We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I spent 3 nights here with a friend while we took in some spring training baseball games. The hotel is very nice and clean. The room and bedding was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is close to the freeway and within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, bars, and shops on Mill Avenue. The complimentary morning breakfast was pretty good. Although it gets very busy and I often had to make multiple trips to get food because they ran out of things so quick. Overall, this was an excellent hotel stay and I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98travels2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are lucky to be in such a great location within walking distance to multiple attractions and activities in Tempe.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we appreciate the feedback. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    85
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
88
35
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for an extended stay during a business trip.
I was, very apologetically, told that I wouldn't have a room with a view but its Tempe so meh!
The room itself was extremely spacious and all of the fittings were spotless. Yes, the hotel is new to the luster will fade in time but, for now, its awesome.
The breakfast is more than adequate and has a good mix of hot and cold food to satisfy any appetite (although the hot food can be a little greasy). The fitness center upstairs is a little on the small side but hey, its a Residence Inn so what were you expecting.
Where the hotel really excels is the staffing. I didn't meet one member of staff who wasn't pleasant, helpful and professional. Heck, some of them even exhibited just the right amount of personality to distinguish themselves from the typical cookie-cutter 'hotel employee' model that one often finds at these place.
Overall, excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrdMandrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXTD, Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We truly appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel and especially it's employees, it's guests like you that make our hotel staff even better. I will be sure to follow up with our breakfast staff about the breakfast food. I hope you'll be joining us again very soon!

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

New (six months) property right on the edge of ASU. Great view of the stadium, butte, and part of Phoenix from the pool area. Good breakfast, but cramped serving area.
The room was large but we didn't care for the very bright lighting all around the bathroom mirror.
Cleaning needs to be improved (small "vacuumable" items on the floor and only skin lotion at the sink). Our flight arrived at 11:15 pm but was told by the front desk there was no shuttle after 11:00. One did arrive after 35 minutes. My pet peeve realized here--reserved a room for four, yet only three sets of towels. Why must I have to be asking for another set?
Overall, nice stay but needs to get their act together.

Room Tip: Call to arrange shuttle before your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weloveRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXTD, Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback! It really helps to hear how we can improve our efforts for future visitors . I have personally followed up with our Housekeeping staff in regards to the cleanliness you experienced at the hotel and we will make sure to focus on those areas of improvement. I also want to thank you on a great project idea for our front desk staff. We will personalize guests experience even further by checking arrivals and registered guests to add additional towels, soaps, etc... prior to guest arrival. These tidbits truly do help to make our hotel an even better stay!

I hope to see you again soon!

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I brought my family of six here and the room was very comfortable. Two rooms, two bathrooms, a desk in one and one desk in the main area. Tv's in all rooms (3).
Kitchen was nice.
Breakfast and evening dinner/snack was tasty and well laid out. Good variety.
Location was great. Easy walking distance to stadium and restaurants and shopping.
Close freeway and train access, too.
Staff was friendly and helpful!
Even with extra blanket for the wife at 12am. (Had nothing to do with room's temperature control)
Definitely stay here again!
Oh, and can't forget the pool, rooftop, for excellent views of the city in the day and night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iScienceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXTD, Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am so excited you enjoyed your stay with us! I find our Two Bedroom Suites very accomodating for traveling families as well, as they are a lot more spacious than normal hotel rooms. The views from the rooftop pool are exceptional, and if you are planning on returning, I highly recommend the Fourth of July. The firworks are launched from Tempe Town Lake and our hotel has front row seats.

Thank you so much for the great feedback!

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

About a block from the main street in downtown Tempe with all of the restaurants, clubs and bars to choose from. You could see into Sun Devil Stadium from the rooftop pool deck. Breakfast not great, but certainly good, fruit, waffles, eggs and usually sausage along with yogurt, cereal, toast etc. Room was laid out different, you could only watch TV from the bed or from the couch, but not both, which caused some grief with my wife.
5 minute drive to the Desert Botanical Garden which you must see, another 10 to Old Town Scottsdale. Wifi worked well, and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisARGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXTD, Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and service overall. We will definitely look into ways to make our breakfast an even better experience for future visitors. Hopefully you'll get to revisit Tempe soon and we can get you into one of our different Suites that can accomodate your TV needs.

I'm We're glad you enjoyed the location and staff.

Hope to see you again soon.

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
447 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this location - overlooking A mountain and walking distance to Mill Avenue. Parking garage is attached to hotel and costs $10/day. Train station is across the street. Easy access to highways.

Room was nice and bigger than some other Residence Inns we have stayed in on other trips. There were 2 queen beds in our room which was nice. Bathroom and closet area was spacious.

Rooftop pool area was very nice. Pool towels were laid out and area was well maintained. Exercise room overlooked pool area.

Breakfast was similar to other Residence Inn breakfasts. Staff replenished food often and everything was fresh.

Front desk staff was helpful and accommodating when we had questions. Hotel itself was clean and pleasant.

We would recommend it and look forward to returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, Assistant General Manger at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we appreciate the feedback in regards to our associates. They love to hear great feedback! We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Kari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here four nights as part of a spring training mini-vacation. The complementary breakfast was just OK, and just what you would expect from a Residence Inn. It would be nice if its availability could be extended at least a little beyond 9:30 AM on the weekends. Housekeeping was a bit hit or miss; generally good but they sometimes forgot to replace certain items.

My one main complaint is that housekeeping knocked on the door at 8 AM on a Saturday morning, and then entered the 2Bdr suite before quickly retreating when she saw we were there and just waking up (and so were unable to respond quickly enough to the knocking). I happened to mention this at the front desk when I was there for a different reason, and I was smilingly assured that this was standard - housekeeping commences at 8 AM and they therefore routinely knock (and enter) any room at that time (I think the front desk person failed to realize that I was mentioning this as at least a mild criticism).

The biggest plus is the location of this hotel for central Tempe and Mill Ave., but, on the whole, the Mission Palms is a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our great new hotel. As a brand new property we, very much, take comments to heart. I appreciate you letting us know about housekeeping service. I have talked to our housekeeping department and asked them to find other (vacant) rooms to work on until a later time. I also appreciate your comments about the front desk service opportunities and I have spoken with them to ensure we are doing our best to understand and react to our guest needs.
We look forward to your next visit to Tempe!
~Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University

Property: Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Address: 510 S Forest Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281-6490
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect balance of comfort and convenience at Residence Inn Downtown Tempe/University. As one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ, we offer easy access to Arizona State University, Mill Avenue District and Tempe Town Lake. Back at the hotel, enjoy large suites with separate spaces for sleeping, living and working, plus fully equipped kitchens for a home-away-from-home feel. Sleep peacefully at night in luxurious bedding, and wake to a free breakfast each morning in the lobby. Our fitness center lets you stay fit even while on the go, and our outdoor, rooftop pool provides lovely views of the desert landscape. Don't worry about missing your flight with our free shuttle service to PHX Airport. Relax in the evening with premium movie channels, or mingle with guests at The Residence Inn Mix, offering cocktails and snacks. Whether traveling on business or leisure, you'll always stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout our hotel. Book your stay today and start planning your adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing