We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make a huge difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staff make a huge difference!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Hyatt does a great job of making their hotels predictable- you know how the room will look, etc. but in this case, the staff were the reason behind the rating.
The amazing:
1) Richard, the evening weekend shuttle driver. He's amazing, friendly, funny, and I would give him six stars if I could. Excellent restaurant suggestions and I felt like an old friend was driving us around.

2) Brittanie, and all other evening people at the front desk. I wish I could remember the names of the people who checked us in (Thursday evening, just before midnight). All of these people are super friendly, go above and beyond, and remember customers and respond as such. These people are GREAT.
3) They have a 24/7 cafe with a limited menu- food was just okay, but the convenience was terrific.
4) Free, pretty good breakfast. An egg sandwich, cottage cheese, yogurt, pancakes, fruit, coffee.

The less than amazing:
1) Some mildew in the shower, in the corners. Really minor, but not expected in a Hyatt.
2) The daytime front desk people. Some were just "eh" and some were downright annoying. From the girl who was overly annoyed that the I wanted my meal to go (which I said on the phone, but was not communicated to her) to the girl who at check out, when I said there was a missing charge on the room, proceeded to charge me for it (and had to *make up* a charge!), but neglected to thank me, to the girl who let me know that I couldn't make a shuttle reservation in advance, but needed to wait until 15 minutes prior to my intended leave time (she said it was first come, first served- and as far as I could see, I was first)- it was incredibly annoying. Daytime people were just overall less focused on keeping a happy customer. Too bad too, because the night people are really great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MomMomGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    175
    96
    48
    29
See reviews for
182
86
46
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Came late into PHX, after a flight I took had to divert to Las Vegas due to bad weather. Landed 2 hours later, and was so tired. Reach hotel and was in the room in 10mins. Perfect.

Room was spacious and great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kamal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fast check-in, friendly staff, clean & comfy room, this hotel has all of your necessities and more! Great location too, only 2 miles from the airport and 2 miles from Downtown Tempe. Would recommend this property to my family and friends. Love Hyatt Place.

Room Tip: 4th floor will get you a quiet room, North side for a beautiful view of Papago Park Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a week due to my business trip and I enjoyed being there. Even it was little isolated, the hotel provides free shuttle in radius of 5 miles, so you can get to Mill Avenue where is plenty restaurants, bars, shops etc. not far is nice park, botanical garden. you can even walk from there to dry river...only what I stopped to like was breakfast, every day almost same and not so many options. but for staying 2-3 nights you won't notice, for 5 you do...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPestik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VAIL
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel can be an excellent value proposition. Can be. It has a wide price range and I'm unwilling to spend at the high end which exceeds double the low end slightly under the $100 price point. Just won't do that for a night anyplace. Having said that it's worth a higher price point for the budget minded. The hotel is cleaner, at least appears newer, rooms bigger(bed and couch areas), has accessible and pleasant service and clearly a superior breakfast. They make a couple of eggs benedict kind of muffin. This might be with spinach, mushroom, cheese: something like that. Then, for the airport traveler, they provide a very convenient and again, accessible, shuttle to the airport. After hours one can simply request the service as needed. We have chosen this hotel again despite competitive hotels that may have undercut them by a few dollars. It's just that much nicer. Consider the price of a breakfast for two alone and, particularly, one that you enjoy as opposed to "well, they serve something".
Although I gave an average rating to location, it is a nice location. There's just nothing close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Nice clean hotel with top-notch service! This hotel is pretty well isolated from anything, BUT the hotel does provide comp shuttle service within 5 miles. The service was punctual and friendly. They even took us thru a McDonald's drive-thru and back to the hotel. This effort by the hotel pretty well neutralizes the isolation factor. One other thing: they are right in the airport's arrival/departure flight pattern. Planes are low and loud especially by the pool. BUT inside the hotel is remarkably still pretty quiet and we were on the top floor. Comp breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Located close to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, within walking distance of downtown Tempe, and nearby the delightful Tempe Lake Trail the Hyatt Place-Tempe is in a great location. Shuttle service is available in a 5-mile area of the hotel and the drivers are great. Friendly and accomodating, they can give tips on things to do, places to eat, and outdoor recreation. I stayed for a week and never had more than a 10 minute wait to be picked up and delivered to my destination.
The hotel property is dated but clean and well-kept. A small outdoor pool was always clean and well stocked with fresh towels. My room was cleaned daily, and I had the option to have linens changed daily or less frequently, as I chose. The kitchen had a bar-sized fridge, coffee maker, wine glasses and coffee mugs.
Breakfast in the lobby each morning was very good, including fresh hot options like french toast, egg dishes, pancakes, and hot cereal. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, juices, milk, coffee, tea, and cocoa, and assorted rolls, bagels and bread with cream cheese and peanut butter. The supplies were refreshed frequently and if the hot dishes were running low staff was on hand to deliver more immediately.
Also in the lobby is a small cafe and bar with wine, beer, and cocktails as well as soft drinks. As a solo traveler I appreciated the chance to relax with a nice glass of wine at the end of the day and make small-talk with other guests and staff. Simple but good, reasonably poriced food items are also available- salads, sandwiches, flatbread pizzas and more.
The staff is friendly and tries very hard to deliver excellent customer service. They succeed. There is quite a lot to appreciate about the hotel but the staff is the best part of the Hyatt Place-Tempe experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors opposite the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacBigGulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Address: 1413 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tempe
#13 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Hyatt Tempe
Tempe Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing