We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towels like braided rugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed for three days from Friday-Sunday. Maybe there is more staff on weekdays, but there was only one front desk guy the entire stay. I expected no housekeeping (not a problem for me), as they inform you on their website, but they also had no extra maintenance person. There was no TV remote in my room, and I had to go back down to the front desk to obtain one, since the front desk guy was alone.

The ironing board was so bent out of shape, it wouldn’t stand up by itself. Since I was traveling with a friend, I just swapped with the one in his room. Also, my friend never made his own coffee, because the instructions on his coffeemaker were rubbed out. I couldn’t help him, because I had a different model in my room. They need to pay more attention to details like this, and make sure everything is in working shape. They do have freshly brewed coffee always in the ‘cupboard’ area, so that was nice for him.

On the website, they advertise a fully stocked ‘cupboard’, which is like a mini-mart, complete with frozen items. The entire time I was there, the frozen food shelves were completely empty. Perhaps they only supply stuff for the weekday guests, but isn’t my weekend money just as good?

Now, those horrible towels. They literally felt like drying yourself with a rug. Roughest towels I have ever felt. Luckily, my friend had some towels he uses for camping, and we used them for the duration of the stay. I suggest bringing your own!

The fan in the bathroom turns on automatically with the light, and it is so loud, you have to blast the TV in order to hear over it.

The only reason I would possibly stay there again is the full refrigerator with freezer, and the very nice mini kitchen. That part was excellent. Oh, and the recliner was pretty awesome. However, if I can find another hotel in the area with those same features, I think I would stay there instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubybear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Rubybear9,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here on Business which is located near the Arizona Mills mall in Tempe. The staff was superb and this is a no frills perfect hotel for long term stay. The room was spacious with full kitchen facility. TV had several channels and internet service was great. Hotel is slightly away ( about Two Blocks ) from the hustle and bustle of the area directly express from the West entrance of the mall where there are several small businesses and shops, so it was very quite as well. The rooms were clean and I liked their honor bar system for snacks & sundries. At departure, I asked for an extended rate package, since my associates were scheduled to be here I this area for the next few months and the Director of Sales was excellent and had great customer service skills. Good Hotel- Stay with confidence

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This location has a friendly and accommodating staff. They are always asking how everything is and if there was anything they could do to help. Candlewood is a little different you are responsible for your own linen and trash but that what helps keep the cost down. The pool and sauna are very nice after a long day at work.

Room Tip: If your in the Tempe area possible to catch a couple Spring Training Games and need a low cost place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Terry M,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay with us. We are so happy to hear you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

First I would like to say that the folks that manned the front desk were all very helpful and very nice. We are reviewing the hotel however not the people at the desk.

This place was a total disappointment in every way. The hallways reeked of nasty food smells. The rooms were grim. Apparently, supposedly, these rooms were recently renovated. One would never know that. Everything was brown or black in not a sophisticated way. Brown carpet, bedspread, black cheap cabinetry. Having used Holiday Inn products for many years and having always been pleased with the atmosphere and amenities at whatever level of their hotels, this brand should be a total embarrassment for Starwood. I used reward points to stay here for this visit but beware that this is a total budget hotel. It does have a small kitchenette with a microwave, stovetop and refrigerator. I was given a room on the first floor and for 4 of the 5 nights I stayed there, had to call the front desk because the people above me had children running and jumping constantly for hours on end.

All in all, I regretted having made reservations at this hotel and was very unprepared for how awful it really was. I was basing the reservation on the normal Holiday Inn brand. Everything in the room was of the cheapest quality. There is no housekeeping on a daily basis which I knew about before booking. If you are going to the Phoenix area and are on a budget, I am sure you could find something much nicer as there are many hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for noise reasons. Terrible food smells in hallways with no venti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varose5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear radewey,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

When you are visting Phoenix, here is right place to stay.
No reason to stay at fancy hotel.
They got kitchen to cook so if you are tired of eating at outside or junky food, just cook whatever you like.
Also from here, you can reach anywhere, it's at nearby the freeway.
I love staying here.

Room Tip: Bring your own food to make yourself more confortable. It's better to ask vacant near the laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The area is fine. Not a ton to do here but there is a mall just across the street and ASU within a few miles. Great spring training hotel just off the 60 and I-10. Rooms were clean, pool was small but nice and hot tub was warm. Best value in the entire area in my opinion.

Dependable stay with great customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Great location for visiting the Phoenix area and also not too far from the Sky Harbor airport. Easy accesses to many highways. There is a nice mall (Arizona Mills) for doing some shopping (there is also an aquarium in that mall), just across the street.
This hotel is excellent and well taken care off.
Our room had a living room area, a full kitchen being well equipped and furnished (which is not the case most of the time with hotel's kitchenett) with plenty of seating space and a distinct closed bedroom. Flat screens in the living room and bedroom. I think the sofa was also a sofabed (if needed to accomodate more).
The area, the hotel and the room were clean and quiet.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
There is a small heated pool and a hot tub.
Two grills are available at your convenience for cooking and are situated in the pool area.
All of this for a very good price.
We stayed there for only one night but really enjoyed our stay and will be back at this hotel when returning to the Phoenix area

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Address: 1335 W Baseline Rd, Tempe, AZ 85283-1160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £51 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel is located in South Tempe on Baseline Road near I-10 exit. Conveniently located just 3 miles north of the only IKEA in Arizona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe Hotel Tempe
Candlewood Suites Tempe
Candlewood Tempe
Tempe Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing