We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely off the beaten track...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn at ASU-Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely off the beaten track...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was my worst nightmare of a hotel stay. I arrived just after midnight, called for the "24 hour" "free" shuttle and was told I should have called ahead. I did. In fact, I called ahead TWICE to be sure I could, indeed, get a shuttle at midnight. The desk clerk told me I should have asked the person I spoke with to "write it down." Who knew Arizona was such an inhospitable place?! I had two options: wait on hour for a possible shuttle or go get a rental car. I got the rental car.
The area is not inviting. There were drunks in the parking lot. The desk clerk was on break when I arrived. The room was small. The view was ... well, there is a power plant of some sort across the street. I have allergies and the a/c was so dusty the room was not pleasant for me. The coffeemaker was dirty so when I brewed some tea there were chunks of unknown matter in it.
There is a small pool and the breakfast includes eggs and sausage. I would not suggest this location. There's a La Quinta near the airport that's far more friendly. I cancelled a second reservation, but stayed at a different QI property.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality-Inn-ASU, Owner at Quality Inn at ASU-Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Ms. Rosie,
I am concerned that your recent stay with us was not satisfactory.
Please accept my sincere apology.
Please be assured, your concerns are looked into and all remedies are being made. I take pride in my hotel,and do my best to prevent problems from recurring.Therefor, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us during your next visit to this area.
Your reviews help us better ourselves. Call me on 480-774-2500 to reserve your next stay with us at HALF price, we really value your opinion.
Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction.
I look forward to your next stay with us.
Thanking You
Vijay Patel
Manager
Quality Inn at ASU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
9
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

My queen bed room was a bit small, but adequate for a solo traveler. The window seat was a nice touch. I was on the second floor facing the street, but there wasn't much street noise. The free breakfast was nice, with enough choices. True, there isn't a large breakfast area in the lobby, but I preferred to eat in my room anyway. The staff is friendly enough, and my room was sufficiently cleaned daily. The free shuttle to/from PHX airport was appreciated.
I was in town for Spring Training, and while I was able to get around okay to Scottsdale, Mesa and Tempe Diablo Stadium on public transportation, it wasn't the most efficient way to get places. If I choose to stay here next year, I will definitely have to rent a car. The neighborhood is mostly quiet, with many apt complexes for students of nearby ASU. Without a car, there are few restaurant choices within a 10 minute walk, and no stores or conveniences. As a solo female traveler, I did walk half a mile from a bus stop at night with no worries or problems, several times.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elladizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

This was a very nice hotel for the price, location was close to everything. Windows open so you can let the beautiful March Arizona weather in and sunsets from the third floor windows were spectacular! I would defintetly stay again. Breakfast was also outstanding, with lots of choices.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosey6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I liked a few things about this hotel. It seemed clean and fresh like it hadn't been there a while. The rooms were a little on the small side. I liked the pool it was cute and got good sunlight. The breakfast area is a minus. The food is kept in a room the size of a large closet and you only have until 9 am to eat which means that tiny room is packed with people from 8:30 to 9. If there's any place that should extend the breakfast hours it's this place. A lot of quality inns and comfort inns have breakfast hours up to 9:30 and 10:00. I've seen them all over the country. Oh also there are very few tables to eat at right there in front of the lobby front desk, kinda awkward. The front desk was very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandsumMuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

We came in town for a wedding and this was booked for us. At first, we were really unsure about it, but it turned out to be a nice clean motel. The staff was polite and courteous, and we appreciated the airport shuttle. The bed and linens were nice and clean, there was plenty of hot water, and the room was very quiet. We ended up staying for 5 nights, and the breakfast was sufficient each day. There is a great area of restaurants and shops called Mill Ave which is about 2 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs_wright07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here for only one night, arriving late in the afternoon from Organ Pipes Natl Monument, and headed for Sedona. It is close to ASU, but in an area about 3/4 mile to the east, and there did not seem to be much in the way of stores or businesses in the immediate vicinity. The street it is on is a main East-West thoroughfare, but we heard very little noise in our room which looked out on it. The building was well maintained, and the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side, but the king size bed was comfortable, and the quarters were clean. Breakfast was in the lobby in a small kitchen nook, and consisted of the usual cereals, toast, pastries, juices, coffee, and waffles.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality-Inn-ASU, Owner at Quality Inn at ASU-Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
All of us at Quality Inn ASU are delighed to recieve your kind words of praise.
Given the very nature of the hotel business it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.
Again, let me thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit to Tempe.
Vijay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

I'm not quite sure how to review this hotel to be honest with you so I'll just state the facts and leave my opinion out as much as I can. The gentleman, who I am assuming was the owner, greeted us at the front desk and was very friendly and welcoming. He asked if we were ok with a ground floor room and when I asked for something higher he happily obliged. The room was clean and comfortable but it was more like a well maintained Motel 6. I guess I was expecting more but really shouldn't complain since it was clean and comfortable. There was a modest but free breakfast in the lobby which you really can't beat. My only true complaint was the internet. They offer it but don't plan on it be usable, it's like dial-up when, and if, it works. The same gentleman at the front desk told me that's just the way it is on that side of town, saying something about many blocks of residences sharing the same bandwidth. I also chose this hotel because of it's perceived proximity to ASU's Student Services building (my fault not theirs). It was too far to walk so we ended up driving and looking for visitor parking. If I was planning to drive I would have included a lot more hotels in my search.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality-Inn-ASU, Owner at Quality Inn at ASU-Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Given the very nature of the hotel business it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.
I am sincerely sorry for the slow Internet speed during your stay here, please be assured that the situation is remedied by installing a new T1 line and we have much better service from our Internet providers.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit.
Please contact me for your future trips to Tempe.
Vijay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#31 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.0 mi away
Aloft Tempe
Aloft Tempe
#26 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at ASU-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at ASU-Airport

Property: Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Address: 1375 E University Dr, Tempe, AZ 85281-8463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at ASU-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn at ASU-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Asu-Airport Hotel Tempe
Quality Inn Tempe
Tempe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing