We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Lonsdale, United States
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

100 percent worth the very reasonable price we paid. The service was outstanding along with the complimentary bar/breakfast. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. The pool was quaint, and the suites were quiet, wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Sara D,

Thank you for your high praise. We appreciate your comments and it is our pleasure to have you as our guest on your return trip to Tempe.

Sincerely,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    232
    139
    75
    46
See reviews for
281
128
41
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here three nights while in Phoenix on business. I'll admit that at first, I was a little turned around when trying to find my way around the property. However, once I did, I enjoyed the "spread-out" feel. Kinda reminded me of one of Disney's resorts (without the magic of course haha). Check in was super-smooth. My room was on the back side of the property, so it was extremely quite (no road noise). I enjoyed my strolls up to the front every evening for the evening drinks and reception. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I did eat at the bar one night and the food was very good. In the mornings, I would drive to the front for an excellent breakfast. I never had trouble finding a spot to park.
The courtyard area was nice and peaceful and the pool area was clean and well kept. The grounds were well manicured.
The suite was very clean, and the service was good. I had a great place to sit and work with plenty of light. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious (good water pressure as well). Check out was smooth as well.
I only have one small gripe in that somehow I have never received my HHonors points for my stay (4 weeks ago). I have contacted Hilton twice and even faxed a copy of the receipt but no luck yet. I'm sure they will straighten it out eventually, but this is not normal for Hilton brands. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhg155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear jhg155,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you as a return guest. If you still have not received your hhonors points, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night last month while attending the new student orientation at ASU. Like all Embassy Suites, the room is large and comfortable. Its always a good value since it includes cocktail hour and breakfast. My only disappointment was that I couldn't access the fitness room--the lock was broken and they were waiting for someone to arrive to fix it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a great time at the Embassy suites tempe. This is our third time staying at this location. Love the remodeled lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast is always delicious with a large variety. Will definitely be back to visit Tempe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have been an Hilton Honors member. I have been with Hilton for twenty years. I use to stay at Embassy Suites on 24th & Thomas/PHX but once L.Pittman went to Tempe, she persuaded me to stay there. Services were good, I got to know staff on a personal basis in establishing a long term customer relationship; however, once LPittman left and staff I knew began to leave. The new staff don't make an effort to represent and stand behind quality customer services. Today, my room was not made properly. The staff who is obviously new did not dump one of our trash cans, didn't make one of our beds completely and forgot to hang up the shower curtain. Then went to the bar, and bartender wasn't smiling and greeting people. I am totally disappointed. The General Manager needs to ensure they stand behind the Hilton Honors brand and provide quality customer services. Instead, after many years of staying at this hotel property I may not be staying here much sooner. Ben the night shift manager took charged and made every attempt to resolve the issue which is a start; and Shoko morning person has always been awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. Based upon your review, I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbernardino, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Overall I do like the hotel and will stay again. could not find the elevators. maps with directions should be giving out on where they are located. I had two small grandkids with me and four bags to carry up to the 3rd floor. and I have a left bad knee. when I come to Az myself I will stay at the Hilton, but when I come with family it will be with embassy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It is not the typical Embassy suites, but the price is a lot lower than normal.

When we first arrived, we had to circle a few times to find a parking space. The restaurant located on the property is quite popular on Friday evenings. Though during the day, there seems to be enough parking. The have a couple of shuttle vans on site as well. From the look of the building, it seemed it had balconies, but they are actually decorative. I was surprised that the rooms were not actually in the hotel, you are actually walking outside the whole time. Only the hotel services are in the building.

Every floor has several ashtrays, so regardless if you have a smoking room or not, you will probably be walking through smoke on occasion.

Depending on where your room is, you should expect a bit of walking. One elevator on one side of the hotel, though there are stairs on both ends.

The rooms are a little outdated, but fairly clean. There is a dark feel to the rooms, which may help in keeping them cool in the Phoenix heat.

Cooked to order hot breakfast in the restaurant area is complementary. It is very crowded though, and finding seating is quite the task. The line can also be a little long. The first time we took advantage of the breakfast, it was a little wait. The pancakes on the hot bar were hard, but everything else seemed fine. The next time, a Sunday, it was even more packed. The hot bar was completely out of food even though the breakfast still ran for another hour. At the order station, they were out of sausage and tomatoes for omelets. The omelets are really good though, even for the few minutes you will have to stand and wait after placing the order. The wait for the french toast is only the wait you had in line, and is very good. Within 20 minutes, they started restocking it, and thirty minutes before the end, the bar was overflowing with bacon, sausage and pancakes.

There are complimentary drinks for two hours in the evening, in the bar area. We did not take advantage of this any of the nights we were there since it is a bar and minors are not allowed. We heard they were nice, depending on what you order. Some of the more elaborate drinks seem watered down, we were told. They are free though, so I would expect as much.

The staff seemed friendly and accommodating, though management is inconsistent. The first night we were there, the pool was filled with people who were partying two hours past the posted close time. You can hear the pool clearly from the rooms, but turn up the television, and it is alright. It was Memorial Day weekend, and even though the noise kept our child awake and curious, we knew it would probably be like this at any hotel we stayed at. The next night, after a day out we came back and decided to try the pool. While they said towels are poolside, there were none. People called to have some brought down. Someone came with a cart full of towels within 10 minutes. Then a second load a few minutes later. Security followed. We were in the crowded pool area 15 minutes before security came down and closed the pool an hour and a half early. Management at first said that the times for the pool hours posted everywhere were incorrect, and they were in the processes of updating the books and signs. Then they stated that the previous night there were loud guests and they decided to close the pool early. They gave no apologies, and it was still as loud that evening, though now there were drunk, loud, angry guests roaming about.

The pool, while it looks small, is actually a decent size. There is a lot of seating and the area is pretty well kept.

Housekeeping runs in a huge fleet, and is seemingly done before 10 A.M. People who complain that they did not get service might have been in the room later. While they keep the rooms quite tidy, it is hit and miss on getting new towels, restocked on coffee or toiletries. One of the days we did get towels and coffee, though none of the other days even though housekeeping did enter and clean other than taking out the garbage.

Overall, there were a few issues here and there, but it is not a terrible place. It is a good hotel for the price range. Even for the minor problems we experienced, I would say it was a good stay.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk as much, get a ground level room. There is only one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utopianidealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
3.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
Address: 4400 S Rural Rd, Tempe, AZ 85282-7044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large, two-room suites suites with granite, marble and travertine. Complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast, beverage reception each evening, airport transportation, on-site restaurant. Suites open up to a Resort Style interior courtyard with outdoor pool and hot tub. Wireless internet access throughout. Complimentary 24 Hr. Business Center and Fitness Center. Over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, including our 4,000 square foot Grand Ballroom. A perfect Tempe location for business or leisure travel. Near Arizona State University, and all major business, shopping, entertainment, sports venues, restaurants and attractions in the East Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix
Embassy Suites Tempe
Tempe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing