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

From the moment we arrived and called from the airport to request a shuttle until we left, the whole experience was flawless. We were greeted by a cheerful staff member at the front desk and found our room to be squeaky clean and beautifully equipped. Great quality bed linens and towels, too! The pool and hot tub were in great condition and pristine, the grounds well maintained. The shuttle was available to take us to any destination within 5 miles (24 hrs. a day) and made a rental car entirely unnecessary. The shuttle driver was friendly and personable, happy to help.
We travel fairly often and are well-acquainted with the hotel market in general. This little hotel was the best we have seen in well over a decade, head and shoulders above the larger facilities with the higher prices and bigger names. Bravo!
Larry and Ursula

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Over the summer we purchased all new towels and bedding and it is nice to hear you enjoyed them. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We are alway happy to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing